Guest Interview with Shannon Delany, Author of Weather Witch

WeatherWitchBanner

Today we are pleased to have the wonderful Shannon Delany, author of Weather Witch, joining us today. Purrs and tail waves to you, Shannon. =^.^=

S.D. – Hello and thank you very much for the warm welcome!

Please share three fun facts about yourself.

S.D. – I love art, writing, and music nearly equally, though it’s best I just enjoy others performing music rather than doing it myself!

I write based on many of my own experiences.

Writing is not just my job, it’s one of my favorite things to do!

Describe your writing style for us. Are you a plotter or a pantser?

S.D. – I’m a mix of both. I do some mild plotting, write like crazy and then stitch up details of plot during a later stage of writing and revisions.

Describe Weather Witch in 140 words or less.

S.D. – A battle between a young woman of privilege and the rest of society decides if equality is possible.

What inspired you to write Weather Witch?

S.D. – Everything from my love of weather to my desire for equality among all people went into the inspiration for Weather Witch.

When you develop your characters, do you model them off of people in your life or do they sort of create themselves?

S.D. – Rowen (like aspects of Pietr from 13 to Life) was created as the result of a reader poll I did on Facebook to determine his physical characteristics.

Who is your favorite character and which character has surprised you in Weather Witch?

S.D. – Jordan is my favorite because I know what I’m putting her through to get her to grow and Bran surprised me most by stepping out of the shadows and telling me how important he was.

Name three words that would best describe Jordan.

S.D. – Clueless, struggling, changed.

What would you say has been the most difficult part of creating Weather Witch?

S.D. – Mainly the timing. Having all three books due before the first one came out was a new experience for me.

Can you share one of your favorite scenes with us?

S.D. – I love several scenes in this book–one of my favorites is the tea scene with Caleb. It’s simple and not what we’d think of as an important moment–but it defines Jordan in a way.

What can fans expect next from you?

S.D. – That’s a great question! Very Superstitious (a charity anthology supporting the Humane Society) comes out in October, Stormbringer hits stores January 2014, then the third novel in the Weather Witch series comes out (also in 2014). Other than that, I’m doing some special projects with Month9Books and pitching new things to my editor.

If you could have written any famous novel, which would you choose and why?

S.D. – I’ve never even thought about that–I guess I just feel my stories are my stories and other people’s stories are their stories… Besides, every book I write is famous in my son’s opinion, and that’s famous enough for me.

Is there anything else you’d like to share with us?

S.D. – Here’s the first book trailer!

Thank you again Shannon for joining us!

S.D. – Thank you for hosting me!

About the Book

WeatherwitchIn a vastly different and darker Philadelphia of 1844, steam power has been repressed, war threatens from deep, dark waters, and one young lady of high social standing is expecting a surprise at her seventeenth birthday party–but certainly not the one she gets!

Jordan Astraea, who has lived out all of her life in Philadelphia’s most exclusive neighborhood, is preparing to celebrate her birthday with friends, family and all the extravagance they might muster. The young man who is most often her dashing companion, Rowen Burchette, has told her a surprise awaits her and her best friend, Catrina Hollindale, wouldn’t miss this night for all the world!

But storm clouds are gathering and threatening to do far more than dampen her party plans because someone in the Astraea household has committed the greatest of social sins by Harboring a Weather Witch.

addtogoodreadsblack

About the Author

Shannon Delany has been writing fiction since she was a child. Inspired by a teacher in 4th grade and the creative endeavors of her parents, she was frequently encouraged to find her voice. First published in 8th grade in a short story anthology, she caught the writing bug for good and used her teen friends as beta readers but it wasn’t until after being a middle school teacher that she pursued writing seriously. She freelanced for magazines and newspapers and then won the first-ever cell phone novel contest in the western world with 13 TO LIFE. An agent and a press release followed quickly and she was snapped up by St. Martin’s Press where she has happily remained through 5 novels in the 13 TO LIFE series and three novels in the WEATHER WITCH series. She also contributes to charity anthologies, has a small heritage farm and a blog talk radio show called BOOKED! with Shannon Delany.

Posted on July 8, 2013, in Authors. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Guest Interview with Shannon Delany, Author of Weather Witch.

Comments are closed.