Sparks Playlist – A Musical Guest Post by Ashley C. Harris

SparksTour

Today we are thrilled, as always, to have the wonderful Ashley C. Harris join us for a musical guest post that is sure to make your whiskers curl with delight and your tail tapping in enjoyment. Our thanks go to both Ashley and Barclay Publicity for allowing us the opportunity to host today’s post during the Sparks Blog Tour! For all the blogs involved, and for a chance to be entered into the giveaway for this title, please click on the banner above, murr!

ClipArt

SPARKS Playlist:

Linkin Park – A Place For My Head

Book scene: Randy sets flames to the dean’s office plus Spencer goes for a joy ride and “runs into” a small stranger …

This song pretty much just rocks not only for those scenes but for how a lot of the SHOCK ME characters feel stuck in their small town and all their circumstances. When I first wrote this series (I’m talking over ten years ago when I was a teen myself and dreamed of the idea behind the entire series) I listened to Linkin Park a lot, and whenever I hear this song, it takes me right back to my first writings and all the adventures of the characters. Even the lyrics in the song, ‘I want to be in the energy, not with the enemy. A place for my head … ‘ Do you hear those and get the SHOCK ME series connection? Wanting to be in the energy, as in electric energy, not with the enemy … and here I’ve surrounded Donna with enemies, ‘a place for my head.’ We find out in SPARKS what’s been taken from Donna’s head … some very important memories. So yea this song is always a great one when I want to get back into the series and it fits the above scenes perfectly.

Saliva – Rest In Pieces

Book scene: Donna and Ryan’s Christmas dinner and outside discussion …

This song is like the one I’ve described above, when I heard this song as a teen I imagined Donna and Ryan’s entire story from beginning to end. It just fits them because everything between them is broken and in pieces and Donna in the scene stated above, at that Christmas dinner when Ryan confronts her outside, very much wants their past, what they had, to ‘rest in pieces.’

Where her betrayed memories are most safe. She doesn’t want Ryan to do something that will make him seem good in her eyes, things would be to confusing that way. To survive and stay alive she needs to see things as they are, she is the Electrolite and he is a part of the team that tried, and is still trying, to destroy her. That has lied to her her entire life. This song also fits Ryan’s point of view also when you listen to the lyrics because he knows he can’t care for what he thinks is a normal human girl, and I believe he wants to ‘make this go away,’ make his feelings and need to protect her 24/7 go away. It’s not happening.

Fall Out Boys – Light em Up

Book Scene – Donna and Alexis sneak into the hotel where Xander is being held in the city. Music continues into the generator room where there is a massive blackout and it’s time for Donna to once again try to get through Randy.

Well who doesn’t love this song? It thrives on action, on lighting things up and setting them on fire. What song could not be more perfect in my mind when imagining Donna sneaking into a major hotel in a big city, to face off with Randy ‘in the dark’ and try to save someone that’s in an actual cage? The lyrics and rhythm are both equally perfect when it comes to me imagining this scene. Just look at the words: ‘Be careful making wishes in the dark. Can’t be sure when they’ve hit their mark. And besides in the mean, mean time I’m just dreaming of tearing you apart. I’m in the details with the devil. So now the world can never get me on my level. I just gotta get you off the cage. I’m a young lover’s rage. Gonna need a SPARK to ignite. My songs know what you did in the dark. So light ’em up!’

Linkin Park – What I’ve Done & New Divide

Book Scene: Donna verse Ryan on roof top, while at the same time Spencer and Rebecca race to find her, and prisoners of the compound get ready to escape.

Wow, so a lot happens in the above SPARKS scene, and it reflects how I like to write action, with a lot going on and more than one character and conflict on the line (And if you study movie action scenes you’ll see some of the best sequences have a cutting back and fourth between multiple battles, and multiple problems going on at once). If I could make a soundtrack to the above scene, it would be a new mix made from combining the above songs. Again Linkin Park is a great go to for me whenever I want to write or think about the SHOCK ME series and these songs just fit.

Maroon 5 – Through With You

Book Scene: Ryan ends things with Lynn.

‘Can you see me? Floating above your head as you lay in bed. Thinking about everything that you did not do. Cause saying I love you has nothing to do with meaning it.’ This song is just perfect for Ryan and Lynn and the point they’ve gotten to in SPARKS, they are perfect for each other and yet their status does not mean they really love each other one bit. The games Lynn has played with Ryan are coming to an end and she can’t handle this. Can we really blame her, she is written as a villain but really she is the girl whose boyfriend is dreaming about someone else. Who she feels she’ll never be good enough for so she tries to be. Are her and Donna so different? Maybe yes, maybe no. ‘Do you remember the way we used to melt? Do you remember how it felt when I touched you? Oh cause I remember very well. And how long has it been since someone you let in has given what I gave to you? And at night when you sleep do you dream I would be there? Just for a minute or two do you?’

