Dancer’s Review of The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell

I’d like to thank Rockstar Book Tours for letting me participate in this wonderful event, and to the publisher for providing me a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review. If you would like to see all of the blogs involved in this tour, please click on the banner above. =^.^=

~*~

Review:

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Release Date: July 18, 2017

Goodreads Description:

Stop the Magician.
Steal the book.
Save the future.

In modern day New York, magic is all but extinct. The remaining few who have an affinity for magic—the Mageus—live in the shadows, hiding who they are. Any Mageus who enters Manhattan becomes trapped by the Brink, a dark energy barrier that confines them to the island. Crossing it means losing their power—and often their lives.

Esta is a talented thief, and she’s been raised to steal magical artifacts from the sinister Order that created the Brink. With her innate ability to manipulate time, Esta can pilfer from the past, collecting these artifacts before the Order even realizes she’s there. And all of Esta’s training has been for one final job: traveling back to 1902 to steal an ancient book containing the secrets of the Order—and the Brink—before the Magician can destroy it and doom the Mageus to a hopeless future.

But Old New York is a dangerous world ruled by ruthless gangs and secret societies, a world where the very air crackles with magic. Nothing is as it seems, including the Magician himself. And for Esta to save her future, she may have to betray everyone in the past.

 

Review:

Wow! I could leave this review there, but I realize that it is less than helpful in the grand scheme of things. Seriously though, my mind is still processing all that this book is and all that is yet to come. Filled with mystery, magic, suspense, and a plot twist that will leave your mind boggled, Young Adult readers and Maxwell fans are definitely going to enjoy this book!

Between the wonderful cover and the synopsis, I already knew that I was going to like this book, but I hadn’t expected to love it as much as I did, or to feel a wide-range of emotions both while I was reading and once I was done. This is one of those books which pulls you into the story from the first chapter and refuses to let you go until you’ve reached the end. There were moments when I laughed, moments where I sighed, moments where I got teary-eyed, moments when I screamed in frustration, and moments when I was holding my breath in anticipation waiting to discover what would happen next. It was everything I wanted and so much more.

Esta is an amazing young lady. She’s strong, determined, fierce, and I couldn’t get enough of her. She’s a thief with a conscious, one who is unwilling to take something simply for the sake of taking it, but also isn’t above stealing and manipulating others in order to protect those she cares about. She’ll do what she needs to do in order to survive. Harte, on the other paw, made me twitchy. He came across as selfish, vindictive, angry, and not above hurting others in order to reach his goal. I honestly didn’t trust or care for him most of the time. Part of this was because I couldn’t exactly pin down his true motive for wanting the book in the first place, another part was because I just couldn’t put my first impression of him aside in order to see what else was there. He’s truly complex character, and I’m still working through my feelings toward him as I write this. As far as their relationship goes, I can definitely say there is chemistry between them. There’s this love/hate vibe that leaves you wondering if they are going to end up together while they drive each other crazy trying to maintain the upper hand over the other. As for all the other characters, I enjoyed the rich complexity of personalities I found amongst them. Whether they were allies or villains, I was invested in their lives and anxious to find out what would happen to each of them.

What I really loved about this title though was both the world building and the twist that the plot took. The majority of the book is set in 1901 New York, though some parts of it take place during present day, and magic is differentiated between the real and the scientific (alchemy and such). Those with real magic, the Mageus, are feared while those of the Order, the alchemists, are hailed as heroes, or at the very least viewed as the lesser of two evils. The smells, the look/style, the people and the social classes, as well as the political and social atmosphere of this time are brought to life through Maxwell’s writing and makes the reader feel like they are actually there. As a result, though the book is a fantasy, the attention to these details gives it a historical feel too. At the same time, Maxwell’s strength in storytelling is highlighted by the twist that happens within the plot. There is much more here than meets the eye where this book is concerned, and I strongly encourage readers to pick it up and discover it for themselves.

Yes, I loved this book. Yes, I would recommend it to anyone who loves YA. And yes, I plan on reading the next book when it comes out. After how this one ended, I’d be a fool not to want to read the next one. It’s been a pleasure to see how much Maxwell’s writing has grown since her first novel, and I can’t wait to discover what she has planned next for everyone. =^.^=

About the Author:

Lisa Maxwell is the author of Sweet Unrest, Gathering Deep, Unhooked, & The Last Magician (Simon Pulse, Spring 2017). When she’s not writing books, she’s an English professor at a local college. She lives near DC with her very patient husband and two not-so patient boys.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

***Giveaway***

If you would like to enter for your chance to win a signed finished copy of The Last Magician and swag, please click on the Rafflecopter link below. Please note that this giveaway is open to US Residents only!

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/e2389ba2604/

Posted on July 13, 2017, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Dancer’s Review of The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell.

Comments are closed.