Willow’s Review of Run the Risk By Lori Foster

RunTheRiskRating: paw4

Publisher: Harlequin HQN

Date Published: September 25th 2012

Series: Love Undercover #1

Goodreads Description:

When Detective Logan Riske goes undercover to find Pepper Yates, a potential link to his best friend’s unsolved murder, he vows to gain her cooperation by any means necessary. But the elusive beauty is more suspicious—and in far more danger—than he expected. And the last thing Logan needs is to start caring for her….Pepper has spent years dodging the corrupt club owner who will stop at nothing to keep her silenced. She can trust no one, not even the handsome new “construction worker” who’s moved in next door. The heat between them is undeniable. But will surrendering to passion bring her the safety she so desires—or will her feelings for Logan draw them both into a killer’s crosshairs?

mg | amazon | B&N

Review:

This was an amazing book and a wonderful start to what promises to be an incredible series. From page one I was hooked and couldn’t put it down until I got to the very end, when I actually got upset because I didn’t want it to be over. =^.^=

Foster’s characters are well-developed and will instantly find a place within your heart. I loved each one of them, though I’ll admit that I enjoyed Rowdy just a bit more than the rest. What can I say, I like the bad boys every now and again. Anyways, Logan is a very strong, loyal, determined character, who definitely has his hands full where Pepper is concerned. His desire to get answers in order to solve his best friend’s murder is greatly admirable, but the fact that he was willing to get them by lying to Pepper did rub my fur the wrong way. As a result, I really enjoyed watching Pepper keep him of balance throughout the novel, especially once she found out that he was lying to her. And speaking of Pepper, she’s feisty, no-nonsense, and isn’t afraid to fight when the need arises, but at the same time she’s so caught up in trying to protect her brother, Rowdy, she doesn’t allow herself to live life, at least not until Logan shows up. I actually felt sorry for her a lot of the time because while I understood why she was living the way she was, it still pained me to see her constantly doubt herself and worry over her brother’s safety. Still Logan and Pepper truly are perfect for each other, and when they aren’t driving each other up the walls, their relationship is seriously hot.

I also greatly enjoyed Reese and Alice’s side story. These two are another fun set of interesting characters. There’s definitely chemistry brewing between them and by the end of the book I wanted to know what Alice’s secret was! I’m so happy that these two get their own story. And Rowdy also was a ton of fun. At first I wasn’t sure I would really like him, but as the story progressed he quickly became a favorite of mine. Then there’s Lt. Peterson…I really want to know what her story is at some point, too. The scene involving her and Reese handcuffed to Reese’s bed had me in stitches even though they were in danger at the time. If you want to know what I’m talking about, I highly suggest that you pick up a copy of this book for yourself and give it a read. You won’t be disappointed, trust me.

Since this was my first time reading any of Foster’s novels, I must say that I liked her writing skills as well. She did a fantastic job not only keeping to the main plot point of the story, but allowed her secondary story arcs to develop at the same time. Whenever the focus shifted between the characters it was done smoothly and with enough acknowledgement to the main story arc that I didn’t mind that we were moving away from Logan and Pepper’s story for a bit in order to catch up on Reese and Alice or learn a bit more about Rowdy. The different perspectives and story arcs made for a richer story, and I’m glad that Foster chose to write the story this way and had the skills with which to pull it off.

Then there were the memorable scenes. Not just the bed scene which I mentioned earlier, but the bar scene where Rowdy meets a woman who intrigues him, the cabin scene involving Pepper, Logan, Logan’s brother, and Reese, the scene where the power goes out, and so many more. Honestly, I couldn’t figure out which one I liked more. These scenes made me laugh, sigh, scream in frustration, and shiver in delight.

So do I recommend this book? You bet I do. If you love Romance with a touch of Suspense, then you’ll definitely want to check out this book!

***Be sure to check out Willow’s review of the next book in this series, Bare It All, as well as our wonderful interview with Lori Foster, as part of this day long tour stop celebration!***

BlogtourSuitcase_BARE IT ALL

Posted on May 9, 2013, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I really enjoyed this one too. One of my favorite things was the secondary characters. They all really grabbed my attention too and had me ready for their stories 🙂

    Ooo your first Lori Foster?!! She’s really incredible. I’ve read a ton of hers and they’re all really good. I started out with her SBC fighters then her Visitation, NC (which has one of my favorite ever heroes–Clint and one of my favorite ever scenes). Hope you enjoy getting to try others of hers out!

    ~Anna
    herding cats & burning soup

  1. Pingback: Guest Interview with Lori Foster, Author of Bare It All | What the Cat Read

  2. Pingback: Willow’s Review of Bare It All by Lori Foster | What the Cat Read