Armchair BEA 2014 – Introductions & Literature

Design credit goes to Nina of Nina Reads

Design credit goes to Nina of Nina Reads

Ah yes, we had forgotten that it’s that time of year for Armchair BEA! This is our third year doing it and we are really excited to be participating again. For those who are new to this event, welcome, and for those who are returning, it’s great to see you all again, murr! =^.^=

Today’s post will consist of an introduction followed by our thoughts on Literature. So sit back, relax, and enjoy.

ClipArt

Introduction

1. Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging? Where in the world are you blogging from?

Hello, everyone! We’re Sara and Willow, two felines who love to read and talk about books. We’ve live with our human servant and blog maintainer, Cameron, in Southern California. We started blogging three years ago mostly because we wanted to offer the chance to share a feline’s purrspective towards the books and movies that everyone is talking about. Feline opinions are seriously lacking in representation, so we felt it was our duty to fill the gap and hopefully encourage other felines to find the courage to do the same. Lately though we’ve been thwarted in our effort as our human has been monopolizing the laptop for work purposes. While we approve of her completing her assignments and keeping us in kibble, it is rather frustrating because it prevents us from writing our reviews. Still, we are in negotiations for equal sharing of the device and hope to have unlimited access again in the near future.

2. Describe your blog in just one sentence. Then, list your social details — Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, etc. — so we can connect more online.

One sentence description: Two cats reading and reviewing the books they love!

Social Media Links:

Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Goodreads

3. What was your favorite book read last year? What’s your favorite book so far this year?

Sara: My favorite book last year was Come Little Children by D. Melhoff. You can find my review for this title HERE should you wish to read it. The main reason I liked it was that it cause my fur to stand on end. Not many books do this, so when I manage to find one, it immediately ranks within my top favorites. Yeah, I love a good scare, so don’t call me a scaredy cat. As for my favorite read so far for this year, I would have to go with Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. Yes, I read this as a result of the movie that came out last year, and I’m glad I did because it really was an enjoyable book. And I think they did a fantastic job adapting it to film, too, murr!

Willow: Favorite book from last year, huh? I’d have to go with Forsaken by the Others by Jess Haines, book five of her H&W Investigations. This series just gets better with each book and I love the characters. I can’t wait to curl up with Enslaved by the Others. That’s next on my TBR pile. As for my favorite read this year so far, I’d say The Collector of Dying Breaths by M.J. Rose ranks number one at present. It was a fascinating read and I have always been intrigued by the concept of reincarnation. If you’ve not yet had a chance to check out Rose’s Reincarnationists series, I highly recommend you do so.

4. What book would you love to see as a movie?

Sara: Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter. Call me crazy, but I rather like the idea of Alice in Wonderland with zombies, and I think it would make for an entertaining movie.

Willow: Keri Arthur’s Full Moon Rising. Main reason, Quinn. Second reason, it seems like the type of book/series that would do well as a screen play.

5. Share your favorite book or reading related quote.

Sara: “Popular young adult novels notwithstanding, vampires only sparkle when they burn.” – Charming by Elliott James

Willow: “Cheeses crusty, got all musty, got damp on the stone of a peach.” – Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs

ClipArt

Literature

When we hear the word literature, the first thing that pops into our minds is the classics. Jane Austen, Edgar Allan Poe, Charles Dickens, etc. We see it as being separate from fiction. Literature is in our minds the stuff that you read in school, as oppose to the stuff you read for fun in order to relax. Some of our favorite books that fall into this category include The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, The Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo, Les Miserables by Victor Hugo, and The Three Musketeers by Alexander Dumas. We could go on, but we’ll leave it at this for now.

What are your thoughts when it comes to literature? Do you see it as being a distinct genre or do you see it as being inclusive? We’d love to hear your thoughts on the topic, so feel free to share them in the comments below, murr! =^.^=

Posted on May 26, 2014, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This is interesting. My cat, (*Ahem*, master) Finky, loves reading. She’ll sit behind me on the sofa every time I go to read. Your style reminds me of a book I finished just yesterday: “The Devious Book for Cats” by Fluffy and Bonkers. It’s definitely worth a try if you think you’d like parodies. My review for it won’t be up until after BEA, though, because of all the chaos.

  2. I really like MJ Rose’s books too, and thought The Reincarnation was her best yet in that series. 🙂
    Great meeting you!