Sara’s Review of Legacy of the Clockwork Key by Kristin Bailey + Excerpt

legacytour

I’d like to thank Shane at Itching for Books for letting me be a part of this tour, the wonderful folks at Simon & Schuster and Edelweiss for supplying me with a review copy of the novel, and the fabulous Kristin Bailey for writing an extremely fun and engaging story! To see a full list of all of the blogs participating, as well as to enter the giveaway associated with the tour, please visit HERE! =^.^=

***

LegacyCoverRating: paw4

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Date Published: March 5, 2013

Series: The Secret Order

Goodreads Description:

A teen girl unravels the mysteries of a secret society and their most dangerous invention in this adventure-swept romance set in Victorian London.

When a fire consumes Meg’s home, killing her parents and destroying both her fortune and her future, all she has left is the tarnished pocket watch she rescued from the ashes. But this is no ordinary timepiece. The clock turns out to be a mechanical key—a key that only Meg can use—that unlocks a series of deadly secrets and intricate clues that Meg is compelled to follow.

Meg has uncovered evidence of an elite secret society and a dangerous invention that some will stop at nothing to protect—and that Meg alone can destroy. Together with the handsome stable hand she barely knows but hopes she can trust, Meg is swept into a hidden world of deception, betrayal, and revenge. The clockwork key has unlocked her destiny in this captivating start to a trilogy.

Review:

I love Steampunk, so upon reading the description for this novel, I knew that it was one I wanted to read. And I’m really glad I managed to pick up a copy because this book provided me with the perfect escape after a depressing week. Going into this book, I was  hoping for an easy, fast paced, and engaging read, and that’s exactly what I got. As a debut novel to a new YA trilogy, Bailey definitely has a promising series on her hands, murr!

The main thing that made this book so engrossing was the attention to detail that Bailey put into describing all of the various machines that are discovered as the story progresses, along with her skill at connecting it all together. From a simple hidden compartment within a tombstone to the brilliant beauty that is a mechanical Stonehenge, each invention surprised and delighted me. I really wanted them to be real (the spy glass in the secret room was by far my favorite)! And it wasn’t just the devices themselves that I found intriguing, but the way in which Meg had to discover them that was also brilliantly done. Instead of a boring old key needed to unlock each amazing device, a tune Meg learned as a child is needed, and the part of the tune needed is different each time. I just loved how each puzzle unlocked another puzzle, and each clue lead Meg closer to the answers she sought. Everything was intricately connected, and I have to give massive purrs to Bailey for maintaining the flow of each discovery. I never once felt that the story was slow or flat. I was hooked on the mystery from page one and I couldn’t put the book down until it was solved.

Character-wise, I found that I was drawn more to the secondary characters, Lucinda and Oliver, in this book more than the main characters, Meg and Will. This isn’t to say that the main characters weren’t interesting, there just wasn’t anything that really made them stand out for me. Meg’s a curious, sweet, and smart young woman who isn’t afraid to try and solve the mystery that is S.O.M.A. and track down her grandfather. Will is stubborn, rather aloof at times, and bounces between being charming one moment and aggravating the next. As a team, the two of them a great together. And as a romantic couple, they are rather cute. But as I said, they weren’t overly memorable. Lucinda on the other hand was awesome! I loved her the minute she appeared in the story and continued to love her through to the end. Oliver likewise is an intriguing individual and his history with Lucinda created an interesting side story. Both of their histories, from how they became a part of S.O.M.A to  the events that led to where they are in their lives now, touched my heart and made me love them both greatly. I really hope both characters come back for the rest of the series.

Over all, the twist and turns that the plot takes and the mechanical devices made this book more than worth reading. The characters are likeable, there are some great memorable scenes, and the pacing is fast. You can easily read this book in a day. I really liked this book and I’m definitely curious to see what happens next for everyone in the sequel.

ClipArt

Excerpt (from ARC):

That’s when I noticed it.

The gold medallion in the center of the clock had an etching on it, a flower with three petals.

Just like my locket.

My heart beat heavy in my chest, flooding my ears with sound. A chill raced down my neck as I reached up and touched the medallion on the clock.

It swiveled to the side, revealing a brass wheel with an indent the size and shape of the structure that had risen out of my locket. I dropped my hand and took a step back. My throat tightened. I tried to swallow. What was this?

ClipArt

About the Author:

KristinBaileyKristin Bailey grew up in the middle of the San Joaquin Valley in California. As a kid she enjoyed visiting the beach, camping and skiing with her two brothers.

Now she is a military wife and mother of two young children. She is also terrible about spoiling her pets. She has one fluffy mutt, two cats who think they own the world, and a fish tank with a quartet of fat fish, and two secretive striped ninja-assassin snails.

In the course of her adventures, she has worked as a zookeeper, balloon artist, and substitute teacher. Now she enjoys writing books for teens who enjoy mystery and adventure as much as she does.

Posted on March 3, 2013, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sara’s Review of Legacy of the Clockwork Key by Kristin Bailey + Excerpt.

Comments are closed.