Read-along: Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder Week #3 Thoughts

posion_readALONG

Read-along Week #3 Thoughts on Chapters 18-25

First initial thought: Don’t care what I’ve learned about Margg, I still don’t like her. Valek is currently an ass in my mind based on his actions. Rand, damn it! Loving Ari and Janco, as well as Maren (want more of her). Interesting vision that Yelena had. Yeah, I can see what people enjoyed this novel. Looking forward to seeing how it all ends!

Story thoughts: Well hells, this book managed to piss me off. Damn it, Rand! I mean seriously, why? WHY? I knew that Snyder was going to do something with him because she was obviously leading him up to this, but still! Why not Margg? I was anticipating Margg actually. And no matter what I’ve learned about her, I still don’t like her. And I’m not exactly thrilled with Valek, either. His behavior in this section, while I understand some might call it justifiable, did not sit well with me at all. Regardless of Yelena’s past, she’s more than proven herself trustworthy, so I don’t understand why he couldn’t give her the benefit of the doubt instead of instantly jumping to the conclusion that she was a betrayer. Ari, Janco, and Maren are great! Love their fighting scenes together and I hope I see more of them in the series. Snyder is definitely doing a great job in building her characters. They are all complex and I love that I am able to become emotionally invested in them, even when that investment proves to be heartbreaking, or leads me to want to claw them across the face.

The vision that Yelena has is extremely interesting, though it brings up a few questions. Yup, I’ve got more questions. And I’ll be honest, I read ahead (actually finished the book) and I’m still a bit confused on what is going on, so those questions remain. I may need to talk with some of the other readers to ask them for clarification, or I can as Snyder herself or wait for when I read the other books to discover what is going on there. It isn’t so much that I don’t understand the vision, it’s that I don’t understand the wording used with it.

Not sure I would want to live in a country without coffee. I need my caffeine. Though I suppose if I grew up in a place where I was never exposed to the drink, I probably wouldn’t miss it. And I’m now curious to try Criollo. Is this like some sort of chocolate? I don’t want the down side to this substance, but I do want to try just a small bit. I find it interesting how some people think it is the most amazing thing in the world, but others not so much. Actually, thinking about that scene now that I’ve finished the book, I now know why Valek didn’t think much of the stuff. Right, yeah, that should have been pretty obvious. Sigh.

This really is an engaging read, and like I said, I’ve been enjoying it so much, I had to finish it. But just because I am done with it doesn’t mean you’ll be getting my thoughts on the ending. You’ll have to wait until next week for that post. I will say that I’m glad  Rockstar Book Tours hosted this read-along event because I probably wouldn’t have gotten to this book nearly as quickly given my TBR pile. Can’t wait to start the second book in the series soon! And you can expect my final week’s worth of thoughts, along with my review, next week. =^.^=

Favorite Quote: There was only one moment that stood out for me in this section. I hope you enjoy it.

“When you warned me that you would test me from time to time, I thought you meant spiking my food. But it seems there is more than one way to poison a person’s heart, and it doesn’t even require a meal.”

“Everyone makes choices in life. Some bad, some good. It’s called living, and if you want to bow out, then go right ahead. But don’t do it halfway. Don’t linger in whiner’s limbo,” Valek said, his voice gruff. – Page 241

 

Posted on October 23, 2015, in General. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Read-along: Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder Week #3 Thoughts.

Comments are closed.