ArmchairBEA 2013 – Literary Fiction

Design credit goes to Nina of Nina Reads

Design credit goes to Nina of Nina Reads

Today’s topic of discussion is Literary Fiction and we are going to let our human, Cameron, handle this one, murr! =^.^=

ClipArt

Literary Fiction

I’m not sure whether to be flattered or concerned that Willow and Sara have left me to tackle this topic on my own. O.o

When I think of literary fiction, I often think of the classics. But as I came to learn in college, that’s not always the case. Literary Fiction is any book that is considered to hold literary merit. It’s basically any writing that has received critical acclaim and it’s what I like to call, straight fiction. And in truth, outside of school, I don’t really read it all that much because it doesn’t really appeal to me.

Now before anyone decides to chastise me for this, allow me to say that I do read some literary fiction, it’s just not the first thing that I reach for when I want a bit of light reading.

Some of my favorite works of literary fiction include The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, The Hours by Michael Cunningham, and Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden.

Works of literary fiction that I want to read include The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chobsky, Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell, and Life of Pi by Yann Matel. I also am interested in reading JK Rowling’s A Casual Vacancy, but that’s more out of curiosity rather than an undying need.

Now I’d like to point out the fact that almost all of the titles above were made into movies. And before anyone asks, yes, I’ve seen all of them. The movies are what actually drove me to be interested in the novels because I love to contrast the film version with its original book. I also like to see what scenes weren’t included in the film adaptation, which were expanded on, etc. I’m not ashamed to say that sometimes I prefer the movie over the book. Case in point, The Princess Bride by William Goldman. While I liked the book, the film adaptation is by far my favorite. I’ve seen that movie so many times, I can recite it in my sleep.

Of course, not every critically acclaimed novel gets turned into a movie…though nowadays such a slight if you will is almost unheard of. You can bet that I’ll be one of the first person’s in line for The Night Circus if/when that movie ever comes out. By far that book was one of my all time favorite reads last year. Seriously, if you’ve not read it yet, you are missing out on a great story!

So what works of literary fiction have you read recently? What titles would you recommend that I and the felines check out? Have you read any of the titles that I listed above? Please feel free to share your suggestions in the comments below. And as always, thank you for visiting What the Cat Read. 😀

Posted on May 30, 2013, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I LOVED Night Circus too! 😀 And I’ve made up my mind to read The Help one of these days! 🙂

  2. I have The Perks of Being a Wallflower on my TBR, but I haven’t gotten to it yet. Haven’t read any of the other books on your list – but who knows – maybe one day?

    Here’s my Literary Fiction post.

  3. Great list of books!

  4. Loved The Help and Night Circus. A Casual Vacancy was well written but at the end of it I was like what? I just wasted how many hours on this. It’s well written but there was no story in my opinion.

  5. I also like The Princess Bride movie better than the book… although I do enjoy the book too. Neil Gaiman’s Stardust is another, although in that case the movie is pretty loosely based on the book so maybe not as fair a comparison.

  6. Great picks! I’m a huge J. K. Rowling fan but I’ve not read her latest book, A Casual Vacancy, mostly because of its low ratings on Goodreads. But I sure am planning on reading it soon! I loved Perks of Being a Wallflower and Life of Pi as well and their movie adaptations are awesome!

  7. I’ve got Perks and Night Circus on my stacks. They are both on a few lists, so I guess I’d better get to them!

  8. SO many great books showing up on people’s lists today that I need to read! The one I’m recommending is Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – so good that’s contemporary and introspective and all kinds of amazing.

  9. Love The Night Circus and enjoyed The Help and Perks! Great post!