Sara’s Review of Storm by Evan Angler

Storm banner

I’d like to thank YA Bound for letting me be a part of the tour. To see the full tour schedule, and for a chance to enter the giveaway associate with this even, please click HERE! =^.^=

stormRating: paw4

Publisher: Thomas Nelson Publishers

Date Published: May 7th 2013

Series: Swipe #3

Goodreads Description:

In a future United States under the power of a charismatic leader, everyone gets the Mark at age thirteen. The Mark allows citizen to shop, go to school, and even get medical care–without it, you are on your own. Few refuse to get the Mark. Those who do . . . disappear.

Logan Langly went in to get his Mark, but he backed out at the last minute. Ever since, he’s been on the run from government agents and on a quest to find his sister Lily, who disappeared when she went to get her Mark five years earlier. His journey leads him to befriend the Dust, a vast network of Markless individuals who dissent against the iron-grip rule of the government. Along the way to the capital to find Lily, the Dust receive some startling information from the Markless community, opening their eyes to the message of Christianity and warning that humanity is now entering the End of Days.

In “Storm,” Logan and his friends are the leaders of the Markless revolution. But while some Markless are fighting Chancellor Cylis’ army, the Dust is busy trying to find a cure for a horrible epidemic sweeping through the Marked. And it’s difficult for them to know who to trust, especially when they aren’t sure if Logan’s sister Lily, one of the commanders in Cylis’ army, is on their side or not. And all across the nation–and the world–the weather is become less stable, and a storm is brewing that bigger than any of them could have ever imagined….

amazon | B&N

Review:

Now, I’m not normally the type of feline who gravitates towards Christian Fiction, and as I mentioned in my review of the first book of this series, I didn’t even know this was of that genre when I originally picked the first book up, but as I’ve continued reading this series, I’m starting to see why it is labeled as such. Did this detract from my overall enjoyment of the book any? Not at all. Truth be told, the more I read this series, the better it gets and the more I like it.

I must say that Angler’s characters have come a long way from the first book of the series and my views towards them have changed a lot. Whereas I was originally struggling to see them as being as mature as they were portrayed in Swipe, now I can’t see them as acting any other way. My admiration towards Erin continues to grow, I’m starting to understand and like Logan more with each novel, and I’m seeing aspects in each character’s personality that I hadn’t noticed before. This is a far cry from my impressions of everyone when I first began reading the series, murr! I also really enjoyed getting to know Lily, Logan’s sister, and Conner in this novel and seeing how their stories intertwined with the rest. Yes, there are still times where I find it hard to believe that everyone is the age that they are, but it’s not bothering me nearly as much as it did in book one. Plus, there are moments where they act like how I would expect kids their ages to act. One such moment involves two balloons, one filled with ketchup and the other with some sort of street sludge. Three guesses on what these are used for and the first two don’t count. =^.^=

Like with Sneak, Storm is a fast read. It’s easy to finish this book in one day because there’s a lot of action with very little down time. Just when you think things have settled down something happens which ramps up the suspense and leaves you wanting to find out more. Will Erin be cured of her illness? Will the Markless succeed in their fight? Who’s side is Lily really on? The need for answers to these questions and many others kept me reading long after I should have put the book down for the day. And before you ask, I’m not sharing any of the answers that I learned with you all. You’ll simply have to pick up the series for yourself and discover them on your own. =^.^=

Another great thing about this series is that Angler continues to explore and develop the political plot line. Now that the E.U. and A.U. are one entity, who’s really in command? How far are citizens willing to go at the command of their government? In many respects the portrayal of the world’s political structure in this series makes me wonder how far away we are from something similar in our own government. And that’s one of the things I like about Dystopian novels, they make me think…and this series definitely makes you think.

As for the Christian aspect with this book, it’s definitely there, but it’s not in your face or being shoved down the reader’s throat. Honestly, I don’t think I’d have continued reading the book if it had been. Most of the time when it’s brought up, it’s done in a way that moves the story along and adds strength to the preexisting plot.

So when all is said and done, this is a series that continues to surprise and delight me and I’ll definitely be checking out the fourth book of the series when it comes out.

About the Author:

evan anglerEvan lives without the Mark, evading DOME and writing in the shadows of Beacon.
Swipe is his first book. But if anyone asks, you know nothing about it, and you didn’t hear anything from him. Don’t make eye contact if you see him. Don’t call his name out loud. He’s in enough trouble already.
And so are you, if you’ve read his book.

WebsiteGoodreadsTwitterFacebook

Posted on May 8, 2013, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sara’s Review of Storm by Evan Angler.

Comments are closed.