Sara’s Review of Temptations of a Wallflower by Eva Leigh

VT-TemptationsofAWallflower-ELeigh_FINAL

I’d like to thank Tasty Book Tours for letting me participate in this event, and also would like to thank Avon for granting me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. To see all the blogs involved in the tour, please click on the banner above, murr! =^.^=

temptations wallflower mm c

Rating: paw4

Date Released: April 26, 2016

Publisher: Avon

Series: The Wicked Quills of London #3

Goodreads Description:

Eva Leigh’s deliciously sexy Wicked Quills of London series continues as a Lady’s secret career writing erotic fiction is jeopardized by real-life romance . . .

In society circles she’s known as the Watching Wallflower—shy, quiet, and certainly never scandalous. Yet beneath Lady Sarah Frampton’s demure façade hides the mind of The Lady of Dubious Quality, author of the most titillating erotic fiction the ton has ever seen. Sarah knows discovery would lead to her ruin, but marriage—to a vicar, no less—could help protect her from slander. An especially tempting option when the clergyman in question is the handsome, intriguing Jeremy Cleland.

Tasked with unmasking London’s most scandalous author by his powerful family, Jeremy has no idea that his beautiful, innocent bride is the very woman he seeks to destroy. His mission must remain a secret, even from the new wife who stirs his deepest longings. Yet when the truth comes to light, Sarah and Jeremy’s newfound love will be tested. Will Sarah’s secret identity tear them apart or will the temptations of his wallflower wife prove too wicked to resist?

amazon B&N KoboIcon itunes

Review:

For those who have read the previous two books in Leigh’s Wicked Quills of London series, Temptations of a Wallflower is the perfect addition to what is a greatly enjoyable series of books. Filled with passion, secrets, and a bit of humor, fans of Historical Romance will definitely want to give this book a read, if not the entire series.

I loved Sarah, and not because she has my name. No, I loved her because she’s a woman of passion and free spirit, she’s not afraid to follow her dream and write. Even when things were at their darkest, she stayed true to who she was even if meant giving up everything. She was truly an amazing character and I connected with her from the first page and felt for her all the way to the end. There’s no question that I adore Leigh’s female characters! Jeremy, on the other paw, I had mixed feelings over. I liked that he didn’t come across as a stuffy, prudish man of the church. He has a sensual side that he’s not afraid to follow, and that aspect of him drew me to him. It tickled me when he admitted to reading all of The Lady of Dubious Quality’s novels. However, I couldn’t stomach his bowing to the demands of his father. Yes, I understand the reasons why he acted as he did, but I couldn’t help but purr in agreement when Sarah effectively put him in his place where his actions were concerned. Also loved when she said that Jeremy’s father needed to learn that he couldn’t have everything he demanded. Honestly, I cringed whenever Jeremy took up his search for The Lady of Dubious Quality because I wanted him to turn around and tell his father to take up the search himself. I wanted him to be the better man and give consideration for why a woman would write those books, so it pained me greatly when Jeremy confronted Sarah over the issue, inevitably making her feel like she had to choose between him and writing. No one should ever be asked to give up that which they are passionate about, and my heart broke to see them both in so much pain. So I’ll admit, while I liked Jeremy on many levels, I can’t say that I loved him as I have other male characters in this series.

And this is the primary reason that I enjoy this series so much: Leigh has a skill at making the reader feel emotions when reading her books. Whether it’s a humorous scene, an amorous moment, or a character whom you instantly dislike, Leigh weaves her stories with the intent of pulling the reader into her world and not letting them go until the final page has been turned, sometimes not even then. From the moment I started reading I was sucked into the story and often found it difficult to put the book down. There were very few scenes that lagged, and if it wasn’t for my own frustration over the events in the later chapters, I would have easily read this in a single sitting. It is a delightful read that I highly recommend and while this is the third book in the series, it can be read as a stand-alone novel, though keep in mind that you’ll learn about events from the previous two books by reading this one.

Having said that, I admit that I enjoyed seeing everyone from the previous two stories, though I wish the women had more time on the page. Both Eleanor and Maggie only made a brief, though significant appearance toward the end of the book, while Cameron, Jeremy’s cousin had several opportunities to be seen. I could not stop laughing the entire scene where Cameron is teaching Jeremy how to be a confident, sexual man. The moment Cam asked Jeremy to show him his smolder I died. All I could think of was the scene in Tangled with Flynn. I even pictured that exact look on Jeremy’s face the first time he tried. And the scene where Eleanor and Maggie unknowingly give Sarah the answer she is looking for by talking about their passion for writing…if I didn’t love those two ladies already, I loved them even more after that moment.

This was a wonderful book and I truly did enjoy the time spent reading it, though the first book is still my favorite of the three. I don’t know if Leigh plans on writing any more novels in this series, but if she does you can bet that I’ll be waiting to get my paws on them. If this is the last of the series then I can say it was an extremely steamy way to end it! So if you are looking for a book that will curl your whiskers and leave you fanning yourself, this is definitely the story for you. Truly, The Wicked Quills of London series is one that is guaranteed to delight readers and I encourage you to give it a try for yourself, murr! Trust me, you won’t be disappointed.

 

WickedQuillsSeries-ELeigh_FINAL

About the Author:

Eva Leigh

EVA LEIGH is the pen name of a RITA® Award-nominated romance author who writes novels chock-full of smart women and sexy men. She enjoys baking, Tweeting about boots, and listening to music from the ‘80s. Eva and her husband live in Central California.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

***Giveaway***

For your chance to win a print set of Forever Your Earl and Scandal Takes the Stage, books #1 & #2 of The Wicked Quills of London series, please click on the Rafflecopter link below:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/521ac4c81007/

Posted on May 6, 2016, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great review! Thank you for hosting TEMPTATIONS OF A WALLFLOWER today!

    Crystal, Tasty Book Tours