Sara’s Review of Poison by Molly Cochran

Poison Blog Tour Banner

I’d like to thank fellow bloggers, Shannon and Lisa, along with the author, Molly Cochran, and Simon & Schuster for letting me be a part of the Poison Blog Tour! For a full list of all the blogs participating, and for a chance to be entered into the giveaway for a SIGNED copy of Legacy AND Poison, an ARC of Seduction + Outtakes from the photo shoot for Selection, please visit HERE!

PoisonRating: paw3

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Date Published: December 4th, 2012

Series: Legacy #2

Goodreads Description:

Arthurian legend mixes with modern-day witchcraft in this haunting sequel to Legacy, which Publishers Weekly said “should please the legions of paranormal fans looking for a sophisticated supernatural thriller.” After the riveting—and romantic—events of Legacy, Katy has won Peter’s heart and is now claiming her place in the magical world. Though half the students at her boarding school come from witching lines, the use of magic is expressly forbidden at Ainsworth, so as to keep the witching world hidden from the blue-blooded preppies, aka Muffies, who also walk the halls.

But the Muffies have at least a notion of magic, because Katy catches them staging a made-up ritual—and to her astonishment, the girls collapse at Katy’s feet and fall into comas. When Katy is blamed, she becomes desperate to clear her name and finds herself battling all odds to harness her growing magical powers in order to save the Muffies and dispel the Darkness once more.

Amazon, B&N, Indie Bound, Book Depository

Review:

Have you ever really been looking forward to reading a book only to discover it wasn’t at all what you were expecting it to be? I’m sure for most of you this happens frequently, so it probably doesn’t seem like a big deal. But I for one, really hate when it happens to me, especially when I can’t exactly put my claw on what it was that didn’t thrill me. This really was a hard story for me to get into, there’s simply no other way for me to describe it. I tried to like it, and there were elements to the book that I did in fact enjoy, but overall this was a meh story for me. And before anyone ruffles their furr and feels like hissing, please allow me the chance to try explain/share my thoughts here.

I really enjoyed the Arthurian legend tie-in and I loved the new characters that were introduced in this book. This is what eventually sold the book for me and pushed it away from the dislike column and into the like side. Morgan was fascinating and I loved her backstory. Bryce was also a lot of fun. His introduction to Katy left me smirking because I could easily picture him in his clothing and manners and it didn’t take me all that long to figure out who he was in the grand scheme of things. The overall development of their plot line was well done and it kept me reading past the point when I should have gone to bed. I think had the book started off immediately with Morgan and Bryce, rather than with the problems Katy was having at school, I’d have enjoyed the book more than I did because the appearance of both these characters is when things finally began to get interesting.

What didn’t work for me?

The first 100 pages of the book. They completely threw me and I almost didn’t want to keep reading. I felt lost when I first started and actually stopped in order to see if I’d missed something…some sort of novella or short story which fell between this book and the previous one in the series. It felt like this book had been written by someone other than Cochran, herself. It simply wasn’t working for me. But, seeing as I’m not the type of feline who stops reading a book simply because it doesn’t grab me initially, I kept on reading, and eventually the story did grab me. It’s just a shame that it took well over 100 pages to do so.

Also, I was rather shocked to see Katy go from the strong character that she became at the end of the first book back to the rather weak, insecure girl she was when I was first introduce to her. She was once again a social outcast and it made very little sense why this was happening. I honestly couldn’t see her being alienated by her classmates again…at least not by everyone…and the reason for it didn’t fit with what I had learned about the school from the first book. Yeah, I guess one could assume that practicing magic at the school would be frowned upon given that some of the students there weren’t magical, but not once was ever mentioned in the previous story, and if it was then I obviously missed. It really felt out of place to me and seemed to come out of nowhere. And as if that wasn’t enough, Katy’s insecurity about Peter and her pity party over being alone on a Saturday night, not to mention her pity party in general, drove me crazy! This was not the Katy I had come to love from book one.

And Katy wasn’t the only one who had changed from the first book. Miss P, a character that I liked wasn’t at all the sweet woman that she was when I first met her. She actually struck me as having it out for Katy during the first half of the book, which really rubbed my fur the wrong way. And Hattie also was different. Her hot/cold attitude from book one was much more pronounced this time around, which killed my liking for her. In truth, most of the characters in the book felt off to me for one reason or another. I’m not sure how much of it was the result of the book on a whole, or the fact that they really were different from their original introductions, but something really just felt off the entire time I was reading.

Now having said all that, as I stated before this book did eventually win me over…but I still didn’t like it nearly as much as I did Legacy. However, like Legacy, this was a fast read once I got into the story. Events happen quickly and the new aspect of her magic that Katy discovers keeps things from become stale where her powers are concerned. It’s not the same magic as before, so just as Katy grows so does her magic.

Overall, I have to say that this is a Your Mileage Will Vary book, even for me. And by that I mean, I could pick this book up later down the road and find that everything I originally felt was off actually was fantastic. But that just wasn’t the case for me with this first reading. I liked it…I didn’t love it and I didn’t hate it. It was simply, okay.

About the Author:

Molly-2010Molly Cochran, author of the teen paranormal romances LEGACY and POISON, has written 26 published novels and four nonfiction books under her own name and various pseudonyms. Her books include New York Times bestselling novels GRANDMASTER and THE FOREVER KING, coauthored with Warren Murphy, and the nonfiction DRESSING THIN, also a NY Times bestseller. She has won awards from the Mystery Writers of America (Best Novel of the Year), the Romance Writers of America (Best Thriller), and the New York Public Library (Outstanding Books for the Teen Age).

SEDUCTION, the third installment in the LEGACY series, is scheduled for release later this year through her publisher, Simon & Schuster.

Two eBooks, THE TEMPLE DOGS and THE FOREVER KING, are currently available through online retailers. A third, GRANDMASTER, will be available soon.

Molly has lectured extensively and has taught writing at the college level as well as at a women’s prison (where she was NOT an inmate). She also writes a blog on writing technique which appears on her website, MollyCochran.com. She is also on Facebook at facebook.com/molly.cochran1 and Twitter at Twitter.com/mollycochranYA.

She lives in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania.

Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Posted on June 17, 2013, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sara’s Review of Poison by Molly Cochran.

Comments are closed.