Review: The Lady Hellion by Joanna Shupe

TVTLadyHellion-JoannaShupe

I would like to thank Tasty Book Tours for letting me participate in this tour event, as well as the publisher for providing me with a copy of the book for an honest review. To see all of the blogs involved in the tour, please click on the banner above, murr! =^.^=

The Lady HellionRating: paw4

Publisher: Zebra – Kensington

Date Published: May 26, 2015

Series: Wicked Deceptions #3

Goodreads Description:

A Marquess’ daughter, Lady Sophia Barnes doesn’t take no for an answer. Especially when she’s roaming London’s seedy underground…dressed as a man.

A rabble rouser for justice, Sophie’s latest mission is to fight for the rights of the poor, the wretched—and the employees at Madame Hartley’s brothel. She’s not concerned about the criminals who will cross her path, for Sophie has mastered the art of deception—including the art of wearing trousers. Now her fate is in her own hands, along with a loaded gun. All she needs is instruction on how to shoot it. But only one person can help her: Lord Quint, the man who broke her heart years ago. The man she won’t let destroy her again…

The last thing Damien Beecham, Viscount Quint, needs is an intrusion on his privacy, especially from the beautiful, exasperating woman he’s never stopped wanting. A woman with a perilously absurd request, no less! For Damien is fighting a battle of his own, one he wishes to keep hidden—along with his feelings for Lady Sophia. Yet that fight is as hopeless as stopping her outlandish plan. Soon all Quint knows for certain is that he will die trying to protect her…

amazon B&N KoboIcon itunes

Review:

It isn’t often that a book manages to make me laugh within the first couple pages, let alone multiple times in the first few chapters, but this book managed to do just that. I had high expectations for this title, both because it was focusing one of my favorite characters in the series, and because this is the final book as far as I know, though Shupe could write another story at some point. ~crosses paws~ Anyway, I was greatly satisfied to discover that this book met my expectations and in the end left me purring in contentment. Shupe has ended this series on a high note, and fans of her first two books will definitely want to give this one a read!

I loved Sophie from the moment I first met her in the previous books and I loved her even more in this story. She’s absolutely one of the most unconventional of individuals amongst the ton. From her dressing like a man to help women of the night, getting into duels, and generally not succumbing to the demands her position requires of her, Sophie is one of those characters whom I wish I could spend my time with more often. I enjoyed her headstrong attitude immensely. As for Quint…Oh my dear, sweet, wonderful, nerdy, naive man. My heart went out to him right from the start in this book. Out of the three main male characters in the Wicked Deceptions series, he’s always been my favorite, so to see him suffering in the beginning just about killed me. Three big purrs to Sophie for being stubborn and caring enough to help him and not take no for an answer.  Yes, these two are definitely made for and need each other. Him to keep her grounded at times, and her to keep him on his toes. Their relationship is hot, but unlike the other books in the series, this one takes a while to build. It’s there, it’s definitely got the potential to be explosive, but both of them keep dancing around it for their own reasons. Yet when they do finally come together…let’s just say it is more than satisfactory.

I will admit that I was pleasantly surprised to see Shupe bring back the element of mystery in this novel, something which I had enjoyed in the first book and missed in the second. Women of the night have gone missing and some are found along the banks of the Thames dismembered and Quint’s house is broken into by an unknown man wearing a mask. Who is responsible? Are the two cases related? You’ll have to find out for yourself because this feline isn’t going to spoil things for you. What I will say though is that the suspense and intrigue kept me turning the pages until the very end. If Shupe ever decides to try her hand at writing a mystery series, I plan to be one of the first in line to check it out!

All of the characters from the earlier books make an appearance in this story, so I was thrilled to see old favorites again. I still wanted more of Fitz and Aunt Theo though! Seriously, they need a novel of their own, or at least a novella. Yup, I’m still pining for these two after three books. I also wanted more Pearl Kelly, big surprise there. Yeah, I enjoy secondary characters just as much as the primary ones, and when I find some who standout as much as these three did, I starting wanting more. Nick and Julia have continued to grow on me, and Maggie and Simon are still a wonderful pair, so I was happy to see them all again. I always like it when an author brings back old characters for fans to reconnect with and enjoy, even if it is for a brief moment or two.

Overall, this was my favorite book out of the entire series. The story was stronger, the writing smoother, the pacing was perfect, and it just felt like a more solid read than the previous two. Not saying that the other books weren’t strong in their own right, but given that I wasn’t overly enamored with the main characters in the first book, the fact that I loved Quint and Sophie and was cheering for them to have a happy ever after shows just how much Shupe’s writing grew as her series progressed, though I suppose it could be argued that it just shows my appreciation for Quint in the series. Either way, this book stood out more for me than the earlier ones.

So if you are looking for a book that is filled with romance, mystery, and suspense, you’ll want to check this book out, though I do highly recommend you read The Courtesan Duchess and The Harlot Countess in order to get a full understanding of the characters, setting, and general progression of everyone’s lives. Trust me when I say, you will not be disappointed, murr! Four paws and a tail wave of satisfied approval to you Shupe for a job well done. =^.^=

About the Author:

Joanna ShupeAward-winning author JOANNA SHUPE has always loved history, ever since she saw her first Schoolhouse Rock cartoon. While in college, Joanna read every romance she could get her hands on and soon started crafting her own racy historical novels. She now lives in New Jersey with her two spirited daughters and dashing husband.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

***Giveaway***

To win one of three paperback copies of The Lady Hellion, please click on the Rafflecopter link below.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/521ac4c8687/

Posted on June 1, 2015, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Tasty Book Tours

    Thank you for hosting THE LADY HELLION