Armchair BEA 2014 – Expanding Blogging Horizons & Novellas/Short Stories

Design credit goes to Nina of Nina Reads

Design credit goes to Nina of Nina Reads

Today’s Armchair BEA topic deals with Expanding Blogging Horizons; the things we’ve done to go beyond just simple blogging. For this discussion, we are once again turning the post over to our human, Cameron, as she is the one who has done the most out of all of us. We shall also be sharing with you all our favorite novellas and short stories. So sit back, relax, and as always, enjoy, murr! =^.^=

ClipArt

Expanding Blogging Horizons

When the idea to first start blogging entered my mind, it was mostly because I was looking for something to do while I undertook searching for a job and as an excuse to put the HTML/CSS skills that I was learning into practice. Since I loved books, had an idea for a review blog theme, and the time on my hands, blogging seemed like a fun thing to do. Plus I’d been hearing from a lot of folks that it was a good idea to have some sort of blog which showcased my writing skills in the event that I ever actually decided to try and get something published later. At the time I never thought it would lead me to a career in publishing.

After a few months of reviewing books, interacting with fellow bloggers and various authors through Facebook and Twitter, a friend of mine suggested the idea of looking into trying to land a job as an editor with a publisher. Since I wasn’t having much luck finding work as an Admin Assistant, I figured why not. Editing was something I always wanted to do, but didn’t think it would be practical because like theater, it’s hard to make a living from it. I always thought of it as a pipe dream. But one day while surfing Twitter, I saw a post for an open position for an editorial intern with Entangled Publishing reading their “slush pile.”  The rest as they say is history. From that one post which I chanced upon while on Twitter, I had my foot in the door as they say. A few months later, Month 9 Books posted that they were looking for editors, proofreaders, etc. I’ve been with both companies ever since and loving every minute of it. And thanks to both of them, I found the courage to start up my own editorial business which launched earlier this year and have had the pleasure to work with both Ashley C. Harris (One Night in Heated Snapshots) and Stephanie Thomas (The Keeper – A Raven Chronicles Novella).

I still blog, but as my girls pointed out in Monday’s post, it’s been more sporadic due to my need to meet editorial deadlines and completing publicity assignments. I’m also still working on improving my HTML/CSS skills in the hopes of some day being able to offer my services to authors as a web designer. But that’s still a few years down the road. As is some day getting a story of my own published. On the plus side, I’ve got a wonderful support network now of both bloggers, authors, and publishers who continue to encourage me to keep striving for my dreams. And to think it all started with just the simple idea of starting a blog. =^.^=

ClipArt

Novellas/Short Stories

Ah novellas and short stories, how we do love them. Sadly we never seem to read very many. Sigh. But of the ones we have read, we’ve read some great ones! So here’s a list of some of our favorites, and of course we have to include the ones that Cameron has been involved in because they really do deserve a shout out.

If you want two wonderful collections of short stories with dark twists, we highly recommend Month 9 Books two charity anthologies: Two and Twenty Dark Tales: Dark Retellings of Mother Goose Rhymes and Very Superstitious: Myths, Legends and Tales of Superstition. Each short story in these anthologies are wonderful, but we will admit to being rather partial to Gretchen McNeil’s short story, Tick Tock, which is found in Two and Twenty Dark Tales. That short story made our fur stand on end, murr!

We’d also recommend Ashley C. Harris’ One Night in Heated Snapshots and Stephanie Thomas’ The Keeper (which releases June 10, 2014). Both authors are very talented and a joy to talk with. And no, we are not just saying that because our human has worked with them. We felines really do feel that these ladies are wonderful. =^.^=

If you like paranormal, and we should point out that this is a genre we LOVE, then we’d also like to recommend Inked, an anthology which features Karen Chance, Yasmine Galenorn, Marjorie M. Liu, and Eileen Wilks, and Strange Brew, an anthology edited by P.N. Elrod which features many of our favorite authors, including but not limited too Jim Butcher, Rachel Caine, and Faith Hunter. For a full list of Paranormal Anthologies which we have enjoyed, please visit HERE!

And for those who like modern-day retellings of classic titles, we highly recommend you check out Jeffe Kennedy’s Master of the Opera series, which is a modern retelling of The Phantom of the Opera. We LOVED this series, murr!

What are some of your favorite novellas and short stories? We’d love to add more to our reading list, so please share yours with us in the comments below. =^.^=

Posted on May 28, 2014, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. That’s a cool career path! I’ve done some freelance copyediting myself.

    I’ve read Superstitions!

  2. That’s so cool! I’ve always wanted to be an editor. So awesome that blogging has allowed you to do that!

    –Brenda @Dailymayo

  3. It’s interesting how short stories have really seemed to have gained steam over the past year, and yet i still never seem to read them.

    • They certainly have picked up quite a bit. Especially in relation to series. It seems as though every new series that has come out in the last three years must have novellas included.
      The biggest problem we have with this sudden influx, the majority of novellas are ebooks and the price to buy them is ridiculous. We’d much prefer waiting for them to come out in an anthology or in a collection of stories from the author.

  4. What a great story. You got to combine your love of books and writing and managed to get a job from it.

  5. What a great way to get into editing. Yes, sometimes all it takes is a chance encounter! I’m Judith, we “spoke” at the Twitter party. Read all about my journey into editing here: http://leeswammes.wordpress.com/2014/05/28/armchair-bea-day-3-expanding-blogging-horizons/

  6. You never know where you will find that door. Also, great suggestions for shorts. Two and Twenty Dark Tales sounds like something I need to check out

  7. How awesome is that story of how you got your job! I became a school librarian shortly after starting a blog and I think it’s really expanded my horizons on different books and social media. Great post!