ArmchairBEA 2013 – Keeping it Real & Children’s/Young Adult Literature

Design credit goes to Nina of Nina Reads

Design credit goes to Nina of Nina Reads

Day 5’s topic for discussion during ArmchairBEA is how bloggers keep their blogs fresh. In other words, what do they do to keep readers interested and coming back for more while at the same time bring in new readers. Today is also when we look at the genre of Children/Young Adult books, a topic near and dear to Sara’s heart, murr! =^.^=

ClipArt

Keeping it Fresh

We felines are always looking for ways to attract new readers while provided interesting content to our current followers. We are by no means experts, but we do try.

One thing that we began doing a while back was to start a monthly post where we share the book that we are most anxious to get our paws on at some point. We also tried, and plan on take up again, a monthly post where we talk about our favorite author. Both posts were ways for us to share the books we were excited for to our followers (and provide them with titles they might not think to pick up) and introduce them to authors that hold a special place in our hearts.

Truth to be told, we aren’t really that good at coming up with ideas that are fresh and never been done before. We like to stay with the tried and true. So we do cover revels and blog tours, we write reviews, will occasionally throw in a Something to Hiss About post whenever there is a topic that has our tails in a twist (haven’t had one of those in a while). We’ve also tried participating in Read Alongs and other big events like this one.

There’s been times when we’ve thought of participating in weekly memes, but there haven’t really been any that overly appealed to us. Except for Cat Thursday which is hosted by True Book Addict. Now that is a weekly meme that we can sink our claws into…we just have to remember to actually do it.

We’ve also given thought to doing more giveaways. But again the desire to really do them isn’t all that strong. Part of that is because we don’t want our blog to become a place that people come to only for giveaways. We want them to come because they are intrigued with the theme, enjoy our reviews, and generally just like the blog. So when it comes to “keeping it real” we sort of just let the blog speak for itself and let the readers come follow as they so choose. Yes it would be nice to have hundreds of readers arrive at our blog daily, but even if we only manage to attract one loyal follower at the end of the day, we can’t really complain all that much.

And seriously when you get right down to it, how many cats do you know who write and maintain their own review blog? =^.^=

ClipArt

Children’s/Young Adult Literature

When it comes to the genre of Children and Young Adult novels, only one feline can really do the topic justice and that’s Sara. So for the sake of this discussion, we’ll be turning the post over to her so that she can share her thoughts with everyone.

***

Murr! It’s no secret that I really enjoy YA books, though to be honest I’m not a big fan of young children’s books all that much. No, my heart belongs to YA paws down (and Adult Fantasy, but that’s a discussion for another time).

I first stumbled across YA when Cameron brought home a few books that had been recommended to her by a friend. After pawing through the first two, the titles of which have escaped my memory at this point, I found that I wanted to explore the genre more, so I insisted that she bring more home for me to try. I’m sure that had Cameron known she’d be opening the flood gates to a ton of new books to grace the already overflowing shelves, she never would have dared to bring the initial books home with her, let alone even bring them into the house. Heehee.

Yes, I LOVE YA. From Suzanne Collins & JK Rowlings to Marissa Meyer & Richelle Mead, there’s very few YA books that I won’t read! My list of YA titles is long and I’m adding to it daily.

Now I’m not a big fan of characters who are always angsty, in fact I’ve often found that those types of characters get under my fur and make me want to swipe them with my claws, and I also don’t really enjoy the insta-lust all that much, a troupe used heavily in a great many YAs, but I’m willing to look past these annoyances if the story happens to be good. And in the case of most YAs, the stories are often really good, murr!

Some of my all time favorite YAs include The Hunger Game series by Suzanne Collins, the Harry Potter series by JK Rowling, the Casual Enchantments series by KA Tucker (one of my favorite Indie authors), Ten by Gretchen McNeil, The Experiment in Terror series by Karina Halle (more NA than YA), Legend by Marie Lu, and Dark Inside by Jeyn Roberts. And believe me when I say that this is by no way complete. I can supply you with more titles and even more authors, but I feel this is a good start for those just coming into the genre, murr! All of them are amazing reads that will leave you wanting more by the time you finish.

A book that I’m currently reading, and enjoying, is The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau. Fans of The Hungers Games will like this one for sure. I also recently just finished Of Poseidon and Of Triton by Anna Banks and both books in the Monument 14 series by Emmy Laybourne. All of my reviews for these books will be up soon so be sure to stop by some time to read my thoughts on them all.

There are also a ton of YA novels that I’m anxious to start reading. Amongst these are Wither by Lauren DeStefano, Tithe by Holly Black, Die For Me by Amy Plum, Unraveling by Elizabeth Norris, and In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters. Unfortunately, there just simply aren’t enough hours in the day for me to read all the books that I want to explore. And I mentioned early, I’m always adding more to my list.

So what are some of your favorite YA books/authors? Is there a particular series that you love above all others? What YA books are you looking forward to reading this year? Feel free to share yours with me in the comments below, murr!

Posted on June 1, 2013, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Harry Potter, The Chrestomanci Series (Diana Wynne-Jones) and His Dark Materials are my three favourite YA series. I think I tend to prefer magical/fantasy YA stories over others- probably because of my love of fairytales as a kid.
    my Children’s literature post

  2. This is my first visit to your blog and I want to say that it’s great. I love the cat theme. Your rating system is so cute!

    I totally agree with you on wanting to keep a loyal following instead of tons of one time visitors just for giveaways! It is tempting to hold them to draw visitors, but they never stay. They just temporarily follow to win.So, though I do giveaways once in a while, it’s not a regular thing for me.

    Check out my Keeping it real, fresh and fun post!

    I love The Hunger Games series too!

    Check out my Children’s to YA Literature post!

    Tamara @ Shelf Addiction