Read Along: The First Day by Rhiannon Frater – Week Two

FirstDays

Chapters 4-7

Yesterday was the second week of the read along for Rhiannon’s book, and I’ll admit that I flaked on getting this post finished in time for yesterday’s discussion. The reading was completed, but my mind was off dealing with other things and since I had multiple posts that needed to go up for Thursday, I decided to wait until today to post my thoughts on the reading.

So, where do I stand on the novel thus far? Well, I still really like Jenni! She’s gone from being a rather insecure, brow beaten character, to a kick ass, zombie killing machine. The jury is still out on whether I like Katie or not. By the end of this week’s reading my respect for her had grown, but while I think she’s a good character, I’m still not connecting with her as I would like. I think part of the reason I’ve connected with Jenni faster is because she went from being scared witless to realizing she has to do whatever it takes to survive in this new world, whereas Katie still doesn’t want to kill unless it is absolutely necessary. Katie strikes me as being tough as nails one moment and then a bit too kind-hearted the next, a trait that could easily get her killed if she isn’t careful. And okay, if I’m to be really honest, I’m waiting for the moment when my views on Jenni do a complete 180. By this I mean, I have an annoying habit of instantly liking a character only to discover later on that I was entirely wrong about them and they aren’t as stellar as I thought. I’m not saying that this is going to happen with Jenni, but I’m prepping myself just in case. Because like I said, by the end of this week’s reading my respect towards Katie increased and I am looking forward to seeing what happens with her in the following week.

One thing that I noticed, and found rather jarring, with this week’s reading was that Frater kept jumping between Katie and Kate when ever she was referencing Katie in the book. It was really noticeable towards the end of Chapter 7. While a part of me is tempted to skim back through the previous chapters and see if this happens anywhere else, another part of me is hoping this was just a fluke and not something that will happen the rest of the book. Yes, I get easily distracted when the name of a character changes while I’m reading. Sorry.

Favorite Quote:

The first of the zombies scrambled past the wrecked cars and onto the road. The immediately charged the truck.

“We’re meals on wheels,” Jenni said with a bitter laugh.

“Chewy center is what it’s all about,” Katie said gloomily. – Page 91

***

After talking with Danielle, Book Whore, we decided to add to our weekly reading musings and included a top ten list of our favorite zombie related entertainment. So here’s my list of…

Top Ten Favorite Zombie Books/Movies/TV Shows

1. Zombieland – When I first saw the previews for this movie, I thought for sure I was going to hate it. However, after a friend talked me into watching it, this movie rapidly became my ultimate favorite in zombie entertainment.

2. Warm Bodies – I’m a bit more partial to the book rather than the movie, but I feel the movie is a fun adaptation and worth the watch if you aren’t the type of like to read.

3. Cabin in the Woods – Okay, it’s not exactly a zombie only horror movie, it’s more like an homage of all the horror movies ever created, but I have to give props to Joss Whedon for creating one hell of a damn good movie!

4. ParaNorman – Enjoyable movie that has a little something for viewers of all ages.

5. Fido – It’s a cute movie.

6. The Zombie Survival Guide by Max Brooks

7. Dearly Departed by Lia Habel

8. Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

9. Pet Sematary by Stephen King

10. The Crow – Okay, I know some folks would say this wasn’t a zombie movie in the classic sense, but I think it merits being mentioned. That and I loved Brandon Lee as Eric Draven!!

Not a favorite, but it would be remiss of me not to mention it:

Pride, Prejudice, and Zombies – I have a serious love/hate relationship with this book. On the one hand I love Jane Austen and found the idea behind this book interesting and a bit humorous upon seeing it. On the other hand, after having read it, I couldn’t separate myself from the original text and found myself cringing in dismay with each chapter I read.

***

To see Danielle’s thoughts on this week’s reading, click HERE!

Posted on August 2, 2013, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m with ya. I am not a fan of Katie but I think she balances Jenni. I did get a bit confused when the author jumped backand forth bbetween characters. In fact I actually had to go back and read to realize which character it was I liked because the switch over wasn’t smooth. I love your zombie list!!