Review: Forever Your Earl by Eva Leigh

VT-WickedQuillsSeries-EvaLeigh

What the Cat Read would like to thank Tasty Book Tours for letting us participate in this tour, as well as Avon Books for providing us with a review copy of the novel! To see all of the blogs involved in this event, please click on the banner above. =^.^=

Forever_Your_EarlRating: paw5

Publisher: Avon Books

Date Released: September 29, 2015

Series: The Wicked Quills of London #1

Goodreads Description:

Eleanor Hawke loves a good scandal. And readers of her successful gossip rag live for the exploits of her favorite subject: Daniel Balfour, the notorious Earl of Ashford. So when the earl himself marches into her office one day and invites her to experience his illicit pursuits firsthand, Eleanor is stunned. Gambling hells, phaeton races, masquerades…What more could a scandal writer want than a secret look into the life of this devilishly handsome rake?

Daniel has secrets and if The Hawk’s Eye gets wind of them, a man’s life could be at stake. And what better way to distract a gossip than by feeding her the scandal she desperately craves? But Daniel never expected the sharp mind and biting wit of the beautiful writer, and their desire for each other threatens even his best laid plans.

But when Eleanor learns the truth of his deception, Daniel will do anything to prove a romance between a commoner and an earl could really last forever.

amazon B&N KoboIcon itunes

Review:

I so dearly loved this novel. Filled with humor, romantic tension, a bit of mystery, and just a dash of danger, Leigh’s first book in an all new series is a perfect read for fans of historical romance. Once I started reading, I simply didn’t want to put it down and I can’t wait to see what Leigh has in store with her other two novels!

The first thing that stood out for me in this read was the connection between Eleanor and Daniel. The two are perfect for each other, not just in the romantic sense, but also in terms of personality and intelligence. I greatly enjoyed their verbal sparring matches, found pleasure in their adventures into the gaming hells, phaeton races, masked balls, and more, and genuinely wanted these two to find happiness together at the end of it all. Their relationship was perfect, building slowly and eventually coming to mean more to both of them than a simple using of the other for their own personal gain. True, their time together wasn’t always an easy one, and there were some moments when I wanted to whack each them across the face with my paws for being ignorant over the hurt they were causing each other, more so Daniel with Eleanor than the other way around, but on the whole I wouldn’t have wanted either of them any other way.

Eleanor is a strong, independent, highly intelligent woman who I instantly connected with because of her ability to build a successful business with her own two hands and through her own means. I also greatly enjoyed her willingness to get involved in her stories, not just gathering materials from secondhand sources, but actually going out and discovering things for herself as well. The scene where she dresses up as a man was greatly amusing, and I applaud her ability to pull off the role so successfully. She was by far my favorite character in the entire book, though I will admit that I’m looking forward to learning more about her friend Maggie at some point. Daniel I both loved and grew frustrated with. In many aspects he’s a typical wealthy aristocrat, not fully aware of just how easy he has it in life, never having to really work for the things he wants, etc. Yet at the same time, he’s open to seeing the real world around him through Eleanor’s eyes, capable of changing, and not always the brash, insensitive Rake that many of his kind tend to be. His heart is often in the right place, even when he actions are questionable. While I didn’t fully approve of his reasons for keeping Eleanor in the dark about his actions for as long as he did, I also can’t really blame him given the habit most journalists have for prying into everything that even remotely smells like a story. Still, I do feel that he should have told her the truth sooner once it became clear to him that she could be trusted.

Another thing that stood out for me with this book was Leigh’s strength of writing. The pace of the story was smooth, each event flowing into the next with nothing to really pull you out once you began. The scenes themselves are richly descriptive, putting you right into each setting. Honestly, if it wasn’t for the fact that I had other things that I needed to do, I could very easily have read this in one sitting. I love books that let you escape reality, and this book did just that for me. I also love books that make me feel emotions while reading. I laughed several times during my reading of this book, grinned often over a few scenes, growled in frustration over others, and even found myself occasionally tensing up wondering if everything was going to be all right in the end. Not every author has the skill to make a reader feel when reading, but Leigh pulls it off flawlessly.

The third and final thing that set this book apart as being one of my favorites for the year was how many wonderful quotes were to be found in this book. I don’t often read something and find myself highlighting favorite text on my Kindle a lot, so I was pleasantly surprised when I started finding one quote after another that resonated deeply with me. One of my favorites is at the start of Chapter 13 which begins, “Behind every printed sheet of paper is a story that extends far beyond the margins.” There’s more to this paragraph than what I’ve shared above, and you’ll need to read the book yourself to discover the rest, but I just loved how much truth can be found within this sentence.

Yes, this book resonated with me on several levels and I have to give major purrs to Leigh for a wonderful start to a promising series of books! I can’t wait to start reading Scandal Takes the Stage and Temptations of a Wallflower. There’s no question that I highly recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys historical romance or is looking for something new to try.

About the Author:

Eva LeighEVA LEIGH is the pen name of a RITA® Award-nominated romance author who writes novels chock-full of smart women and sexy men. She enjoys baking, Tweeting about boots, and listening to music from the ‘80s. Eva and her husband live in Central California.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

***Giveaway***

One lucky winner will receive a print copy of Forever Your Earl and a $25 Gift Card! To enter, please click on the Rafflecopter link below:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/521ac4c8801/

Posted on October 26, 2015, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great review! 🙂

    Crystal, Tasty Book Tours

  2. Thanks!

    Crystal, Tasty Book Tours