Sara’s Review of Of Silver and Beasts by Trisha Wolfe + Extras

TuffGirlOSABBanner

As the only feline member of Trisha Wolfe’s Tough Girl Legion, I’m trilled to be a part of the review tour for Of Silver and Beasts, murr! Be sure to keep reading after the review for a special excerpt post and a chance to enter in the giveaway associated with this event. =^.^=

***

OSaBRating: paw5

Publisher: Trisha Wolfe

Date Published: April 19, 2013

Series: Goddess Wars #1

Goodreads Description:

In the sand-covered queendom of Cavan, the goddess once saved a young Kaliope’s life, preventing the mercury her father attempted to hide in her blood from reaching her heart. Now, a cybernetic clamp filters it, but the silver streaks swirling faintly beneath her skin are a constant reminder that she’s different.

When nineteen-year-old Kaliope is chosen as head of the Nactue Guard, she becomes the sworn protector to her empress. In the midst of an invasion on a neighboring land, Kaliope is placed in charge of guarding Prince Caben, the last heir to his kingdom. But when they’re attacked by the feared Otherworlders, Caben and Kaliope are abducted and taken below to a realm where they must fight for their life in a caged arena.

Kaliope struggles to protect her princely charge, keeping him and herself alive while battling inhumanly opponents, and trying to save the stolen, sacred relic that will restore her empress’s life force and all of Cavan. And if she can somehow awaken the goddess within her, she may save what’s most important.

New Adult Dark Fantasy: Intended for readers 17 years of age and older.

Amazon / B&N

Review:

I will admit that New Adult (NA) is not a real favorite of mine as far as genres go, but every once in a while I will find a book that surprises me. Of Silver and Beasts is one such title. I really enjoyed this title and highly recommend that readers who enjoy YA and NA check it out! =^.^=

One of the first things that drew me into this book was the writing. Wolfe has a strong grasp of creating scenes that suck the reader in and leaves them on the edge of their seat. A number of times my heart was racing in excitement and adrenaline as Kaliope engaged the enemy. There were several scenes that made me cry, a couple that made me laugh, a few were I got really angry, and more where I just wanted to keep reading in order to find out what happened next. I really love it when an author is able to bring me emotionally into the story and make me feel like I’m a part of it, and in Wolfe’s case, it’s a job well done!

As far as characters go, I liked Kaliope. She’s a strong girl who knows who she is and what she wants to be. She’s got a fierce attitude, is loyal to her friends, Nactue, and empress, and she’s determined to prove herself in every task assigned to her. And I have to say that I greatly admired her for these traits, but there were a few times where they did get to be a bit too much. One such instance came with Prince Caben. Kaliope was so caught up in stressing how things were done in her realm, she never took the time to consider how things were done in Prince Caben’s realm nor how they could have gone about meeting in the middle. It really irked me and I found myself wanting to shake her by her shoulders a few times. But despite this, she’s an enjoyable character who most readers will easily relate too. Prince Caben is also a great character, all be it seriously cocky at times, but in a good way. Actually, when I first met him in the reading I wasn’t too impressed with him, but then I realized that my views towards him were being influenced by Kaliope’s opinion of him, and once I put those opinions aside and saw Caben for who he truly was, he quickly became a favorite of mine. I especially liked the fact that he’s quirky humor always managed to bring a smile to my face even while it drove Kaliope crazy. The two of them together are perfect…once they figure out how to work together that is. It was fun to watch them grow and become comfortable with each other. They really are perfect together.

The only problem that I had with the story on a whole, was it took me a long time to really get into the setting. The idea of an entire society running on Mercury was interesting, but the various robots that Wolfe described at times were hard for me to envision. I often became lost in the details of the world itself when I first got started, and I eventually had to ignore the world in order to focus on the characters and the overall plot. I will say that I did like the Underworlders home. I’ve always loved playing with black lights, so the idea of an entire underground world done up with black likes was awesome. Hee hee

So when all is said and done, I must give purrs and tail waves to Wolfe for writing an amazing book and I can’t wait to get my paws on the next book in the series. If you’ve not yet checked out any of the books by Wolfe, seriously, what’s stopping you? Murr!

