RIP WillowWisp

I write this post tonight with a heavy heart. My dearest Willow, who I’ve had since she was a kitten, crossed over the Rainbow Bridge this evening. Lady Bastet, mother of all cats and kittens, felt she needed one of her children home with her at the close of the year. She was one of the greatest cats I’ve ever had and will be deeply missed.

At the time when I started What the Cat Read, the idea of a blog with reviews written by cats seemed like a fun and unique idea. It never occurred to me at the time that I would be writing posts like this, nor that I would be losing two of my girls so quickly. First Buggy (2013) and now Willow (2014). Sara is in good health and I pray that she sticks around for many more years because I just don’t know if I can handle another passing right now.

The blog has been exceptionally quiet this month both because of my hectic work schedule and because I’ve been spending my off time enjoying the holidays and keeping an eye on Willow’s health. At the start of the month she had begun to deal with labored breathing issues and I knew then it was only a matter of time. I just didn’t think it would be so soon. I value quality of life over quantity, and I never want any of the animals in my life to suffer, but this doesn’t mean that I made the decision to let her go easily. It broke my heart to say goodbye, yet I know that she’s in a better place now where she can run, roll in all the catnip she can handle, and curl up with her sisters who have passed on before her.

I want to thank everyone who has been following What the Cat Read since it’s beginning and I hope that you continue to follow it in the time to come. At this moment though, I need to step away from the blog entirely, allow myself to grieve, and rethink how I’m going to be doing things from here on out. There will be our monthly “Can’t Wait for” post tomorrow, but I will not be posting any others save for those that I’ve already committed to later in the month.

Thank you so much for your understanding in this difficult time and hope that everyone has a wonderful New Years Eve/Day.

WillowSnow

RIP Willow

Born: March 22, 2000 –

Passed: December 31, 2014

 

Posted on December 31, 2014, in Updates. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hugs and sympathies to you for your loss. May memories of the wonderful times you shared with your furbaby comfort you at this difficult time.

  2. My deepest condolences.

  3. Such a sweet photo of your little one. I’m so sorry for your loss Cameron. I know how hard that can be and just ache for yall. Sending lots of peace and love from my herd to yours.