Review: Lady Sarah’s Sinful Desires by Sophie Barnes

LadySarahsSinfulDesires-SophieBarnes (1)

I would like to thank both Tasty Book Tours for letting me participate in the tour and the publisher, Avon, for providing me a copy of the book for an honest review. If you’d like to follow the tour, please click on the banner above, murr! =^.^=

LADY SARAH'sRating: paw5

Publisher: Avon

Date Released: April 28, 2015

Series: Thorncliff Manor #1

Welcome to Thorncliff Manor, where London’s elite mix, mingle, and may even find their heart’s desire…

There are thousands of things Christopher, Viscount Spencer, would rather do than hunt for a bride, especially since experience has taught him that women are not to be trusted. Then he finds the intriguing Lady Sarah scrambling around in Thorncliff’s conservatory and he is instantly charmed by her passionate nature. But why is she so intent on avoiding him?

Lady Sarah would make the perfect bride for a peer—if not for a tarnished past that she’s hiding from the ton. A stay at Thorncliff Manor was meant to help her plan for her future, not fall in love. Yet Christopher’s kisses are irresistible, his gallantry enticing. When her secret stands to be revealed, will the truth ruin their dreams of happiness?

amazon B&N KoboIcon itunes

Review:

You’ll need to forgive me if I end up sounding like a crazy fan cat at times in this review. I’ll try to avoid purring madly as much as possible, but the truth is I positively adored this book! From the first page to the last, my whiskers were curling in delight over the wonderful characters and fantastic writing. Historical Romance readers are definitely going to want to give this book a read!

Spencer, aka Christopher, is a cautious, endearing, yet stubborn gentleman who intrigued me on many levels. He’s been hurt in love before, and as a result, he refuses to give in to the pressures of his mother and sisters by finding a wife. Sarah is the oldest daughter of three who is willing to do her duty to her family at the cost of her own happiness. Her desire to keep her younger sisters from shame is commendable, though I do feel that she was being more than just a bit too hard on herself for her past transgression. I loved the fact that she was unafraid to speak her mind, both toward Spencer and her parents, and I felt that she was a strong, intelligent woman. Both she and Spencer are perfect for each other and I greatly enjoyed all of the scenes where they were alone together, especially the scene when they first meet in the conservatory.

Spencer’s family is awesome! I loved each and every member and I truly hope that I’ll get to see more of them in future books. In particular I hope that Barnes writes a story which centers around Richard, Spencer’s brother, because I found him to be a mysterious individual and after having briefly met him, I’d like him to find happiness at some point after what he’s gone through. Likewise I hope that all of Spencer’s sisters get a story of their own because they were all a lot of fun, especially when meddling in Spencer’s affairs.

Sarah’s family, on the other paw, I was divided on. I enjoyed her two sisters and wish the best for both of them, but I despised her father and step-mother. I wanted to claw them both across their faces on more than one occasion. Would it have killed them to be just a tad understanding and supportive? I’ve read enough Regency novels to know that what Sarah did was disgraceful as far as the Ton are concerned, but that doesn’t mean that her parents had to continually berate her about it.

And don’t even get me started on Mr. Denison, the slimy bastard. In fact, the least said about him, the better! The man rubbed my fur wrong the minute I got introduced to him in the story. It isn’t often that a character makes me feel like I need a bath after reading about them, but I couldn’t wait for Sarah to be rid of him for good. ~shudders~

My all time favorite character in the story is the one who I know will be in all of the books in this series: Lady Duncaster, the owner of Thorncliff. She’s completely eccentric and I love everything about her. This woman doesn’t give a flying fig what society thinks of her and I can’t wait for book two so that I can see her again. You really have to experience her for yourself to understand why I found her to be such a delightful individual. Oh to be a feline in her home, if even for a day.

Okay, so enough about the characters, let me take a moment to discuss Barnes’s writing. This is the first novel I’ve ever read by this author, and if her other books are anything like this one, you can bet your sweet whiskers I’ll be picking up them up to read in the near future. This story drew me in and wouldn’t let me go, both emotionally and physically. Barnes’s writing is such that I felt like I was in the story, rather than looking on distantly, and I enjoyed how in each scene you could feel the emotions between the characters. The pacing of the book was perfect, the structure sound, and while some might argue that the plot lacked originality, I found the entire concept to be most enjoyable. As a start to a new series, Barnes has started off brilliantly.

As for the romance itself, I liked that it was slow to happen. The fact that it took nearly the entire book before Spencer and Sarah actually had sex was fine. Not every relationship begins with sex, so why should every romance book contain a sex scene within the first 75 to 100 pages? The verbal sparring between Spencer and Sarah can be viewed as their form of foreplay, and no one can deny that they aren’t attracted to each other. I guess what I’m trying to say is that if you are expecting there to be heat right from the start, you’ll probably be disappointed in its lacking. The romance in this is a slow burn, and in my opinion that makes it all the more sweeter when the two finally do get together.

Overall, I can’t say enough good things about this story. I’m glad that I had a chance to be introduced to it and I’m greatly looking forward to reading the next book when it comes out in December. In the meantime, I’m going to see about getting my paws on one of Barnes’s other novels and seeing if it is just as good as this was, murr!

Book Trailer:

About the Author:

Sophie Barnes

Born in Denmark, Sophie Barnes spent her youth traveling with her parents to wonderful places all around the world. She’s lived in five different countries, on three different continents, and speaks Danish, English, French, Spanish and Romanian. She has studied design in Paris and New York and has a bachelor’s degree from Parsons. But, most impressive of all, she’s been married to the same man three times—in three different countries and in three different dresses.

While living in Africa, Sophie turned to her lifelong passion: writing. When she’s not busy dreaming up her next romance novel, Sophie enjoys spending time with her family, swimming, cooking, gardening, watching romantic comedies and, of course, reading. She currently lives on the East Coast.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

***Giveaway***

Would you like to win your own copy of Lady Sarah’s Sinful Desires? Click on the Rafflecopter below to enter for your chance at 1 of 3 paperback copies!

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/521ac4c8663/

Posted on May 1, 2015, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Thank you so much for being part of the tour!

  2. Reblogged this on bevieann61's Blog. about books!!! and commented:
    Love Sophie Barnes!

  3. So I wanted to chime in that this was great. I hadn’t heard of this book and now it’s something I’ll have to look for in future! But also I wanted to say that I had issues with the two of rafflecopter slots. The one said to follow/sign up for the author’s blog for news updates, but I couldn’t find a place on her blog(even checked the website just in case) to do this so I couldn’t complete that section. I also didn’t know what those blog abbreviations for the last section were so I had no idea how to do that one. I did all the ones I could though and spread the word of the giveaway so I hope that helps get the book out there more. 🙂

    • Thank you for your feedback. Regretfully, I do not have control over the Rafflecopter form as I did not create it, but I will let the organizer of the tour know of the problems you experienced.

      This book was a delight and if you do read it, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! =^.^=

  4. Tasty Book Tours

    Thank you for hosting today!