Guest Interview – JA Belfield

caged-blog-tour-buttonToday we are pleased to have the wonderful J.A. Belfield, author of Caged, joining us today as part of her Caged Blog Tour hosted by J. Taylor Publishing. Purrs and tail waves to you, J.A. =^.^=

J.A.B. – *waves back* Very happy to be here. 😀

WtCR: Please share three fun facts about yourself.

J.A.B – Oooh, um … I have a pooch that actually laughs when we do snuggle kissing into her neck just below her jaw; I often get stopped by strangers when out shopping alone with the Mini-Me just so they can tell us how much she looks like me; and I believe garlic bread is the food of the post apocalyptic future—carbs, sustenance, and jacka$$ deterrent all rolled into one.

WtCR – Describe your writing style for us. Are you a plotter or a pantser?

J.A.B – I used to be 100% pantser, but more and more that old devil called plotting is creeping into my stuff. I tend to have a general idea of where I want the story to go. I always know the beginning, and I always know the end, and if there’s going to be any intimate scenes, I always know those before I’ve even started because they help me to understand the character(s) better for some reason. And then anything else that comes to me once I’ve begun gets added in (either complete scenes, random snippets of dialogue, sequence of events) in the right order I want them to happen, and then as I reach those points, they get woven into the tale exactly where I want them.

WtCR – What would you say has been the most difficult part of creating your Holloway Pack series?

J.A.B. – Probably making sure I get the facts right first time—especially if they’re details or plotlines that might appear in a later book, because once they’re out there, they’re out there, and they have to be adhered to. You switch up some rules for your world building you’ve created, and you make yourself look like an amateur who didn’t know what they were doing.

WtCR – Describe Caged in 140 words or less.

J.A.B. – Caged brings pack muscle Ethan Holloway to the forefront, and his efforts to find a missing werewolf he knows. However, not even Ethan can anticipate the force he’ll be up against—one farther from his own realities he could never have imagined it. As a result, he finds himself in a battle for those he cares about, for the female he might love, and possibly even for his own life. To win the war, Ethan has to face what could become an unimaginable future and take on an entire race hell bent on bringing Ethan down just for the fun of it—this just might be a fight to the death.

WtCR – What inspired you to write Caged?

J.A.B. – Well, I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to the pack after writing Blue Moon, and whilst the initial inklings of ideas for the conflict in Caged came to me as Jem’s POV, because that’s who I’d spent the last couple of titles working with, my head refused to write it. It took twelve months for my muse to pipe up and let me in on the secret that I was trying to tackle it from the wrong angle—because it was Ethan’s story to tell, and I couldn’t believe I hadn’t seen it sooner as he was perfect for it. Once I’d figured that out, I knew exactly how it had to play out.

WtCR – When you develop your characters, do you model them off of people in your life or do they sort of create themselves?

J.A.B. – Never. They’re ALWAYS figments of my imagination who start off as whispers, and then occasionally show me themselves talking to someone, and if I pay close enough attention to what they’re saying, I very often spot that there might just be something worth pursuing in their messages (please don’t commit me).

WtCR – Who is your favorite character and which character has surprised you in Caged?

J.A.B – Sean was my seed from which the Holloway Pack grew, and for that, I will always have a HUGE soft spot for him.

As for the character who surprised me the most in Caged, I’d have to go with a new character readers will meet called Brook. Whenever I write side characters, I never anticipate their greatness, because I simply write them as they sound in my head. It always takes other folk to point out that I’ve brought something awesome to the table.

WtCR – Name three words that would best describe Ethan.

J.A.B. – Strong. Protective. Territorial.

WtCR – Can you share one of your favorite scenes in Caged with us?

J.A.B. – I never really have ‘favourite scenes’ from any of my books. I have scenes that were more fun to write, scenes that were more emotional to write, scenes that I sweat blood and tears to get to the other side of. So rather than try to figure out which scene is my favourite (because that’s impossible to me), I’ve decided to share a tiny tease from a bit farther into the book than has been publicly shown before now. Hope you like it:

Almost at a jog, I passed the baker’s and rounded the corner.

A handful of pedestrians trekked about, a few with plastic bags hanging from their fingers, a young couple with their hands linked as they dawdled on their uphill stroll.

I counted the heads, checking the hair colours. None of them matched the one I’d followed.

I released Kyle’s shirt, and took a few steps forward. With flared nostrils, I swept for hidden surprises. A quick listen assured me Kyle’s steps echoed mine at my rear, and I continued on.

Only a few strides farther, I spotted the alleyway to the right. Set back from the road, its stone walls created a domed tunnel. Light stretched through as if trying to unite with that which spilled in from the far end but didn’t quite accomplish it. The shadows within held nobody I could see, yet I still turned that way.

Behind me, Kyle ended his call and closed in on my heels. As he came to my left shoulder in the entrance to the alley, I hesitated and inhaled for evidence the guy had passed through.

Hundreds of odours accosted my senses. None stood out.

“He go this way?” Kyle asked.

“Where the hell else could he have gone?”

He brushed my arm. “We going through?”

“I am.” I sent him a quick glance. “You have my back?”

“You need to ask?”

I ventured into the stone tunnel.

WtCR – What can fans expect next from you?

J.A.B – Well, Holloway Pack 4: Unnatural is scheduled for release in April 2014, and whilst I’ve been keeping schtum for a long time over which Holloway Pack member will be fronting the book, all will soon be revealed along with the cover on September 18th.

