The Perfect Hero – A Guest Post by Jessica Lee

undyingdestiny-blogtour

Today we are pleased to have Jessica Lee, author of Undying Destiny, with us for a special guest post! To see all the blogs participating in the tour, and for your chance to be entered into the giveaway for a $50 Amazon Gift Card, please visit HERE! =^.^=

***

What’s Your Idea of the Perfect Hero?

By Jessica Lee

When I sat down to write my first novel I knew exactly what I wanted: an alpha male vampire.   Nothing else would do.  Certain members of my family often beg me to please write something different. “A sweet, contemporary mystery would be so nice, Jessica.”

They don’t understand my love for sharp-fanged paranormal creatures who are aching to go for your jugular. Why would I want to write anything else?   I love that part. Vampires are so darn sexy. All that hunger. Nipping. Lusting—er, um, I mean blood lust. All that desire just gets your own blood pumping. Don’t you agree?

And don’t they epitomize, in most cases, the perfect tortured soul?

Those alpha males make the most delicious heroes. You yearn to be the one woman who can awaken his heart and ease his pain. You want to be the only person in the world he reveals his soft side to, and the one woman he would fight to the death to protect. Sigh. Yes. This is my kind of hero.

I also believe it’s the mystery about the vampire that compels me. He only comes out at night and hides in the shadows.   A tormented soul that beckons to be rescued.  And don’t we all want to save him.  Show him the love that no one else ever has, even if he’ll go all crispy in the sunshine.   

I was the girl during the old vampire movies who cheered for Dracula.  I wanted him to escape with his queen. Heck… who am I kidding? I wanted to be his queen. Sunshine is over-rated.

What is your idea of the perfect romance hero?  What characteristics in a hero hit every one of your hot buttons? Is there male protagonist from a particular book that stands out in your mind?

***

About the Book:

UndyingDestinyTitle:  Undying Destiny

Author: Jessica Lee

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Release Date: June 2013

Imprint: Edge

Kenric St. James is out for revenge. Over 300 years ago, an ancient female vampire turned him against his will and killed the woman he loved. He’s spent more than a century building an Enclave of warrior vampires who have sworn to defend humanity against his evil sire and her minions. But when Kenric finds a woman he finally burns to claim as his own again, Kenric knows loving her means giving his sire another target.

Emily Ross just wanted a fresh start. She’s a survivor, coming off the tail end of an abusive relationship, and craves time alone to learn who she is and to save the home that holds her heart. The last thing she needed was a controlling, alpha male calling all the shots.

Meeting Kenric might just have changed her mind, though. He is wrong for her in all the right ways. But in order to keep her heart from breaking, he first has to keep the hoards of evil vamps from stealing her very breath.

amazon  B&N

About the Author:

JessicaLeeAlmost every author’s bio states they’ve been writing since they learned how to read. It’s what they’ve always wanted to do. Well, my journey wasn’t so straight and narrow. I was a nurse for over twenty years and hold a bachelor’s degree in science with a major in biology. So as you can see, my career path had originally gone in the opposite direction. I didn’t discover my passion for the craft until after I’d had my son and decided to work part-time.

I’ve always loved to read but had never read a paranormal romance. Then one night at work on break, I began reading Karen Marie Moning’s Spell of the Highlander. I couldn’t believe what I’d been missing, and I immediately fell in love with the genre.

I wanted to write like that. I wanted to create worlds where others could find the same escape and fascination I did when I read my first sensual paranormal romance.

And I hope that’s what I’ve accomplished in my work. Please dive in, hold on tight, and enjoy the adventure. Just be careful in the dark—you might find more than you expected waiting for you there.

Jessica Lee lives in the southeastern United States with her husband and son. She loves writing and can’t wait for that quiet time each day when her son is in school, and she can get lost in another place and world with the fantastical, sexy creatures in her head.

She’s a member of Romance Writers of America Carolina Romance Writers.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Posted on June 20, 2013, in Authors. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I love the alpha male too, but not too self absorbed and pushy with those alpha tendencies. One must have, a sense of humor. Sparks flying! ,

  2. I’ve met a few good vampires, but I always had an issue getting past the blood and darkness part. 😀 I do love a shifter, though, when it comes to PNR.

    mostly, I love an alpha hero who doesn’t treat the heroine with kid gloves. I love when the hero acts tough and can even be somewhat distant, but really it’s just the male way of loving the heroine. Of knowing she’s strong enough to take it. And, of course, in softer moments… well, he’s overwhelmed by love.

    I love a guy who doesn’t know how to handle that. It’s sweet.
    Congrats on your book. Awesome cover. 🙂

  3. Hi Jessica. My perfect hero must love his partner unconditionally. He can be alpha without being controlling; he can be strong but without fearing to cry; and he must be ready to defend his mate at all costs.

    Acheron is the best example I see for the perfect mate!! He would die to save Tori.

  4. Hi, Jessica!
    The perfect hero is fierce, strong, flawed but has a code of honor that’s important to him–even if others don’t understand it or it isn’t particulary popular–sexy as all get out, passionate and willing to destroy the world for the woman he loves. Some of my perfect heroes are Zsadist for the Black Dagger Brotherhood, Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Zerek, and Nalini Singh’s Kaleb. Love ’em! All of them could really be considered anti-heroes but it’s the merciless, cold sides that make them hard-core but also willing to stand between the world and the women they love.

    Awesome post!

  5. Thanks so much for the opportunity to guest on What the Cat Read! I really appreciate it. It was awesome! 🙂