***

Help Trisha and the Tuff Girl Legion get to 50 reviews on Amazon to read this full scene from Caben’s POV! Scene will release on Trisha’s blog. You can bookmark the bonus material here!

Excerpt:

The cool sensation of the fresh water on my skin helps me forget my nerves and I lie back, floating just below the top of the water. My body dulls, the cold soothing my sore muscles, and I welcome the numbness. The ceiling of the cave is sprinkled with tiny clusters of white lights, dotting the canopy above our heads like stars in the sky. I feel as if I’m sitting on the rooftop of my apartment, staring at the night sky, not here in the Otherworld, awaiting my death.
The water rolls, rocking my body, and I glance over as Caben floats up beside me. He’s on his back also, and points to the lights dusting the cave ceiling.
“Diamonds,” he says.
“Really?” I don’t know much about any minerals other than mercury. And somehow, diamonds as our stars makes my chest heavy. It’s too beautiful. “How can you tell?”
“The ultraviolet light shows the impurities,” he says. “The imperfections actually absorb the dark light, causing the diamond to emit a visible glow.” He chuckles. “A very expensive lighting effect.”
I laugh. “Quite expensive.” They twinkle as they reflect the rippling water. “But almost more heavenly than the stars.” I lower my voice at the end, hoping he didn’t hear my spoken thoughts.
Caben doesn’t speak, and the trickling of the stream and lap of the pool becomes the only sound as we float in compatible silence. I could drift off, fall asleep in this peaceful place, but I know we still have a mission to complete before the Reckoning.
This thought awakens me, and I touch my feet to the bottom of the pool and begin to wade toward the edge.
I hear Caben’s heavy groan. “No you don’t,” he says, and captures the bottom of my tunic. He tugs me through the water, back to the pool’s center. “Not yet. This could be our last reprieve, and I plan for us to enjoy it.”
As I turn to face him, his fingers slip from my shirt to my waist, grazing my stomach. My skin prickles, and I shiver, matching the trembling water around us. His deep blue eyes meet mine, and he swallows, his Adam’s apple working. Slowly, he begins to inch up my tunic—
“Wait.” I place my hand on top of his.
He cranes an eyebrow. “It should really have time to dry before we go back.”
Logically, that makes sense. But the heated look he’s giving me says so much more. And regardless of the attraction I may feel for the prince—a woman would have to be blind—and whether or not we actually escape this hell … what then? We share an intimate moment once, and go back to our stations in life, simply pretending nothing happened?
Or maybe I’m reading too much into his gaze. He’s a man, and physical desire is self-serving. He may die … and he probably wants to bed a woman one last time. Everything about his character screams he’s not one who thinks past the moment.
I could lose myself for now, give in to the pulse quickening my blood with need, but I’ve never shown a man the clamp over my heart. It would have to be something I did for a different reason if I ever chose to do so. Not merely because I may die soon.
As I push his hand away and start to swim off, he grasps my waist, encircling his firm arms around my stomach, and pulls my back to his chest.
“Don’t run from me,” he breathes into my ear. “I’m not asking for anything. Not even whatever it is you’re hiding. Just stay here.”

About the Author:

TrishWolfePicTrisha Wolfe is the author of the YA Steampunk DESTINY’S FIRE (Omnific Publishing), the NA Historical/Supernatural ASTARTE’S WRATH, and the upcoming YA Utopian FIREBLOOD from Spencer Hill Press, October 2013. Her NA Dark Fantasy OF SILVER AND BEASTS available May 2013.
She’s the creator of YA Bound, a promotional site for the Young Adult genre. Also a member of SCWW and The Apocalypsies. Check out www.TrishaWolfe.com for more on her books and bonus material. Follow Trisha on Twitter @TrishWolfe and like her Facebook page for updates.  

***Giveaway***

Trisha is offering up a number of great prizes as a part of this review tour event. So be sure to fill out the Rafflecopter form HERE for your chance to win!

Advertisements

Posted on May 6, 2013, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sara’s Review of Of Silver and Beasts by Trisha Wolfe + Extras.

Comments are closed.