Willow’s Review of Come Little Children by D. Melhoff

Come Little Children Banner 450 x 169

ComeLittleChildren_DMelhoff_CoverRating: paw5

Publisher: Bellwoods Publishing

Date Published: October 30, 2013

Goodreads Description:

After graduating from the mortuary program at Mount Royal University, Camilla Carleton moves to a secluded town in the northern Yukon for her first job at a family-run funeral home. Her new employers, however, are the town’s most controversial citizens, and when strange occurrences begin happening around the morgue—including late night visits from children who were thought to be dead—she won’t stop until she uncovers the truth behind these paranormal events.

But unraveling the funeral home’s secret is just the start. When Camilla is faced with life and death decisions of her own, she must fight to undo a horrific chain of events while struggling to outsmart a serial killer, save her family, and escape the morgue alive.

amazon

Review:

Where to even start with this review? I’ll be honest and say that of all the books I’ve read this year, this one disturbed me the most, and I loved every minute of it! If you want a story that is guaranteed to creep you out and make your fur stand on end, this is the book for you. I have to give major purrs and tail waves of approval to Melhoff for writing a deliciously chilling tale. I only wish I could give it more than the allotted five paws. =^.^=

There are so many things that I could say about this story, but most of it would giveaway major plot spoilers and well, this is one of those books that you have to experience on your own to fully appreciate the complexity of it all. I enjoyed this book immensely! Melhoff’s skill at pulling the reader into the story and keeping them on the edge of their seat is great. Each chapter is a serious page turner, and while there were times where I felt the story dragged in some parts, by the time I came to the final page I found myself wishing that there was more left to read. I didn’t want the story to end. There were so many great scenes and some surprising plot twists. This truly is an amazing read.

Camilla is one of those characters who you both love and dislike. I don’t really want to use the word hate here, but her actions at times did leave a sour taste in my mouth. She is definitely an emotionally scarred character who is both intriguing and aggravating at the same time. There is no question in my mind that she’s highly intelligent, yet she makes some of the worst choices imaginable and as a result she’s not the only one to suffer in the end. I loved her clinical mind and her passion for science, and I wanted to claw her to death for her curiosity and selfishness. Yet when all is said and done, I had to admire her for taking responsibility for her actions and having the strength to do what was necessary to put things right. I don’t know if I would have been able to do what she does in the end.

As for the Vincents…well, that’s one family I don’t know as I would ever want to be a part of. While I liked Peter, Lucas, Laura, and Uncle Jasper, I really disliked Moira, Brutus, and Maddock. And by the time Abigail arrives in the story, yeah I could have done without the little girl. Seriously, where Abigail is concerned…well you are going to just have to read the book for yourself to find out why she rates high on my creepy as hell list!

I loved that Melhoff included moments of humor in the story. Personally I think all horror stories should have some humorous moments in them. In this particular case the humor is both of the slapstick comedy variety and of the morbid variety. One example of the later is when we are first introduced to Camilla as she is flying towards her destination. She literally analyzes her fellow passengers and tries to figure out which of them would offer her the better chance of survival in the event of the plane crashing in the water. Now the fact that I found this scene to be funny probably says a lot about my mental mindset, but I dare even the most proper of readers to not find some humor in the scene.

Truly if you are a fan of horror, suspense, spine chilling surprises, and morbid humor, then this is a book that you must check out. Believe me, you won’t regret it! I don’t know if Melhoff has plans on writing more books of a similar genre in the future, but if he does, you can be certain that this feline is going to be check them out.

Book Trailer

About the Author:

D Logo_LargeD. Melhoff was born in a prairie ghost town located an inch above the Canadian-American border. He credits King, Poe, Hitchcock, Harris, Raimi, and his second grade school teacher, Mrs. Lake, for turning him to horror.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

***Giveaway***

Want the chance to win one of five paperbacks (US Only) or one of five eBook copies (International) of Come Little Children? Simply click on the Rafflecopter link below for your chance to be entered!

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/ba112f461

Posted on November 27, 2013, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love to be scared/disturbed and totally involved in the book I am reading. This sounds like it might fit.

  2. When will Come little children by D.Melhoff be available in iTunes for iBooks ? Looks like a very good read.

    • Unfortunately, Pamalla, we are unable to supply an answer to your question at this time. There are plans to bring the book to iTunes, Nook, and Kobo, but you would need to contact Melhoff via his website for more information.

  3. Thank you for the response. 😃