Review: Born in Blood by Alexandra Ivy

BiBRating: paw4

Publisher: Zebra – Kensington

Date Published: December 31, 2013

Series: The Sentinels #1

Goodreads Description:

In a stunning new paranormal romance series—even edgier than her bestselling Guardians of Eternity books—New York Times bestselling author Alexandra Ivy lures readers into the dark, seductive world of the Sentinels—humans outcast by their hidden abilities, treading the line between life and death, good and evil, pleasure and pain…

Born In Blood

Sergeant Duncan O’Conner has seen it all before. A beautiful erotic dancer is found murdered in her home—no suspect, no motive. But there’s one clue: she’s missing her heart. It’s enough to make the hard-bitten Kansas City cop enlist the help of a necro—one of the dead-channeling freaks who live in the domed city of nearby Valhalla. It’s a long shot, but desperate crimes call for desperate measures.

Unlike the other “high-bloods” in Valhalla, Callie Brown considers her abilities a gift, not a curse. But when she reads the dancer’s final thoughts, she senses a powerful presence blocking her vision. This is no ordinary homicide. This is the work of a legendary necromancer who controls souls. A ravenous force that will put Callie’s skills to the test, O’Conner’s career at risk, and both their hearts on the line…literally.

mg amazon B&N

Review:

The first in an all new series, I must admit that I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Ivy’s newest book. Filled with action, suspense, wonderful characters, and lots of steamy romance, fans of Ivy’s writing will definitely want to check this series out! =^.^=

Callie is a sweet character, but she’s also got a bit of a sarcastic side, which instantly drew me to her. While her friends call her an innocent, I found her to be more cautious rather than naive. She’s certainly a well-shaped character that most readers will easily relate to. O’Conner on the other paw got under my fur at times, especially when he got into pissing matches with Fane. Seriously, why must some authors make their strong men possessive, testosterone filled idiots where other men are concerned? And don’t get me started on his “you will be mine” mentality toward Callie. Nothing can be more of a turn off for me than a guy who automatically assumes that the girl is his. Whatever happened to the art of courtship? Sigh. However, even if I wasn’t overly thrilled with O’Conner as an individual, there’s no question that the fire between him and Callie is hot! They’re good for each other and, in the end, that makes their relationship satisfying.

While Ivy’s main characters where a great pair, the two characters that stood out the most for me were Fane and Serra. I can’t wait to read their story and see what happens between them. They are definitely an intriguing couple, and from what I saw of Fane in this book, I can definitely say he’s my favorite character so far out of everyone involved. Though Wolfe is rather fascinating as well. He definitely raised my whiskers in curiosity too. Dare I hope that a future book will be devoted to him at some point?

The pacing of the story was perfect, and if I’m to be honest, I found it a quick read because of Ivy’s skills at blending the action with the everyday events. I could have easily read it in one sitting. Suffice it to say, I liked the world that Ivy has built, though I will admit that I was expecting something more Norse mythos related when I saw the word “Valhalla.” Instead, this had more of an X-men feel, which wasn’t bad, just surprising.

My only real complaint about the book was that it was predictable. I figured out how the story was going to end long before I got to the big “reveal of truth” moment. As a result, I’d have been happier with a bit more mystery, rather than having the clue given within the first chapter. I ended up reading the book more for the action and characters rather than the actual plot itself, though I was curious to see how Ivy would pull it all together in the end.

Overall, this is a great start to what promises to be a fun and exciting series. I’m looking forward to reading Blood Assassin (book #2 in the series), as well as checking out Ivy’s other books at some point.

Posted on January 15, 2015, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. She’s one I still need to try out. Sounds pretty good. I don’t mind the predictability if the rest of everything is captivating enough. Sounds like she managed that pretty nicely 🙂

    • Predictability depends on what mood I’m in at the time when I figure things out. If I’m looking for an escape that is going to keep me on the edge of my seat and not have my thoughts wondering, then predictability is a bad thing. However, if I’m just looking for a fun read for kill a few hours, then it doesn’t matter. In this particular case, I was looking for an escape and having already figured out the key to the ending, it made me less inclined to want to finish.