Sara’s Review of Legacy by Molly Cochran

LegacyRating: paw4

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Date Published: December 20th 2011

Series: Legacy #1

Goodreads Description:

When her widowed father dumps 16-year-old Katy Jessevar in a boarding school in Whitfield, Massachusetts, she has no idea that fate has just opened the door to both her future and her past. Nearly everyone in Whitfield is a witch, as is Katy herself, although she has struggled all her life to hide her unusual talents. Stuck at a boarding school where her fellow students seem to despise her, Katy soon discovers that Whitfield is the place where her mother committed suicide under mysterious circumstances when Katy was just a small child. With dark forces converging on Whitfield, it’s up to Katy to unravel her family’s many secrets to save the boy she loves and the town itself from destruction.

Review:

This was a pleasantly fun read and I greatly enjoyed the characters and the storyline, murr! There’s a little something for everyone in this first installment of Cochran’s Legacy series. Whether you are a fan of magic, mystery/suspense, budding teen romance, or YA in general, this is definitely a book worth checking out. =^.^=

Katy is one of those types of characters who you come to admire as the story progresses. She’s initially insecure about her place at Ainsworth and doesn’t really have a strong idea of who she is at heart. While I wouldn’t call her weak, she isn’t exactly strong either. As a result, I felt like the majority of the story was a coming of age tale where Katy discovers herself, her history, and more, and I enjoyed watching her grow throughout the book. Yes, there were times when I felt she was acting childish and needed a good shaking, but over all she’s a likeable character who most readers will readily connect with. Peter on the other paw, took some getting use to. At first he comes across as a total jerk, but as the story continues, his character changes and he becomes much more likeable. He really does have an honest, kind, and loving heart, and while his actions may at first be questionable, eventually you come to realize that he is the way he is because of his desire to protect his brother, Eric. I actually couldn’t blame him for his earlier actions once I learned more about his backstory. Doesn’t mean that his behavior is entirely excusable, but I can readily image that I’d act the same way if I had gone through what he did.

The romance that occurs between these two, while all be it rather sudden, not exactly insta-lust but close, fit well with the story. I actually was expecting their love to be some sort of second chance situation. In other words, both Katy and Peter were being given the chance to fix a problem that occurred in a previous life. Yeah, okay, this was wishful thinking on my part, but given all the focus that was surrounding Katy’s ancestry, such a possible situation didn’t really seem all that farfetched. Overall, their relationship was pretty much what one would expect to see between two 16 year olds. And I think that this is what allowed me to accept the connection between them so easily, because it felt like a natural relationship. Yes, in Katy’s case her feelings escalated rather quickly, but at the end of the book I wanted them to be together.

As for the storyline itself, I loved it! Between the magic, the mystery behind The Darkness, the discovery of Katy’s ancestry, and her struggles to find her place within the Whitfield community, I easily could have finished this book in one sitting. True, there were some moments that were predictable, but the overall mystery of The Darkness itself kept me guessing for quite a while. There were a couple different ways I could have seen that particular part of the story going, so it was fun to finally see what path Cochran decided to take with it all. And the magic was also a fun thing to read about, especially Miss P’s particular brand of magic. I think she was probably one of my favorite secondary characters in the entire book.

The other thing that I liked about this book was the fact that it was apparent to me that Cochran actually did her research as far as various ideas of witchcraft are concerned. The brief references to the eight holidays that are celebrated in the story were rather spot on in their descriptions, though I don’t recall ever having read that Imbolc came about as a result of a bunch of village guys tossing a snake down into a hole and seeing whether it came out or not. Still, it was fascinating to read about each celebration, or at least the ones discussed in the book. I always enjoy it when I can research ideas shared in the books I read and in this Cochran gave me many things worth further looking into, if not only to reinforce what I already knew, but to also discover new things.

Really when all is said and done, this was a great book and as the first of a series, I am looking forward to seeing what further adventures await Katy, Peter, and the rest of the Whitfield witches!

Posted on June 17, 2013, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sara’s Review of Legacy by Molly Cochran.

Comments are closed.