Review: Witches Be Burned by Stacey Kennedy

witchesburned-banner_edited-1

I’d like to thank Tasty Book Tours for letting me participate in the tour event for this title, as well as the folk at Loveswept for providing me with a copy of the book for an honest review. To see a list of all the blogs involved, please click on the banner above. =^.^=

Witched Be BurnedRating: paw3

Publisher: Loveswept

Date Published: May 19, 2015

Series: Magic & Mayhem #2

In Stacey Kennedy’s steamy paranormal romance novel, a rookie guardian sworn to combat the undead risks life and love in a world of violence, witchcraft, and seduction.

Nexi Jones has lost her family, she’s been stripped of her guardian duties, and she’s still learning the ins and outs of white magic. At least she has Kyden, the smoldering hot elite guardian who’s been there for her every step of the way. But just as Nexi completes her training, tragedy strikes the Otherworld when a fellow guardian is murdered by a group of rogue vampires. Ready or not, she and Kyden trek into the Earthworld to hunt down a killer—and Nexi alone will be put to the ultimate test.

Although Kyden knows that Nexi must fight her own battles, his guardian instincts are raging as he struggles to keep her close. The ruthlessness of these vampires is like nothing he’s ever seen. And at their helm is the Black Witch Astoria, a demon with one burning desire: to shed Nexi’s blood in the name of vengeance. What troubles Kyden even more, though, is the warlock who covets Nexi’s heart. Let the devil do his worst . . . all Kyden can do is love and protect Nexi until his last breath.

amazon B&N KoboIcon itunes

Review:

Before I get into my review, I’d like to mention that this is the second book in the series, and while it is true that you can read this and understand everything that is going on, I do recommend that you read the first book, Werewolves Be Damned, prior to starting this one so that you have a solid understanding of the characters and world dynamics. Trust me when I say, you won’t regret giving it a read.

So about Witches Be Burned, my first reaction upon starting this title was how different it felt compared to the first one. And I’m not talking specifically about setting, tone, characters, and such, though it could be argued that they all play a part, but I felt like this book was written by an entirely different author. Something felt different with this one, something was different with this one, but I’ve been struggling to pinpoint exactly why I felt this way while reading. I also noticed a few disconnects between things that are learned about Nexi in the first book and things that get mentioned in this title, but that was only because I so recently read book one that the details are fresh in my mind. However, these were enough of a distraction for me to make it hard to fully enjoy the book as much as I did the previous novel in the series.

Regardless of this, I felt like Witches Be Burned was a solid read. Nexi and Kyden are a sizzling pair of characters whom I greatly enjoyed getting to see again. It’s nice to see Nexi finally come fully into her powers and be confident in who she is. She’s a definite kick ass female character and I’m greatly looking forward to seeing more of her in future books. Kyden, likewise, is a strong, capable fighter though his continual desire to keep Nexi out of danger in this book did start to wear on my nerves a bit. He wasn’t nearly as bad in book one and I agree with Nexi that after a while that kind of “mine to protect” attitude gets tiresome, especially when said the woman in question is more than capable of kicking butt and taking down names. And yet at the same time, Kyden’s desire to keep her safe was also rather enduring. It’s not just lust that drives these two, but actual love, and I was happy to see their relationship continue to grow and become even more steamy in this book. Though I wasn’t happy about the Lord of the Underworld twist Kennedy’s brought into play. I’m not looking forward to the idea of the third book dealing with a possible love triangle, even if I do find this particular character to be an intriguing one.

Likewise I was happy to see Haven, Finn, Talon, Zia, and all the other characters whom I enjoyed from the first book return. Is it so wrong that I wish Kennedy would write books that focus on each of them at some point? I rather like the idea of seeing a book focus primarily on Haven and Finn some day. Speaking of secondary characters, I was excited to be introduced to some new ones, in particular Thalia who is a Vampire Mistress. She’s a fun, fascinating individual who I hope returns in future books. And I especially loved Willow, Nexi’s feline familiar. She’s one bad ass kitty no one should underestimate, murr!

One of the things that I greatly enjoyed with the first novel was how much action and suspense there was, and I was pleased to see that carry over into this book. Never once did I feel like events were dragging in the story. While I wasn’t immediately drawn into the story at the start, owing mostly in part because I was trying to figure out why everything felt different, you are pulled into events quickly and each chapter leaves you wanting to turn the page to find out what happens next. Kennedy’s writing is smooth, her world building is strong, and I think anyone who is a fan of urban fantasy would enjoy this series a lot. There’s a little something for everyone, so I definitely recommend readers give it a try, though as I mentioned at the start of the review, I highly suggest picking up book one before starting this title. It isn’t vital, but you’ll enjoy it all much more if you do.

About the Author:

StaceyStacey Kennedy is the USA Today bestselling author of the Club Sin series. Growing up, Stacey’s mind wandered the path less traveled, and that path most often led to love. She has always broken rules and she continues to feed off emotion—always staying true to her heart. Those traits are now the bones of her stories. She lives in southwestern Ontario with her husband, who puts any of the heroes in her books to shame, and their two young children. If she’s not on Mom duty or plugging away at a new story, you’ll find Stacey camping in the summer, hibernating in the winter, and obsessing over Penny Dreadful, Game of Thrones, and Sons of Anarchy.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

***Giveaway***

For a chance to win a Loveswept Mug, Flirt Mug and Select Ebook Bundle, please click on the Rafflecopter link below:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/235babe7223/

Posted on May 25, 2015, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Tasty Book Tours

    Thank you for hosting WITCHES BE BURNED!