Armchair BEA 2015 – Visual Expressions

Design credit goes to Nina of Nina Reads

Design credit goes to Nina of Nina Reads

The first of today’s Armchair BEA posts has us looking at Visual Expressions by way of storytelling. “There are so many ways to tell stories. Whether it’s comic books, graphic novels, visual novels, webcomics, etc, there are quite a lot of other mediums to tell a story. On this day, we will be talking about those books and formats that move beyond just words and use other ways to experience a story.”

ClipArt

I’m afraid that this is one post where I’m going to be lacking in what to say. Where once I used to read graphic novels, manga, and comic books, I fear that my interest in this form of entertainment has waned greatly the older I get. It isn’t that I don’t think of them as valuable resources, I’ve just reached a point where I would rather curl up with a good book and let my own imagination create the images for me. Especially since I’ve found that the image I paint in my head often contrasts greatly with the artist(s).

Dani Smith of The Black Dog and Rebel Rose series is only graphic novel writer I follow and support, she’s also a good friend from high school. Her artwork is stunning, always has been and always will be, and she definitely knows how to tell a emotionally moving scene through her drawings. If you are a fan of paranormal erotic books, you’ll definitely want to give this series of graphic novels a try! Skriker is hot, hot, HOT!

Meanwhile there are only two webcomics that I follow currently. The first is VG Cats and the other is the GaMERCat. Can you tell that I have a major love for cats? Heehee. I enjoy both sites immensely because they deal with another of my favorite hobbies which is gaming. Yup, when I’m not reading, or working on edits and/or publicity assignments, I’m most likely working my way through some video game or another. What can I say, I’m a geek. =^.^=

Actually, now that I think about it, I suppose you could consider movie and TV adaptions of books to be a form of visual expression. And when it comes to this form, I engage in it a lot. If Hollywood is planning to make a movie or a TV show based on a book, chances are I’ll see it at some point in time. My ultimate favorite at present is Game of Thrones. George RR Martin is GOD…that’s my story and I’m sticking too it. Just kidding. But seriously, I LOVE the show and the books. I haven’t geeked out this much on a TV show since Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

Yes, there’s been awesome adaptations and there’s been some that have made you want to crawl into a hole and cry over how bad a job they did. The great thing about it though is that everyone takes away something different from the movie/show. Some will like it, while others will hate it, and even more would be just “meh” over it. But it gets you talking and seeking out the original content (that is if you are anything like me when it comes to adaptations).

So, what is your favorite form of visual expression for storytelling? Do you have a favorite graphic novel that you enjoy reading? Any webcomics that I should consider checking out? Share your suggestions with me in the comments below. I’m always looking for new reading recommendations.

Posted on May 28, 2015, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I did like Cece Bell’s graphic novel memoir, El Deafo, and the new Roller Girls was a lot of fun. I read middle grade, so there are all sorts of Wimpy Kid readalikes, and I could do without those. As I get older, I don’t appreciate the tiny, tiny print!

    • I’m not familiar with Cece Bell or Roller Girls. I’ll have to check these out as they sound interesting. And yes, the tiny print in graphic novels is becoming a challenge to read the older I get, too. I’m going to need to look in to seeing if they make large print graphic novels soon if I want to continue to read any of them. Sigh.