Armchair BEA 2015 – Character Chatter

Design credit goes to Nina of Nina Reads

Design credit goes to Nina of Nina Reads

Today’s first topic is Character Chatter. “It’s time to give your favorite characters some love! Characters are essential to a story, and they can make or break a book for some readers. Now’s your chance to shine the spotlight on your favorite characters, or maybe your least favorite. Who’s your favorite couple? What are the components of a well written character? What are you favorite or least favorite cliches associated with characters?”

ClipArt

Hands down, or should I say paws down?, my ultimate favorite character, at this very moment, is Tyrion Lannister from George RR Martin‘s A Song of Ice and Fire series. He’s extremely intelligent, prefers to use his wit to get out of tough situations rather than brawn, and he enjoys reading about as much as I do. If he wasn’t a fiction character, I’d give some serious thought toward marrying him. I much prefer the intellectual characters over the alpha, all muscle and brawn guys. Not saying that those types of guys don’t have their appeal at times, but after a while they get a bit tiresome. Too much testosterone fighting for my taste.

Sherlock Holmes is another big favorite of mine. Okay, so he’s a sociopath, but he’s a high functioning sociopath. He’s got brains and he’s not afraid to use them. My only hesitation where Holmes is concerned is I worry that I wouldn’t be able to keep up with him. But again, I like intellectual characters. And so that you don’t think it is just intelligent guys that I like, I also am a big fan of Irene Alder (Carole Nelson Douglas) and Mary Russell (Laurie R. King). These women excel in the art of detection and both can/have given Holmes a run for his money.  I’ve greatly been enjoying King’s novels of late, and I loved Douglas’s books and rather wish that she’d write more in her particular series.

Speaking of Carole Nelson Douglas, I’m also a big fan of her character Midnight Louie. It’s not just us humans who are capable of solving grisly murders. This street smart, investigative feline first captured my heart back when I was a middle school student and he’s stayed a favorite of mine ever since.

While these characters are the ones who stand out for me at present, they are by no means the only characters whom I love. If it wasn’t for the fact that I fear I would either overwhelm or bore you, I could talk for hours about my favorite characters. And it’s not just a list full of intellectual characters, either. I’ve got characters such as Charley Davidson, October Daye and Tybalt, the King of Cats, and Elizabeth Bennet on my list of favorites as well. Basically, if I can relate to the character, there’s a pretty good chance that I’ll end up liking him or her. It’s actually a bit of a challenge to pick just one favorite character at any given time. I’m curious to see which character ends up kicking Tyrion off the top spot in the future.

And yes, I have characters whom I have hated with a blinding passion, and characters who I started off liking but ultimately ended up disliking as I continued to get to know them. Sookie Stackhouse in particular comes to mind at the moment. Anita Blake is another, though I still seriously love Jean Claude. Let me put it this way, I don’t particularly care for characters who end up going sex crazy. I like romance novels, and I enjoy reading romance series, but when a character jumps between multiple relationships in a series, I get turned off fairly quickly. Especially if there isn’t a real good reason for it. It’s no slam against the either of these authors, and I will admit that I enjoyed some of the books in their series, but the later books in both not so much.

I don’t know if I’ve answered this writing prompt well, but I’m the type of person who gravitates toward characters who walk a wide range of personality and habits. What will turn me off for one character will often times work for me in another. It really depends on the mood I’m in at the time when I’m introduced to them. And it also depends on the strength of the author’s writing. After all, a character comes to life first through the pen of the person who is writing.

So who are some of your favorite or least favorite characters? Do you have any attributes that turn you off or that you get tired of after a while? Any recommendations on who I should check out? Feel free to share your thoughts with me in the comments below. =^.^=

Posted on May 29, 2015, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Yay, Tyrion is one of my absolute favourites too!!

    • He’s the first and only fictional character I’ve ever gone full fan girl crazy for. I really hope that Martin lets him have a happy ever after in the final book. I’ve got this fear that he’ll die a tragic yet heroic death in the end though. There’s just no knowing anyone’s fate where Martin is concerned. It’s why I love his books so much. And the show just makes them even more amazing. Peter Dinklage as Tyrion…yeah, that right there solidified the character as being my number one fav. It’s going to take a hell of a character to ever knock him down to second place for me.

  2. I like Tyrion too, but if we’re talking GoT, it has to be Jon Snow for me. I love a brooding, moody character!

    • My sister-in-law would agree with you completely regarding Jon Snow. Me, I like him, but there are others who stand out more for me, besides Tyrion. Arya is amazing. She’s my second favorite character in the entire series. Talk about a little bad ass, I’m looking forward to seeing what happens to her in the final two books! =^.^=

  3. I really enjoy intelligent characters. I find it really difficult to connect to characters who make “stupid” decisions. I find that most of the time, this comes because the author has made the character decide something for the sake of the plot rather than because that’s how the character would make the decision and it’s kind of majorly annoying.