Sara’s Review of Altered Souls by Karice Bolton

The Witch Avenue Series Banner

I’d like to thank AToMR Tours and Karice Bolton for letting me participate in this wonderful tour! For a full list of all the blogs involved, and for an opportunity to enter the give away associate with the event, please visit HERE!

***

Altered Souls coverRating: paw4

Publisher: Bulldog Press

Date Published: October 28th 2012

Series: The Witch Avenue #2

Goodreads Description:

The realm of Altered Souls brings nothing but unrest, deceit, and pain forcing Triss to come face to face with heartbreak from her past.

Facing a betrayal like never before, Triss questions everything she thought she knew about her family, coven, and abilities.

With the help of Logan, she embarks on a journey enabling her to confront the dark side of magic and the person who controls it. Realizing Triss’s ancestors have been seduced for centuries by the dark side, Triss and Logan must ensure no more in their world fall victim to the realm of Altered Souls, even if that means ending the ones they love.

Review:

I knew after reading the first book of the series that I would be reading this one, because the desire to know what was going to happen next was too strong to be denied. And I can definitely say that this book was well worth the read, murr! Where with book one I had problems getting into the story, with this one, I couldn’t put it down. From the first page I was hooked and I wasn’t satisfied until I had reached the very end. Well done, Karice, well done. =^.^=

The first thing that I want to say is that if you haven’t read the first book of the series, STOP reading this review and immediately get a copy of the first! It’s currently free on Amazon, so there’s no excuse in not getting it. The events in Altered Souls take place directly after the events in Lonely Souls, and so in order to understand this novel, it is imperative that you read the first book! Now having said that, on to the review.

I was pleased to see was how much Triss grew in this story. Whereas before she got under my fur a lot because of her continual desire to close herself off to everyone around her and deny her emotions for Logan, now she’s more confident and fully open to her feelings. My respect and admiration for her has grown and she’s definitely becoming a favorite character of mine. She’s tougher, more determined, and while she still questions herself at times, you can tell that she’s coming into her own and becoming a strong young woman. As for Logan, I still love him. He’s fiercely loyal to Triss and his desire to protect her from the darkness that is in the world is really touching, if a bit impractical at times. Still, while he’s protective, he’s not as smothering as he once was. I liked that he’s letting Triss explore and figure things out for herself, giving her the chance to take the lead rather than automatically stepping in and taking charge like he was in the first book. As for the rest of the characters in this story, they all bring something to the table and add to the richness of the plot.

And speaking of the plot, this one is definitely action packed and guaranteed to keep you on the edge of your seat. Like the first book, this one is just as dark and just as compelling. The only difference is that there’s less mystery and more intrigue, at least for me. I was more invested in figuring out who was playing for what side, rather than figuring out what it was that Triss’ father was planning. I also enjoyed the fact that there was a lot more spell work, which I would expect to see now that the initial story concept has been established. What this new book introduces is Triss’s ancestry. We finally get to learn about Triss’s family history, or at least parts of it anyways, and all I’m going to say there is it’s not all love and light that much is for certain. And yes, the plot took some twists and turns that I didn’t see coming, especially at the end. Oh my sweet Bastet that ending…yeah, like I didn’t already know I was going to be reading the third book in the series. It’s now definitely climbed towards the top of my must read pile!

So, for fans of paranormal YA novels, I highly recommend giving this series a read through. It’s got a lot of enjoyable moments and it’s definitely getting better with each book. I can’t wait to get my paws on Released Souls, followed by Shattered Souls, in order to find out what happens next, murr!

About the Author:

Karice BoltonKarice married the love of her life who she met in high school, and she still can’t get over how cute and funny he is. They have two English Bulldogs that are the sweetest bullies in the world, and they use their cuteness to get what they want. Karice loves the snow and gravitates towards the stuff as often as possible! She enjoys skiing and tries really hard to snowboard, but often makes a nice little area to sit while everyone zips by on their board. She enjoys writing, and she also loves to read just about anything with print.

Karice Bolton | Twitter | Facebook

Posted on March 27, 2013, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sara’s Review of Altered Souls by Karice Bolton.

Comments are closed.