Willow’s Review of Bare It All by Lori Foster

BareItAllRating: paw4

Publisher: Harlequin HQN

Date Published: April 30th 2013

Goodreads Description:

“A cop’s craving to know more about the woman next door could prove fatal in the steamy new novel from New York Times bestselling author Lori Foster”

As the person responsible for taking down a brutal human trafficker, Alice Appleton fears retaliation at every turn. No one knows about her past, which is exactly how she prefers it…until the sexy cop next door comes knocking.

Detective Reese Bareden thinks he knows what makes women tick, but his ever-elusive neighbor keeps him guessing like no other. Is his goal to unmask Alice’s secrets? Or protect her from a dangerous new threat? One thing is certain: their chemistry is a time bomb waiting to explode. And with no one to trust but each other, Reese and Alice are soon drawn into a deadly maze of corruption, intrigue and desire-and into the line of fire….

mgamazon |B&N

Review:

As the second book in Foster’s Love Undercover series, this novel picks up right after the events of Run the Risk (book #1) and from what I recently learned, this book crosses over into Foster’s Edge of Honor series as well. And you can bet that I’ll be reading this series at some point because I really do enjoy Foster’s books a great deal! =^.^=

With Bare it All the focus is entirely on Reese and Alice and their growing relationship. Logan, Pepper, and Rowdy, all of my favorite characters from the first book, make appearances in this novel, but their story arcs are now secondary and they are in the book primarily for support and humor. Though I should say that Rowdy does a lot to help Reese track down information on Alice’s past. But mostly, this is all about Reese and Alice. And their relationship is most definitely a hot one.

Reese is sarcastic and blunt, but also quick with the wit, loyal to his friends, and not afraid to do what is necessary to keep those he loves safe. He’s also really a push over when it comes to his dog, Cash. Alice is quite and cautious, and given what happened to her it’s not a surprise that she maintains a level of guardedness around people. It was fun to watch her come out of her shell and get swept away by everyone in Reese’s circle of friends. It was also great to finally learn her story, as I was extremely curious about what was up with her after the first book. Believe me when I say, Alice’s story was definitely surprising and my respect and admiration for her grew once I learned it. And on a side note, I absolutely loved the fact that Cash was the initial connection between Reese and Alice. If it hadn’t been for him, it unlikely that those two ever would have hooked up. That dog definitely knows how to play matchmaker. Heehee

Like with the first book of the series, this story is filled with action and suspense. As investigations into a drug lord and human trafficking heat up, Reese and Alice suddenly find themselves in the cross-hairs and they quickly come to realize that they will have to rely upon each other to make it out alive. As a result, I spent much of my time reading this book while on the edge of my seat and biting my claws in nervous anticipation of what was going to happen next. I really didn’t want to put the book down once the action started.

There was also quite a lot of humor in this book. Between Reese and Rowdy’s scenes, and the scenes involving Reese and Pepper/Logan, I found myself smirking a lot whenever they started baiting each other and joking around. Especially whenever Rowdy was involved. Ah Rowdy, I do so love that man. I can’t wait for his story to come out so that I can learn even more about him. I just know his book is going to be a fun one.

And let me just say a quick thing about the romance. It’s starts off a slow burn that eventually grows into a seriously hot blaze. I love that Reese didn’t rush Alice into anything and that he was willing to wait as long as necessary until she was ready. The slow development of their relationship made it all the more satisfying when they finally did act on their feelings.

Overall, this was a very satisfying read. The blending of everyone’s stories was well done, the pacing was excellent, and the entire book was wonderful. Fans who loved the first book of this series will definitely enjoy this one. And as much as they loved Logan and Pepper, they will love Reese and Alice even more. So if you are still debating on whether you should buy this book or not, listen to this feline and buy it now! I promise, you won’t regret it. =^.^=

***Be sure to check out Willow’s review of the first book in this series, RUN THE RISK, as well as our wonderful INTERVIEW with Lori Foster, as part of this day long tour stop celebration!***

BlogtourSuitcase_BARE IT ALL

Posted on May 9, 2013, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. This sounds really good.

  2. I’m still reading, about to finish tonight or tomorrow. I really like your review, and I completely agree. I didn’t get a chance to read the first book, I’ll have to go back and catch up on it. And Cash! I loved that dog!! I love when the animal can darn near steal the show 🙂

  3. Gah I just met Alice in the second book of the Edge of Honor series so now I can make the connection to the blurb. *pats self on the back* I have so much to do with my own blog but I am LOVING Lori Foster’s writing style so I am making time for her books.

    Great review 🙂

  1. Pingback: Guest Interview with Lori Foster, Author of Bare It All | What the Cat Read

  2. Pingback: Willow’s Review of Run the Risk By Lori Foster | What the Cat Read