As for what to expect after that? Well, I might be trying to squeeze something a little different in between Unnatural and the next Holloway Pack.

WtCR – If you could have written any famous novel, which would you choose and why?

J.A.B. – Ach, what a difficult question. Um … Can I go for an entire series and say the Black Dagger Brotherhood? Man, those books are like woman’s guilty pleasure and inexplicable addiction all rolled into one.

WtCR – Is there anything else you’d like to share with us?

J.A.B – I think folk mostly know what there is to know—though I will tell any Holloway Pack fans to keep an eye open on my birthday on September 10th. I have a cool contest scheduled to go live—and it involves Holloway Pack #5. 😀

WtCR – Thank you again J.A. for joining us today! =^.^=

***

About the Book:

caged-paperback-finaldraft

addtogoodreadsblack

Description:

If the meek can become deadly, the strongest can be weak.

For Ethan Holloway, his mission to find a missing werewolf should be simple. Crack a few heads, bust a few chops and the solution always reveals itself. Always.

Not this time.

Ethan’s reputation precedes him, and because it does, someone is ready. Waiting. Unbeknownst to Ethan, he’s about to go down. Hard. Against a foe he never suspected and in a world he never imagined could be real.

What awaits Ethan is a fight not only for his reputation, but also his pack, his female, and his life. If he survives, damage control will become priority number one.

If he survives.

Because even Ethan’s not sure he’s strong enough to take on an entire race all by himself.

Especially one hell bent on exposing who and what he is in the name of sport.

amazon B&N

~~~

BlueMoon: Holloway Pack 2

During the Caged Tour, Blue Moon: Holloway Pack 2 is on SALE!

Grab YOUR copy for only $.99 at the following stores:

amazon B&N

Excerpt:

“… from the Shropshire area. Following Carly McDowd’s disappearance on the fourth, and Andrew Doherty’s on the seventh, this is the third incident this month …”
I turned from the square-jawed newswoman on TV to Dad, where he sat in his corner armchair.
His attention remained on the screen, a frown across his brow.
“… the duo of friends were first reported missing late last night by their parents, after they discovered neither of the teenagers …” The newscaster’s voice infiltrated once more.
Images of a couple of lads flashed side by side on the screen. The one on the left had the appearance of any late teen, with shaggy overgrown hair and the twinkle of mischief in his expression.
From the other image, brilliant blue eyes stared out at me from beneath a shock of pale blond curls.
“Oh, shit!” I pushed to my feet, took a step forward. “That’s …”
“Nineteen year old Gabriel Lewis was believed by his mother to be staying at Colum Delaney’s since Friday evening, whilst Colum’s parents …”
Dad stood, his fingers retracting his mobile from his jeans pocket as I worked my own out. He paused, nodded to me. “Go on. You make the call, Ethan.”
Shelley Lewis’s number had been saved in my phone book since the beginning of the year, right after we met for the first time. I hit dial and paced to the window. September sunshine, of the early morning variety, blinded me as my phone rang.
It took only a few trills for her to answer. “Ethan?” Her voice held hope, as well as a heavy weariness and the thickness of tears.
“Is it true?” I’d promised to support her—a lone parent, a female no less, raising a werewolf son with no guidance. So far, I’d delivered on that promise.
The sob hitting my ear gave confirmation enough. “Oh, Ethan.”
“Hold tight, Shelley. I’m on my way.”
“I’ll come with you,” Dad said, as I hung up and spun to him. “Shout Sean, too—in case we need to do any scouting. I think I heard him stir upstairs.”
“What about Connor’s lot?” The Larsen’s made up the other half of our eight-wolf pack, but lived separately to us on the south side of the forest.
Dad shook his head. “I’ll update Connor whilst you deal with Sean—”
“And Jem?” I asked with a lifted eyebrow.
Dad’s lips twitched, but he continued as though he hadn’t noticed my reference to his buck-passing. “Just the three of us will go. Connor and his boys can spend the morning here and stay close to Jem and your mother unless we need them.”

Book Trailer:

About the Author:

JABelfieldOne day, a character and scene popped into J. A. Belfield’s head, and she started controlling the little people inside her imagination, as though she were the puppet master and they her toys. Questions arose: What would happen if …? How would they react if …? Who would they meet if …?

Before she knew it, a singular scene had become an entire movie. The characters she controlled began to hold conversations. Their actions reflected the personalities she bestowed upon them. Within no time, they had a life, a lover, a foe, family … they had Become.

One day, she wrote down her thoughts. She’s yet to stop.

J. A. Belfield lives in Solihull, England, with her husband, two children, four cats and a dog. She writes paranormal romance, with a second love for urban fantasy.

She also book blogs over at Bookaroo-Ju.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

***Giveaway***

Click the Rafflecopter link below for your chance to be entered into the giveaway for one of these fabulous prizes!

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/YWJhZmM5ZDIwYzhkN2NmZWFlZWNmYjcwOGZlYjA4OjIz/

caged-1st-prize

caged-2nd-prizecaged-3rd-prize

Posted on August 7, 2013, in Authors. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you SO much for having me on the blog today–and please thank the pussy cats, too. ♥

  2. Thanks for sharing the great interview and the giveaway. I am looking forward to reading this book. evamillien at gmail dot com