Willow’s Review of Altered Frequency by Joya Fields

AF Banner

I’m thrilled to be a part of the ALTERED FREQUENCY Blog Tour! For a full list of all the blogs participating in this event, please visit HERE! =^.^=

***

Altered_Frequency1600x2400Rating: paw4

Publisher: Decadent Publishing

Date Published: May 17th 2013

Series: Haunting at Inner Harbor

Goodreads Description:

After losing her father and brother in the line of duty, Missy Prescott vows never to get involved with anyone who has a dangerous job. Blessed with a golden voice, she takes a job as a disc jockey with her own late-night lovelorn dedication show on a popular radio station in Baltimore.

Blake Decker has never had a family. He has come to count on the only family he knows—his brothers on the police force. He’s a one-night-stand kind of guy when it comes to relationships.

Betty McAllister, the caring woman who used to live in Missy’s apartment, is now a ghost. She refuses to cross over until Blake—whom she viewed as her own son—is happily in love. She thinks Missy is the perfect girl for him.

Missy and Blake need to keep each other at a distance as they work together to help Betty find a way to cross over. But when danger lurks, will Missy and Blake lose everything?

Review:

This was a really sweet and amusing story. As my first foray into Fields’s writing, I can definitely say that I will checking out the first book in this series at some point. I do love me a good paranormal romance, and this was definitely a good paranormal romance. =^.^=

Missy and Blake are two characters who definitely have issues that they need to work out, but then who doesn’t? She doesn’t want to fall for a guy who’s job puts his life at risk, and he doesn’t want to trust his heart to someone who wants more than a one night stand after his last relationship was a disaster. Because of this issues, it was really easy for me to relate to both characters immediately upon being introduced to them. I have to give serious purrs to Fields for her talent at creating believable characters. And I also have to admit that both of them are perfect for each other. The relationship between both Blake and Missy is instantly hot, though both try hard to not act upon their impulses. Watching them connect and overcome their own personal barriers made for a very satisfying read.

By far though my favorite part of the story involved Betty! I just couldn’t get enough of this precocious, loveable, mischievous ghost. There are so many memorable scenes with her, she literally stole the show as far as I’m concerned. I only wish that I had a ghost like her living around the house. Heehee. I think my favorite scene with her though was when the power in the building goes out and Betty decides that it’s high time Blake and Missy get to know each other better. If you want to know what I’m talking about, get a copy of this story for yourself and give it a read, I promise you won’t be disappointed.

About the Author:

JOYA-JPGJoya Fields has had over 100 stories and articles published in local and national magazines and her debut novel, BENEATH THE SURFACE, a romantic suspense, released in January, 2012. LOVE DELIVERED, a romantic comedy, is also now available.

Over the years, Joya has taught arts and crafts, worked in public relations, owned a daycare center, helped her children raise prize-winning 4-H livestock, competed in three marathons, and even spent a year as a Baltimore Colts cheerleader. Joya loves spending time with her high school sweetheart/husband of over twenty years, two very supportive children, and a pug who follows her everywhere.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Blog Giveaway:

As part of this event, Joya is offering one lucky winner who visits the blog today a chance to win a set of trading cards designed for the book! To be entered into this giveaway, simply leave a comment below, along with your email address, and tell me if you’ve ever experienced a haunting before. I will select a winner using Random.org on July 1st. =^.^=

Tour-wide Giveaway:

Also as part of this event, Joya is offering up a $25 Amazon or B&N Gift Card! Simply follow the Rafflecopter link below and fill out the form for you chance to be entered:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/NmU0NzZhNDU2ZTQ4YWU2MGQwYTFjOGUzM2IzZjY4OjM0/

Posted on June 22, 2013, in Book Reviews, Contest. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you so much for taking time to read Altered Frequency and for this awesome review! I’m so glad you liked the story. LOL about Betty. She was really fun to write and I agree that I’d like someone like her around my house, too. 🙂