Armchair BEA 2015 – Book to Movie Adaptations

Design credit goes to Nina of Nina Reads

Design credit goes to Nina of Nina Reads

Today’s topic covers book to movie adaptations. “What books do you want to be made into a movie or television show? What are some of your favorites? We’ll explore more about this topic, especially what works and what doesn’t.  Are there any upcoming shows or movies that you’re excited for? What are your recommendations?”

ClipArt

I have a love/hate relationship with book to movie/TV adaptations. On the one hand, I like that some of my favorite stories are making it up on the big screen, but on the other hand, I dislike how it feels like every book now is being made into a movie or TV show. Author writes best-selling book, bam, instant movie option. It sort of takes out the excitement and wonder on which title will be next.

But having said that, there are a lot of great movie and TV adaptations out there.

Obviously, my ultimate favorite adaptation is Game of Thrones, which is based on George RR Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series. Love the books, love the TV show. As my avatar on my personal Facebook page says, Game of Thrones is my addiction. True, there have been some changes to the story which I don’t care for, but it is an adaptation, and as Martin himself said, “The show is the show, the books are the books; two different tellings of the same story.”

Another adaptation, and probably a great example of where the movie is better than the book in my opinion, is The Princess Bride. Now, I’m going to be honest here, I saw the movie long before I ever read the book. In fact, I didn’t read the book until three years ago, and I grew up loving the movie. The cast is brilliant, and the story follows the book perfectly. But what makes the movie better than the book is that the interruptions to the story that occur between the grandson and his grandfather do not detract from the flow of the plot at all, whereas the interruptions in the book drag the pacing down quite a bit.

Ender’s Game was awesome. I read the book after I watched the movie because my significant other kept remarking about how great a job they did at staying true to the original story, and I agree with him. Yes, there were a few minor changes, but overall, the movie is spot on with the book, from events to dialogue. By far it was my favorite movie from 2013.

The Harry Potter series is also up there in my favorite adaptations. Yes, I do agree with a lot of fans who wish that more was put into each movie, but honestly, with the exception of the seventh movie, Deathly Hallows Part One, I was extremely impressed at how much was covered from each book and how wonderful a job was done on the movies in general. My issue with the first Deathly Hallows movie was that I got tired of all the angst and squabbling that went on between Harry, Ron, and Hermione. Yes, it’s true to the book, but I was tired of it when I read the book too. So there you go.

Other adaptations that I’ve enjoyed include The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit series, Vampire Academy, Mortal Instruments: City of Bones (really looking forward to the TV show), Pride and Prejudice, Sense & Sensibility, Howl’s Moving Castle, and V for Vendetta, just to name a few.

For an example of an adaptation that I’ve liked and disliked, so far, I have to say that I’m torn when it comes to the Hunger Games series. I greatly enjoyed the first two movie adaptations. Actually, I rather wish they had turned the Catching Fire into two movies, but instead they went with splitting Mockingjay into two parts. And that’s where my appreciation for the series fell. As far as I’m concerned, the third book didn’t need two parts to tell the story. My friends can tell you that I’ve argued against the movie on more than one occasion, and I’ll continue to argue against it long after the second part comes out. Yes, I know that it doesn’t do any good since the damage is already done, but I found Mockingjay Part One boring, with the notable exception of The Hanging Tree scene.

As for bad adaptations, I’m going to have to go with one that I found too strange for words, and that’s Dune. I watched the movie version and read the book, and I must say that I prefer to book over the movie any day. My mind still screeches to a halt trying to describe the film adaptation. Actually, you can check out my review of the movie on my blog.

When it comes to books that I’d like to see adaptations for, I’ve got a couple, but I hesitate to put them out there for fear that the adaptations aren’t going to live up to expectations. I’d love to see a Dragonriders of Pern movie (yes, I know that one is being considered, and they BETTER do the books justice!), the Wheel of Time series would make for a great TV adaptation, and the Kushiel’s series by Jacqueline Carey would also make for an interesting TV adaptation. And I’m still waiting for the ElfQuest animated movie!

So what are your thoughts on books to film adaptations? Do you love them or hate them? What are your favorites? Least favorites? Please feel free to share your thoughts with me in the comments below. I’m always looking for a great movie to watch and/or book to read. =^.^=

Posted on May 30, 2015, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I seen the Game of Thrones box set today, I must read the books as I haven’t as yet 😦

    I also think that Divergent was done well and City of Bones.

  2. Reading this has just made me realise I have not watched Mockingly yet! I loved Hunger Games and Catching Fire, both book and movie 🙂

  3. George RR Martin’s books are still on my TBR, so I still am looking forward to seeing the movie after I read the books. It was nice getting to know you through ABEA.