Guest Interview with Talia Vance, Author of the Bandia Series

Gold_banner_2

Today we are excited to have the wonderful Talia Vance, author of Gold, the second book in her Bandia series, visiting with us during her Gold Blog Tour. Welcome, Talia, and thank you for joining us, murr! =^.^=

So we felines were wondering, what has been the most exciting thing you have done this year in preparation for the release of Gold?

T.V. – I went shopping for a gold outfit to celebrate the launch.  What can I say?  Like the rest of you felines, I love shiny things.

Who were your favorite authors growing up? Favorite book?

T.V. – As a kid, I loved Charlotte’s Web and read every Encyclopedia Brown book ever issued.  I graduated to Judy Blume and then skipped right ahead to V.C. Andrews, Stephen King and virtually anything with a romantic storyline.  My favorite book is Pride and Prejudice, but now I’m a voracious reader of YA, in all genres.

Would you please describe for us your writing style for us?

T.V. – I’m probably not the best person to answer this question because it’s hard for me to be objective about my own writing.  I know that I love to write stories with romantic tension, strong heroines, hot boys and a dash of humor.

What’s one thing that you know now but wish you knew when you first started writing?

T.V. – The best part of writing will always be the writing itself.  Those moments when I discover something important about a character or story are the moments I experience the most joy.  While getting published and finding readers is wonderful, I’ve learned that I have to find that place where I love what I’m doing no matter how anyone else reacts to it.  As a new writer, it was easy to get caught up in chasing approval from outside, but eventually you learn that the only thing you can control is the work itself.

When you develop your characters, do you model them off of people in your life or do they sort of create themselves?

T.V. – All of the above.  A lot of the characters in the Bandia series started out based on people I hung out with as a teen, but I quickly learned that it was too limiting to base characters on people I knew, and the characters had to take on lives of their own.  Some characters do seem to show up on the page, fully formed, as if they were just hanging out waiting for me to notice them.  Others are harder to figure out, holding their secrets tight until late in the revision process.

What research did you do prior to writing your Bandia novels?

T.V. – I read some books on Celtic gods and goddesses and researched Gaelic words, superstitions and witchcraft.  In addition, I looked up a lot of the science and math in the books (the cause of static electricity, blue fire and various theories of time travel are examples).   For Gold, I had to research Ireland, where the book is set, finding not only a town to stand in as my fictional town (I used Dingle), but photos, tides, average temperature, topography, travel times, train schedules and local businesses.

Describe Gold for us in 150 words or less.

T.V. – Gold is the story of the descendant of an Irish goddess who must end a war between her descendants and the Sons of Killian, earn the trust of her sworn enemies, and stop a god from releasing all of the gods from the underworld at the expense of humanity.  But it’s also the story of a girl who discovers what it really means to love someone, the value of a life well lived, and the potential cost of having both those things. Plus there’s kissing.

When you began writing Gold, did you already have the storyline figured out, or did it shape itself while you were writing?

T.V. – A little of both.  I already had the linear storyline- with Austin returning and Brianna fleeing to Ireland, where a showdown between the Sons and the remaining bandia would ensue.  Portia’s storyline was originally in my first draft of Silver, so I had that too.  And, I always knew that Gold would be Austin’s book, that we would get to know and understand him so much better.  The time travel element was a surprise to me (Austin always surprises me in drafts), but it worked so well with the story I was trying to tell, explaining so much about Austin’s behavior in the first book, that it became a central point of the plot.  When I turned the book in to my editor, the time travel element was the only major point we hadn’t discussed before I wrote it, and the only thing I was sure I didn’t want to change.  Fortunately, my editor loved it too.

Can you please share with us your favorite scene from Gold?

T.V. – I love the scene where Brianna comes into Austin’s study and demands that he kiss her, because it completely surprised me when I wrote it.  I knew that Austin would reject her, and I knew that it would be hard for him to do so, but I had no idea just how far Austin would push it.  After I wrote the scene, I immediately sent it off to my critique partners because I worried that it was too hot to submit to my editor.  They said it was fine, and no one ever told me otherwise, so the entire scene is still in the book, and I still love it.

What three words would you use to describe Brianna?

T.V. – Smart, tough and kind-hearted.

For those who have not yet read Silver, the first book in your Bandia series, could you tell our readers a bit about it?

T.V. – Silver is the story of a girl who discovers she is the descendant of an Irish Goddess too late, after she accidentally binds her soul to her mortal enemy. 

What do you hope readers will take away from reading your books?

T.V. – I hope that they fall just a little in love.

What can fans expect next from you?

T.V. – I am working on some new projects that I’m really excited about, but I can’t talk about them yet.  Definitely more YA with strong heroines, romantic tension and touch of humor.

Fun question time: If you could have written any famous novel, which would you choose and why?

T.V. – Pride and Prejudice.  Then Mr. Darcy would be all mine!

Is there anything else you’d like to share with us?

T.V. – Just a huge thank you for having on me on the blog! 

Thank you so much for joining us! Please know that you are always welcome here at What the Cat Read. ~purrs~

About the Book:

GoldDate Published: September 8, 2013

Publisher: Flux

Series: Bandia #2

addtogoodreads

Descended from an Irish demigod, Brianna has fled to Ireland to escape destruction at the hands of her sworn enemies, the Sons of Killian. Taking refuge at the estate of her former nemesis, Austin Montgomery, Brianna discovers a rift in time that opens to an era before the feud began.

Wrestling with her new found feelings for the more innocent Austin, Brianna begins to wonder if she can alter the past. But when Brianna and Austin learn that the Sons are raising an army of mythical beasts, the pair will need to use their magical strength in the present to avoid a tragic end.

amazon B&N

About the Author:

talia-vance-300Talia Vance is a practicing litigation attorney living in Northern California with her real life love interest, two-point-five kids, and a needy Saint Bernard named Huckleberry. Talia has been writing since she could talk, making up stories for every doll, stuffed animal and action figure she could get her hands on. She grew up hoping to write the great American novel, but her life ran more along the lines of tortured romance and fast paced thrillers, so that’s what she writes.

Website | Blog| YA Muses Blog | Twitter | Goodreads

***Giveaway***

Would you like a chance to win a signed set of Silver & Gold or a signed copy of Gold? Follow the rafflecopter link below to find out how you can enter to win one of these fabulous prizes!

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/e2389b100/

Gold Blog Tour Participants:

Week 1

9/9/2013- My Guilty ObsessionGuest Post

9/10/2013- FiktshunBlake Interview

9/11/2013- Magical Urban Fantasy ReadsGuest Post

9/12/2013- Ravenous ReaderGuest Post

9/13/2013- Taters Tall TailsAustin Interview

Week 2

9/16/2013- Book PicsBrianna Interview

9/17/2013- What the Cat ReadInterview

9/18/2013- Ya SisterhoodGuest Post

9/19/2013- A Book ObsessionInterview

9/20/2013- Two Chicks on BooksAustin Guest Post- Quarters Scene from Austin’s POV

Posted on September 17, 2013, in Authors. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great interview! I’ve loved learning more things about the process and backstage so to speak of Gold!