Armchair BEA 2015 – Introduction

Design credit goes to Nina of Nina Reads

Design credit goes to Nina of Nina Reads

It’s time for Armchair BEA 2015!! For those who are new to What the Cat Read and aren’t sure what this event is about, check out http://www.armchairbea.com for a full run down on event, who all is participating, and more! For those who have been following the blog, thanks for being reading and I hope that you enjoy this week’s worth of posts. This is my 4th year participating and I can’t wait to meet and engage with everyone involved.

ClipArtSo let’s kick off this first post with an introduction for those who are new to What the Cat Read!

Tell us a bit about yourself: How long have you been blogging? Where are you from? How did you get into blogging?

My name is Cameron and I’m the human behind the blog What the Cat Read. I began blogging back in August of 2011 and thought it would be fun to do a blog where the reviews were written from the perspective of the felines in my life. Yes, I do all the work, but the cats get all the credit. And at the end of the day, I’m all right with that. What lead me to start blogging was I was looking to do something which would allow me to practice working with HTML/CSS coding while also sharing my love of books with fellow book lovers. Plus, blogging seemed rather fun and different from the standard form of book reviewing on Goodreads and Amazon. You can learn a bit more about how I got started by reading my “The Creation” post on the blog.

Why do you loving reading and blogging?

I love reading because it provides an escape from real life and allows me to visit different places, both real and imaginative. My mother fostered my love for books by introducing me to various mystery and fantasy novels as a child, and growing up I spent a good portion of my free time curled up on the couch reading one book while my mother read another, then we’d trade-off after we finished.

What I love about blogging is being able to meet other bloggers, help promote the books that I love, and support the authors who wrote them. It also provides me with a creative outlet and lets me practice computer coding.

What is your theme song?

There’s only one song I can think of off the top of my head which I would consider a possible theme song for me: Kelly Clarkson’s Stronger. I’ve dealt with a lot of changes in my life since high school, the biggest of which was my mother dying three days after my graduation from cancer. The first time I heard this song I realized that it fit me perfectly. No matter how hard things get, I always try to overcome it and persevere. I also really love the beat and feel of the song.

What is one book everyone should read?

I have a lot of favorite books, and my answer to this question changes every time depending on what mood I’m in when you get me. Right now, I’d say that one book everyone should read is The Dragonriders of Pern by Anne McCaffrey. This was one of the first books I read as a kid and it fostered my overall love of reading. It really is a series that everyone should try at some point, even if fantasy isn’t a favorite of yours.

What is your favorite genre and why?

There are actually two genres that could be considered my favorite: Mystery and Fantasy. These were the genres that I first started reading and they are the ones that I return to over and over again. These were also the genres that my mother enjoyed as well (though mystery was her first love before I started her on fantasy books). Yes, I enjoy steampunk, historical romance, YA, etc, but when all is said and done, mystery and fantasy will always hold a special place in my heart.

So, enough about me. How about you share a little bit about yourselves? What is your favorite genre? What book would you recommend I read? What would you say is your theme song? Share your thoughts with me in the comments below if you so desire, and I’ll see you in the next post. =^.^=

Posted on May 27, 2015, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Book reviews written from the point of view of cats? Sold!

  2. I’m sorry to read about your mom. My condolences. (((HUGS)))