Mimi’s Review of Winter Halo by Keri Arthur & Giveaway

winterhalobannerlg

I would like to sincerely offer my thanks to Signet of Berkley Publishing for not only letting me participate in the blog tour for Keri Arthur’s newest novel, but for also providing me a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review! =^.^=

winterhalo

Rating: paw4

Publisher: Signet – Berkley Publishing

Date Released: December 6, 2016

Series: Outcast #2

Goodreads Description:

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Souls of Fire novels comes the second in the futuristic fantasy series that will make you want to keep the lights on…

When the bombs that stopped the species war tore holes in the veil between worlds, they allowed entry to the Others. Now, a hundred years later, humans and shifters alike live in artificially lit cities designed to keep the darkness at bay….

The humanoid supersoldiers known as the déchet were almost eradicated by the war. Ever since, Tiger has tried to live her life in peace in hiding. But in the wake of her discovery that Central City’s children are being kidnapped and experimented on, Tiger’s conscience won’t let her look the other way.

The key to saving them lies within the walls of a pharmaceutical company called Winter Halo. But as she learns more about the facility, Tiger’s mission is derailed by a complication: Winter Halo’s female security guards are being systematically attacked by an unknown force.

Now Tiger must summon all her gifts to stop those responsible for both atrocities—no matter the cost to herself…

mg amazon B&N

Review:

This series just keeps getting better with each book! And having said that, if you haven’t ready the first book in this series, be sure you do so before you read this novel, because the events in this book take place directly after the events in City of Light. While Keri does do a good job of providing readers with a recap of what happened previously, this book really should not be read as a stand-alone.

So that being said, I truly have come to enjoy many of the characters in this series, though it took this book for me to really appreciate them. Tiger is still just as wonderful and strong-willed, and my love for her is just as great as it was after I first meet her. It was a pleasure to watch her continue to kick ass and fight to protect those in need, even if it meant continuing to assist Nuri and her crew. Jonas has managed to grow on me, and I would be lying if I said I didn’t find him rather appealing. I wasn’t entirely sure if I liked him or not after the first book, but by the end of this novel he’s managed to win a place in my heart and I can’t wait to find out what happens between him and Tiger in the next novel! Nuri also manged to surprise me this time around. I honestly didn’t care for her after the events in City of Light. In fact I distrusted her completely. But after this book I’ve started to develop a grudging admiration for her and have begun to see her in a different light. Some of the questions I had regarding her and Jonas were answered in this story, and those answers helped change my views on them both immensely. As for Branna, I still hate him, and I wouldn’t mind it if he disappeared entirely come the next book in the series. I rather enjoyed the scene where Cat, one of Tiger’s ghost comrades, took pleasure in smacking Branna over the head with a chair leg. Heehee.

Keri continues the suspense and fast paced, on the edge of your seat action that abounded in City of Light. Just when you think Tiger is going to have a moment to relax and just settle, she’s caught up in either a fight for her life, investigating the newest lead in the case of the missing children, or attempting to infiltrate some high security building. Each chapter has you turning the pages in anticipation of what is going to happen next. There were a couple of times where I felt just as physically as exhausted as Tiger, but I suspect that was because I kept holding my breath during the fight scenes, and a few times I was left wincing in sympathy as she attempted to heal the damage done to her body. Honestly, I’m in awe over just how powerful a character Tiger is, she truly doesn’t know the meaning of the word “quit,” though I suppose some folks would view her as stubborn. And it’s true, she is stubborn, but no one can argue that she doesn’t get things done.

I think the thing that has drawn me the most to this series is the mystery behind what is going on and who is involved. With each book we’re getting more insight into what has happened to Penny and the other children, we’re learning more about who is officially in charge, and we’re seeing what the results are from the experimentation that is being done, but we’re not given the entire picture in full. In fact, if after reading City of Light you were left wondering what happens next, believe me when I say you’ll be screaming in frustration at the end of this book, because Keri still hasn’t given us all of the answers, and she leaves us with even more questions. When I got to the last page I actually said out loud “That’s it?! Seriously! You’re seriously going to end it there?!” There can be no question that I want more, the sooner the better. This feline is anxious to get her paws on the third book, but sadly I, like all of Keri’s fans, will have to wait until next year to find out what happens next in the series. But you can bet that I will definitely be reading the next book once it does come out! =^.^=

About the Author:

keriarthur

Keri Arthur is the New York Times bestselling author of the Outcast series, including City of Light, as well as the Souls of Fire, Dark Angels, and Riley Jenson Guardian series. She has written more than thirty books and has been nominated in the Best Contemporary Paranormal category of the Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Awards and has won a Romantic Times Career Achievement Award for urban fantasy.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

***Giveaway***

If you would like to enter for your chance to win either a copy of City of Light, book #1 in the Outcast series, or a copy of Winter Halo, book #2 in the Outcast series, please fill out the Google Doc form below. This giveaway run from Midnight, December 6th – Midnight, December 12th 2016 and is open to US & Canada residents only!

Posted on December 6, 2016, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Mimi’s Review of Winter Halo by Keri Arthur & Giveaway.

Comments are closed.