The lyrics in this song just spells everything out perfectly.

Maroon 5 – Tangled

Ryan sees Donna and Cody together.

What a fun moment for Donna fans, for Ryan, the guy Donna sees as the one that rejected her, to see her with someone else. This was much deserved as Donna has had to see Ryan with Lynn for so long. This is another Maroon 5 perfect selection, everything for these characters is so ‘tangled’ and who will untangle their tale? Maybe their worst nightmare. (Yes I just gave you guys a spoiler ;-))

Maroon 5 – Not Coming Home

Book Scene: Donna watching ‘Mr. Silver Eyes’ in her house inside David’s room.

‘Go on misuse me and abuse me, I’ll come out stronger in the end. And does it make you sad to find yourself alone? And does it make you mad to find that I have grown? I’ll bet it hurts so bad to see the strength that I have shown. When you answer the door pick up the phone. You wont find me cause I’m not coming home.’ These lyrics bite, and you may think what do they have to do with a silver eyed stranger and possible enemy coming to Donna’s door and claiming he’s her brother? Well if you’ve read SPARKS you know Donna and this stranger have some kind of gray, traumatic past. And that’s where these lyrics and the beat of the song fits for me, ‘Go on misuse me and abuse me, I’ll come out stronger in the end.’ Donna has finally come out stronger, she has grown up, she does have strength, and as she watches this stranger in her house from outside her brothers windows, from her point of view, this fits. But maybe not from this silver eyed stranger, who could or could not be David Young …

Plus: From SHOCK ME

Florence & The Machine – Breath of Life

Book Scene: Donna verse Randy when trying to escape the power plant.

Every time I hear this song I see that entire scene in my head. It fits the scene from Donna’s point of view because first off, this song is sung by a woman with a killer voice. Florence & The Machine, it’s just fierce music that stirs the soul and when I wrote the scene where Donna has to face off against Randy a fiery foe and almost not come out alive … this song if it had been around when I first wrote this novel would have been a go to for me. Now when I hear it I see this part of SHOCK ME from the novel. It also brings together how she’d been bullied and beaten down, but is trying so hard to do the right thing. ‘Whose side am I on? Whose side am I? And the fever (Randy’s fire) began to spread, from my heart down to my legs. But the room is so quiet, oh! And although I wasn’t losing my mind. It was a chorus so sublime but the room is so quiet, oh! oh! Oh! I was looking for a breath of a life. A little touch of heavenly light. But all the choirs in my head sang (all the doubt and bullies in Donna’s head), No! Oh! oh! oh!’

About the Book:

Sparks9014d-addtogoodreads

Date Released: September 30, 2014

Series: Shock Me #2

Donna Young might still be considered a high school nobody, and an invisible facet to her town, but that doesn’t change the fact that her life is in danger, thanks to her shocking powers. Living secretly amongst the enemy isn’t easy, especially when she used to love the most special of them all: Ryan Applegate.

Ryan’s facade of being the most attractive and richest athlete in town is growing thin. Making his father proud and enhancing his abilities is all he thinks about … that, and Donna Young. She is the childhood crush whom he has been ordered to leave alone. But if he does, then how can he figure out what is wrong with her? And why she looks at him now like he is a monster?

When a dangerous event occurs at the power plant, an new adventure sparks for everyone. Will Donna be able to unlock all the mysteries surrounding those she loves, while fighting to stay alive? Or will Ryan and his team stop her, dooming everything? Only one truth is certain … nobody is who they think they are.

amazon B&N

Other Books in the Series:

(Click on the cover for more info)

SHOCK ME- Novel Cover Collide

About the Author:

Author Photo - Ashley HarrisAuthor and film director Ashley C. Harris resides in Florida. Ashley was first recognized for her edgy writing and unique film work when she wrote and directed the teenage film Lines. Lines was the first feature film in the world captured using only Mac Laptops..

In 2013 Ashley teamed up with Barclay Publicity to release the first title in a new young adult series Shock Me. Ashley then went on to release the first of a new NA series, One Night In Heated Snapshots, that quickly reached Amazon’s Best Selling top ten list for sports romances. It has remained a top ten bestseller ever since.

When she is not dreaming up new books and working on film sets, she loves to spend time with her friends and family. Keep a close watch for Ashley’s newest young adult books releases!

Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Posted on October 22, 2014, in Authors. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sparks Playlist – A Musical Guest Post by Ashley C. Harris.

Comments are closed.