Interests and My Story Ideas – A Guest Post by Cheree Smith

2013-ShadowEmbracedTourBanner

We would like to thank Cheree Smith, author of Shadow Embraced, and Dark World Books for letting us participate in this wonderful event! Today Amber has written a fun guest post to share with you all. For a full list of all the blogs involved, please visit HERE! =^.^=

ClipArt

Interests and My Story Ideas

Each of my story ideas have come about because I have written about what I am interested in. The idea for Shadow Embraced came to me because I absolutely love any vampire, werewolf or witch movie (well, most of them) that I have seen and I wanted to tackle my own story. When you write it’s always good to write what you’re passionate about.

I have several story ideas that I’m working on at the moment, all revolving around my various interests. One story that I’m working on that is different for me is one that is set in Japan based around Japanese mythology and manga. I don’t know where my interest for Japan started, but I have always had an overwhelming interest in not only the culture and mythology, but also the literature, movies/television and food.

One thing that has always drawn me to the Japanese culture has been anime, as well as Japanese horror. I absolutely love the stories that the Japanese create. This love of the literature/film has also led me towards Japanese food, and since I live in a country town where there are no authentic Japanese restaurants I have taken it upon myself to learn any recipe that I can to cook my favourite foods myself. At the moment my specialty would have to be teriyaki chicken and Japanese sweet curry.

I was so lucky to be able to visit Japan with my brother, not once, but twice. Our trips to Japan have been a mixture of rollercoaster enthusiast (seriously they’ve got some of the best rollercoasters), anime Geek and culture. The last time we went I was able to do plenty of research for the story that will take place in Tokyo, and that included having a go at Japanese karaoke and exploring a manga café.

Writing a story that takes place away from Australia, where I have lived my whole life, is stepping outside my comfort zone, but I have the interest in the culture and have been to the places that my story is set to take place in. Because I have an interest in the Japanese culture and mythology I’ve been able to get some really good ideas and hopefully a good story will come from it.

About the Book:

ShadowEmbraced-Cover_eBookShadow Embraced

(Haven #1)

Published: April 29th 2013 by Dark Cherry Press

No escape.

Those words haunt Scar’s dreams. She thinks the creature that terrorises her while asleep isn’t real, but when she’s abducted and taken to a reform school meant to contain creatures too dangerous to function in society, she starts to wonder whether she isn’t some monster.

She turns to an underground fight club full of vampires, werewolves and witches established by the students to control her urges, and who is she kidding, she loves to fight.

When fighters begin to disappear, turning Scar into the prime suspect, she must race to prove her innocence before her true nature is exposed.

The only problem is that she’s not entirely sure she’s innocent.

addtogoodreads

About the Author:

Cheree-Smith-225x300Cheree Smith lives in a country town in Australia as a high school English teacher where she writes paranormal, horror and dark stories for young adults. She enjoys listening to and learning about legends and myths, watching scary movies and dreaming up new worlds where monsters can come alive. When she is not in her writing cave she can be found listening to music, even dabbling in the occasional writing of music or reading.

Website / Blog / Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads

***Giveaway***

SE-GrandPrize

Cheree is offering 5 swags composed by a gorgeous silver locket, rack card, sticker, button, magnet, and a delightful solid perfume during her blog tour! For a chance to win, click on the Rafflecopter link provided below and simply fill out the form. =^.^=

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/0d08358/

Posted on August 11, 2013, in Authors. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Interests and My Story Ideas – A Guest Post by Cheree Smith.

Comments are closed.