Guest Interview with Alec Royce from the H&W Investigations series

FBTO Blog Tour Button

Today the felines and I are thrilled to have Alec Royce, New York’s most powerful vampire and major heart-throb, joining us here at What the Cat Read!

~dabs on a bit of Amber Kiss perfume before settling in her seat and smiling brightly at her guest~

Welcome, Royce. Or do you prefer Alec?

Alec: Please, call me Alec. I do get tired of the formal address. Though you’ve no need to be wearing that dreadful stuff. I assure you, you’re in no danger from me.

~mutters to self~ Right, way to make a great first impression there, Cameron. ~clears throat~

Okay, well for those who are not up on the Who’s Who amongst the Others, could you please share with us some of your history? Where you were born? Who your sire was? Etc.

Royce

Photo of Royce compliments of his publicity team!

Alec: I suppose it wouldn’t be much harm. Many know me as the owner of a selection of nightclubs and restaurants across the heart of Manhattan. However you like your evening’s entertainment, and whatever your budget, I guarantee A.D. Royce Industries has something to suit your tastes.

As for me, I am originally from Thessaly, Greece. My sire, Pallantias Athene of Athens—you may be more familiar with her as Athena—would not appreciate me speaking much of that part of my past. It’s no great secret that I was pressed into Alexander’s army during his bid to take retribution against the countries that revolted after the murder of Philip of Macedon. My duties during the war happened to bring me to her attention, and so I stand here today, rather than as forgotten dust on the battlefield.

Seeing how your clubs are always filled to bursting with party goers and you are always in the spotlight, what is it like being one of the most powerful and sought after vampires in all of New York? I’m sure it must get tiresome having women fawning themselves over you nightly. ~tries hard not to fawn over him herself~

Alec: *one corner of his mouth quirks in a smile * Oh, it has its advantages…

I’m sure it does. ~smiles~

If you had the opportunity to go back and change things in your life, would you? If so, what would you change and why?

Alec: I find dwelling upon the past to be a waste of time. It cannot be changed, thus, we must look to the building our future.

However, given the chance, I do wish I had noticed earlier just how much animosity an old friend bore towards me so that I might have done something to address it before he managed to hurt those who look to me for protection. 

I know a question that is on many of your fans minds right now is, do you love Shiarra Waynest? In other words, is everyone’s dreamy vamp off the market or is there hope that your emotions can be swayed? ~bats eyes and offers up her most charming smile~

Alec: While I am always open to accepting applications for new donors, matters of the heart are not up for discussion.

~tries to hide her disappointment by asking brightly~ What do you see yourself doing in the future? Do you have any exciting plans that you can share with us?

Alec: I have a number of plans. Some involve taking over companies, expanding my holdings, and crushing my enemies.

If Max Carlyle is paying attention—and I have the feeling he is—I want him to know I am coming. This time, I will not stop until he and his empire are destroyed.

~laughs nervously~ Yeah…um…wow, okay. Is it getting hot in here or is it just me? ~clears throat and tries to dispel the tension in the room~ Ah, let’s move on to some quick answers, shall we?

If you could only have one, would you choose money or power?

Alec: Power. Being capable means more than having the money to buy off one’s problems.

Do you prefer classical or modern music?

Alec: While they both have their charms, classical is more to my taste.

When in a fight, would you rather go up against Werewolves or White Hats?

Alec: Werewolves. I would not face legal consequences for putting them in their place.

What is your favorite vacation spot?

Alec: I occasionally find myself nostalgic for the islands of the Aegean Sea, the beauty of the Scottish Highlands, and the hospitality of my eldest childe in Luxor.

Is there anything that you’d like to share with your fans before we bring this interview to a close?

Alec: My words for Max Carlyle have been harsh, as are my feelings for those who would hurt my own.

I strongly suggest those of you who live in and around the Chicago area who have ties to him consider yourself warned. I don’t take kindly to my enemies—or those who support them.

Riiiiiight. Well, thank you, Alec, for taking the time out of your busy schedule to talk with us today. I sincerely hope that you’ve enjoyed your visit as much as we’ve enjoyed having you here. Please know that you are always welcome to stop by again should you so desire. =^.^=

Alec: Indeed. It’s been my pleasure. Don’t be alarmed by my displeasure with Max. No harm will come to any who do not deserve it.

Please feel free to come to one of my businesses anytime—mention this interview and your first drink is on the house. *grins enough to show a bit of fang and winks*

***

We’d like to thank Jess Haines for allowing us to host this wonderful interview as part of the Forsaken By The Others Blog Tour going on now! For a full listing of all the blogs participating, and for the chance to be entered into the giveaways associated with the tour, please visit HERE! And be sure to come back later today to read Willow’s review of the novel. =^.^=

About the Book:

Forsaken by the OthersDescription:

The Others–vampires, werewolves, things that go chomp in the night–don’t just live in nightmares anymore. They’ve joined with the mortal world. And for private investigator Shiarra Waynest, that means mayhem…

Have a one night stand with a vampire, and you can end up paying for it for eternity. P.I. Shiarra Waynest, an expert on the Others, knows that better than most. Yet here she is, waking up beside charismatic vamp Alec Royce with an aching head…and neck. Luckily, Shia has the perfect excuse for getting out of town–namely, a couple of irate East Coast werewolf packs who’d like to turn her into a chew toy.

On Royce’s suggestion, Shia temporarily relocates to Los Angeles. But something is rotten–literally–in the state of California, where local vampires are being attacked by zombies. Who could be powerful enough to control them–and reckless enough to target the immortal? Following the trail will lead Shia to a terrifying truth, and to an ancient enemy with a personal grudge…

Buy Links:

Amazon / Amazon UK / Amazon Canada, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository, Books-A-Million, Powells, Indiebound

About the Author:

JessHainesI’m a displaced New Yorker with a penchant for the silly, the obscure, and the fantastical. Los Angeles is home for the time being, since it consistently meets my daily quota of strange. I’m currently working on the H&W Investigations urban fantasy series. Find out more about Shiarra Waynest, drop me a line, or join my mailing list at www.jesshaines.com!

Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Posted on May 31, 2013, in Authors. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Calantha Nyx

    WOW! That picture of Royce is something else, LOL 🙂 Great interview, loved the banter, it was hilarious!

  1. Pingback: Forsaken by the Others Official Blog Tour Calendar » The Blog of Jess Haines

  2. Pingback: Blog Tour: FORSAKEN BY THE OTHER by Jess Haines | Books Make Me Happy