Review: Diary of an Accidental Wallflower by Jennifer McQuiston

Diary-of-an-Accidental-Wallflower-Jennifer-McQuiston (1)

What the Cat Read would like to thank Tasty Book Tours for letting us participate in this event! To see a list of all the blogs involved in the tour, please click on the banner above, murr! =^.^=

DIARY OF AN ACCIDENTAL WALLFLOWERRating: paw4

Publisher: Avon

Date Published: February 24, 2015

Series: Seduction Diaries #1

Goodreads Description:

Pretty and popular, Miss Clare Westmore knows exactly what (or rather, who) she wants: the next Duke of Harrington. But when she twists her ankle on the eve of the Season’s most touted event, Clare is left standing in the wallflower line watching her best friend dance away with her duke.

Dr. Daniel Merial is tempted to deliver more than a diagnosis to London’s most unlikely wallflower, but he doesn’t have time for distractions, even one so delectable. Besides, she’s clearly got her sights on more promising prey. So why can’t he stop thinking about her?

All Clare wants to do is return to the dance floor. But as her former friends try to knock her permanently out of place, she realizes with horror she is falling for her doctor instead her duke. When her ankle finally heals and she faces her old life again, will she throw herself back into the game?

Or will her time in the wallflower line have given her a glimpse of who she was really meant to be?

amazon B&N KoboIcon itunes

Review:

 As the first in a new series by McQuiston, I found this book to be an enjoyable and funny read. There were several moments where I didn’t want to stop reading because I was just having too much fun with the story and its characters. I can’t wait to see what her next book is book is all about. Needless to say, I’ve found a new author to appreciate and I believe fans of historical romance would have a lot of fun this title.

Born amongst London’s Ton, Clare is everything a society lady should be. She knows what she needs to strive for when finding a match and is conscientious of the fact that one false move could destroy her reputation. She knows how to play the game that society requires her to partake in. As a result, I can understand why many people may find her off-putting initially. But Clare is also highly intelligent, unafraid to speak her mind when the topic involves something she is passionate about, and quick to throw out a retort or two for fun. It’s because of these attributes that I instantly liked her despite the fact that there were a couple of times where I wanted to take a swipe at her with my claws because she kept missing the obvious when it was staring her in the face. Likewise I found myself drawn to instantly liking Daniel, but I would find it rather hard to see how anyone wouldn’t like him seeing as he’s a sweetheart who cares about the well-being of his patients. Given how good he is with humans, I must say that I wouldn’t mind a trip to the vet’s if I knew he’d be the one seeing me, murr! Daniel is a driven individual who would rather create something that would help society as a whole rather than make a huge profit for himself, though a steady source of income is appreciated. He’s kind, generous, mischievous in a fashion, and quite charming. Together these two make a perfect pair whose attraction for each other is both believable and enjoyable to watch as it developes within the story.

I also found myself liking a great many of the secondary characters in the story too. Clare’s brother Geoffrey and sister Lucy were wonderful and I truly hope that McQuiston will provide stories for the both of them later in the series. I wanted to applaud Lucy’s desire to not conform to societal demands and I found Geoffrey’s antics to be hysterical and so typical of a young boy. Meanwhile Lady Austerley was fun because she’s both stubborn as hell and not about to let her failing health keep her from enjoying her life. She’s also got some great one liners that left me grinning like crazy. Even though I worried with Daniel that she was pushing herself too far at times, I must admit that there is something to be said about a woman who wants to go out on her terms and not on the terms of someone else. And Mrs. Calbert…oh what can I say about this woman? Well let me just say that as exasperating as she is, she did provide a great deal of comedic relief at times in the book. She’s the typical nosey neighbor, or in this case landlord, who’s both troublesome and a tad lonely.

The only two characters whom I actually had any aversion to were Sophie and Rose. Oh did I want to rake my claws across their perfect snobby noses. Right from the start I could feel my hackles rising in disgust with those two, and I will admit to feeling rather sad about that because of the two, Rose probably could have been a sweet girl, if Sophie hadn’t gotten a hold of her. These two are the perfect societal ladies who are shallow and deserve to be knocked off their high pedestals. And they are why I liked Clare so much, because when compared to these two, she’s not nearly as bad if you understand the game played amongst the Ton.

As for McQuiston’s writing, I easily found myself becoming immersed in the world that she created. Likewise the pacing of the story was fairly smooth and there was only one or two moments where I felt like the story was growing a tad tedious. I would have gladly read this in one sitting if the opportunity was provided. This is one of those books which will pull you in and leave you laughing, sighing, and anxiously waiting for the next in the series to be released.

About the Author:

Jennifer McQuiston PHOTO CMYKA veterinarian and infectious disease researcher by training, Jennifer McQuiston has always preferred reading romance to scientific textbooks. She resides in Atlanta, Georgia with her husband, their two girls, and an odd assortment of pets, including the pony she promised her children if mommy ever got a book deal. Jennifer can be reached via her website at www.jenmcquiston.com or followed on Twitter @jenmcqwrites

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

***Giveaway***

Jennifer is offering one lucky winner an exclusive dairy and print book prize pack! To enter, simply click on the Rafflecopter link below:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/521ac4c8600/

Posted on February 25, 2015, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Thank you for your review. This book is on my books-to-buy list. I’ve read Jennifer’s work before and loved it. This one promises to be even better.

    • This is my second time reading one of her stories, first full book, and I must admit that I’m really becoming a fan. Looking forward to investigating more of her books in the near future. =^.^=

  2. Thank you for hosting DIARY OF AN ACCIDENTAL WALLFLOWER!

  3. Yes, I quite like what I’ve read in the excerpt and blurbs so far about this Accidental Wallflower, Clare. I would’ve been furious, too, if I had sprained my foot just before the big ball where I intended to snare a duke…and seen my friend waltz away with him. But I think Clare is in for a big surprise with Dr. Daniel! Thanks for the post and review. jdh2690@gmail.com

    • I think you’ll definitely enjoy the story. Clare is a wonderful character and like you, I can blame her for being put out over missing a part of the season. But at the same time, if it hadn’t happened, she’d never gotten to meet Daniel, who really is a dream. =^.^=