Sara’s Review of The Forgotten Ones by Laura Howard

ForgottenOnesTourBanner

I’d like to thank both the author, Laura Howard, and Xpresso Book Tours, for letting me read/review this book. For a full list of all the blogs participating in this tour, please visit HERE!

ForgottenOnesRating: paw3

Date Published: April 28, 2013

Series: The Danaan Trilogy #1

Goodreads Description:

Allison O’Malley’s plan is to go to grad school so she can get a good job and take care of her schizophrenic mother. She has carefully closed herself off from everything else, including a relationship with Ethan, who she’s been in love with for as long as she can remember.

What is definitely not part of the plan is the return of her long-lost father, who claims he can bring Allison’s mother back from the dark place her mind has gone. Allison doesn’t trust her father, so why would she believe his stories about a long forgotten Irish people, the Tuatha de Danaan? But truths have a way of revealing themselves. Secrets will eventually surface. And Allison must learn to set aside her plan and work with her father if there is even a small chance it could restore her mother’s sanity.

amazon B&N

Review:

This was an interesting story, but I have to admit that it didn’t draw me in as much as I would have liked. I really wanted to like this book, but it was meh for me.

One of the things that prevented me from getting into the story was that I felt the telling of the story was rushed. We get introduced to a great many characters but there isn’t really a lot of time spent getting to know them (the notable exception is Allison), especially once the Tuatha de Danaan show up. As a result, I felt like I was getting just a basic introduction to the important characters and this made it extremely hard for me to like any of them. Now I’m not saying that the characters aren’t a promising group or that Howard’s writing of them is bad, just that I think she could have spent more time developing them and letting the reader experience them more. And when I say that I found it hard to like them, I mean that I wasn’t finding much that I personally could connect with them by.

At the same time I felt like the entire story was just one quick jump from event to event with very little time to adjust to what was going on. Normally I wouldn’t mind something like this happening in a book as it often makes me feel like the story is an easy, fast read, but in this particular case it only caused me to feel like I was missing moments that were important, even though I knew I wasn’t. I guess I wanted more complexity to the story and more depth to it all. Dare I say that I felt like things were a bit disjointed in this novel?

Having said that, I do think that Howard has the potential to write a really promising trilogy. The overall plot line is a good one and can be taken in a number of directions, thereby allowing for some interesting twists and turns in the future books. And I do enjoy the fact that the story deals with Fairy myths. I’m actually curious to see what Howard has in store for her second installment. And yes, I do intend to read the other books in the trilogy, I just don’t see myself rushing out to read them the moment they are released.

So when all is said and done, this is a “your mileage is going to vary” type of books. If you do decide to pick up this book, feel free to share your thoughts on it with me in the comments below. I’m always open to hearing alternative view points, as long as they are shared respectfully.

About the Author:

LauraLaura Howard lives in New Hampshire with her husband and four children. Her obsession with books began at the age of 6 when she got her first library card. Nancy Drew, Sweet Valley High and other girly novels were routinely devoured in single sittings. Books took a backseat to diapers when she had her first child. It wasn’t until the release of a little novel called Twilight, 8 years later, that she rediscovered her love of fiction. Soon after, her own characters began to make themselves known. The Forgotten Ones is her first published novel.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

***Giveaway***

For a chance to win 1 of 5 ebook copies of The Forgotten Ones or a $25 Amazon Gift Card, please fill out the rafflecopter form which can be found by visiting the link below:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d04251199/

Posted on August 28, 2013, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sara’s Review of The Forgotten Ones by Laura Howard.

Comments are closed.