Willow’s Review of Can’t Help Falling in Love by Bella Andre

I’d like to thank the wonderful folks at Harlequin – Mira for letting me be a part of this exciting tour event! To see a full listing of all the blogs participating, please visit HERE. =^.^=

CHFiLCoverRating: paw4

Publisher: Harlequin MIRA

Date Published: July 30, 2013

Series: The Sullivans #3

Goodreads Description:

Get ready for another Sullivan bad boy to fall in love in the third book of Bella Andre’s bestselling contemporary romance series!

Gabe Sullivan risks his life every day as a firefighter in San Francisco. But after learning a brutal lesson about professional boundaries, he knows better than to risk his heart to his fire victims ever again. Especially the brave mother and daughter he saved from a deadly apartment fire…and can’t stop thinking about.

Megan Harris knows she owes the heroic firefighter everything for running into a burning building to save her and her seven-year-old daughter. Everything except her heart. Because after losing her navy pilot husband five years ago, she has vowed to never suffer through loving – and losing – a man with a dangerous job again.

Only, when Gabe and Megan meet again and uncontrollable flames of desire ignite between them, how can he possibly ignore her courage, determination, and beauty? And how can she deny not only his strong bond with her daughter.but the way his sweetly sensual kisses are challenging her to risk everything she’s been guarding for so long?

This winter, if one – or both – of them aren’t careful, they just might end up falling in love.

amazon B&N

Review:

If I haven’t said it yet, I am really enjoying reading this series. Each book makes me love the Sullivan family more and more. It’s also making it hard to decide which Sullivan is my favorite, because with each introduction to a member of the family, I’m learning more about the rest of the family as well, so just when I think I found my favorite, Andre introduces me to another Sullivan sibling and I find myself wanting to read his/her book in order to find out more about him/her. Tail waves to Andre for keeping me interested in her series of novels! =^.^=

So this book focuses on Gabe, whom we got a brief glimpse of in book 2 and I must say that there is something about the idea of a guy in uniform that makes my whiskers curl in delight. Gabe is wonderful…he strong, dedicated to his job, intelligent, and yes, even a risk taker (given that he is a firefighter, this doesn’t come as much of a surprise). But he’s not one to rush into something without weighing all the pros and cons, something that I figured out about him right away, but took Megan forever to realize sadly. To be honest, there really isn’t anything about Gabe that I disliked. I even loved the fact that he is great with children, as is evidenced by his interaction with Megan’s daughter, Summer. And oh how I loved those moments in the book. I just wish there had been more of them.

Speaking of Megan, while she isn’t my favorite of the Sullivan girlfriends, I did have a great deal of respect for her while reading this book. She’s an extremely strong willed, devoted to her daughter, and determined character. I must offer tail waves to her for raising Summer all on her own while maintaining a full time job! And while I do not particularly agree with her keeping Gabe at bay because of the fear that he could die on the job, I can understand the thought process behind her thinking. Like Gabe, she’s also a bit of a risk taker, and I couldn’t help but smile when she finally admitted this to herself. I really enjoyed the scenes where she allowed herself to break her own rule and let Gabe into her life. It allowed for some very hot scenes…much like the one below in the excerpt. Meow!!

And since I’m on the subject of Megan, I have to say that Summer, Megan’s daughter, was my favorite character in this book, paws down! 7 years old and quite the mischief maker, I loved her. She was absolutely adorable and as far as I’m concern, she stole the show, or text…you get the idea. I’m really looking forward to seeing more of her as these books continue (hopefully Andre will allow her to return in later books ~crosses paws~).

As is always the case with this series, Andre sets up the premiss for next book perfectly. While the main story plot involving Gabe and Megan is playing out, there’s a subplot involving Sophie that is developing as well, and by the end of the book, the stage is fully set for book 4 of the series, I Only Have Eyes for You. And yes, I will definitely be reading that book because I have to find out what happens between Sophie and Jake. Be sure to keep your eyes out for my review of it in Sept! heehee

One other thing that I love about Andre’s writing is how easily I get lost in the story. Once I began reading, I found it very hard to put the book down. Between the action scenes where Gabe is doing his job, the playful scenes involving the Sullivan family and those of Gabe, Megan and Summer, and the steamy bedroom scenes between Gabe and Megan, there’s just so much going on in each chapter, I couldn’t help but keep turning the page just to find out what happened next. Yes, I did the whole “Just one more chapter and then bed” routine with this book. But then I seem to be doing that will all of the books in the series. Notice a pattern here?

Seriously, if after three reviews I’ve not managed to convince you to check out this series, then I don’t know what to say at this point. As it is, I’m trying really hard not go to fanfeline crazy with this series. I can’t wait to read book 4!!

Excerpt:

Wanting her more with every word they spoke about the hot sex they weren’t going to have, he said, “I’d better go now.”
“Yes,” she whispered, “you should go.”
But then, instead of leaving, he was reaching out and pulling her against him, his hands on the swell of her hips. “One last kiss.”
“God, yes,” she gasped out. “One more.”
And then her mouth met his and he was backing her up against the open door, pressing himself into the soft heat of her body, taking, giving, falling deeper under the spell that Megan had woven around him from the very first second he’d seen her.
Her taste was addictive, and so sweet, he couldn’t stop himself from going deeper, from moving from her lower lip to her upper, from pulling her so close that he could feel her nipples pressing into his chest even through their layers of clothes. He moved between her thighs and she opened them for him as he pressed her harder into the wall, her hips moving against his groin, making him harder than he could ever remember being in his life.
Here. He could take her right here. Pull up her skirt, unzip his pants and be in her in seconds, her legs wrapped around his waist.
Somehow, a noise from down the hall broke through the fog of lust clouding his brain. He knew better than to put on a public sex show with Megan when her daughter was only a couple of rooms away.
In sync, they moved apart, both of them breathing hard.
“That was the last one,” she said in a shaky voice. “The very last kiss we can have.”
Somehow, he managed to turn away, to get his feet to move. But with every step that he took away from her, Gabe had a feeling that not kissing Megan again just might prove to be the most difficult thing he’d ever done.

About the Author:

BellaAndreNew York Times and USA Today bestselling author Bella Andre has always been a writer. Songs came first, and then non-fiction books, but as soon as she started writing her first romance novel, she knew she’d found her perfect career. Known for “sensual, empowered stories enveloped in heady romance” (Publishers Weekly) about sizzling alpha heroes and the strong women they’ll love forever, nearly all of her novels have appeared on Top 5 lists at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Apple and Kobo.

Her books have been Cosmopolitan Magazine ”Red Hot Reads” twice and have been translated into nine languages. Winner of the Award of Excellence, The Washington Post has called her “One of the top digital writers in America” and she has been featured by NPR, USA Today, Forbes, and The Wall Street Journal. She has given the keynote speech at Book Expo America on her self-publishing success and has sold more than one million books.

If not behind her computer, you can find her reading her favorite authors, hiking, swimming or laughing. Married with two children, Bella splits her time between the Northern California wine country and a 100 year old log cabin in the Adirondacks.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Posted on August 27, 2013, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.