Sara’s Review of Freak of Nature by Julia Crane

FreakofNatureBlogTour

I’d like to thank Mrs. Potter’s Book Publicity Services, as well as Julia Crane, for letting me have the pleasure of participating in this tour! For a full list of all the blogs involved, as well as for a chance to enter the giveaway associated with this event, please visit HERE! =^.^=

FreakofNatureRating: paw5

Publisher: Valknut Press

Date Published: February 2nd 2013

Series: IFICS

Goodreads Description:

Donate Body to Science. Check.
When seventeen-year-old Kaitlyn checked the box, she never suspected she’d have her life–and her body–stolen from her. She awakens one day in a secret laboratory to discover that her body is now half-robot and is forced to hide her own secret: that she still has human emotions and a human mind. If the scientists who made her find out, they’ll erase what remains of who she was.

Kaitlyn finds an unlikely ally in Lucas, a handsome, brilliant scientist who can’t get over the guilt he feels knowing she was once a vibrant, beautiful young woman. He never expected a science project to affect him the way she does. As he tries to help her rediscover her past, he finds himself falling for the brave girl struggling to find her place and acceptance between the human and computer worlds.

Amazon | B&N | Kobo | Itunes

Review:

This is the first time I’ve had the pleasure to read a book by Julia Crane, and I will admit that I greatly enjoyed this start to her newest series, murr! She’s definitely an author I’m going to have to look into further before this year is out.

The very first thing that grabbed my attention with this book was the synopsis. I love the fact that it deals with a teenage cyborg. To the best of my knowledge, I don’t believe I’ve read a book yet that has this type of leading character, so I found the plot to be fresh and unique. I also will admit that the cover art caught my attention and helped as well.

As far as the characters go, I instantly connected with Kaitlyn. Here is a girl who has the mind of a super computer, unending stamina and strength, and is practically indestructible, yet all she wants is to remember who she was and to connect with those around her, especially Lucas. She’s a sweet individual, who’s very brave and strong-willed, and I enjoyed watching her grow as the story progressed. Lucas is a total geek (he’s brilliant), but in a good way. He cares greatly for Kaitlyn, is protective towards her, and yet feels immense guilt for having a hand in her creation. His struggles with his feelings for her and about his actions made him an endearing character to me. Quess, Kaitlyn’s best friend, was just a ton of fun. She has a mischievous personality that had me smiling every time she appeared in the book. I thought it was great that she readily accepted Kaitlyn for who she was, shared and kept her secrets, and actively tried to help her remember things. I really hope that we get to see more of her in the next book because I liked her a lot.

Now for the book itself, it’s really challenging to talk about what goes on in the story without giving away spoilers, so I will simply say that this was a wonderful read. At 167 pages, it’s quick, engaging, and while there isn’t a lot of action, there’s enough intrigue to keep this feline reading non-stop. I wanted to know what would happen to Kaitlyn, whether her secret would be found out, and whether she’d ever remember who she was. Crane did a fantastic job at making me be emotionally invested in Kaitlyn’s welfare. I literally read the book in one sitting. It was also refreshing to read a story where the romance wasn’t the driving force of the plot. Yes, both Kaitlyn and Lucas have feelings for each other, but their relationship develops slowly as the story progresses, rather than right from the start. As you know, I’ve never been a fan of the insta-love, so it was very nice to not see that in this story.

The story was also told from both Kaitlyn and Lucas’s perspectives, so you get alternating views on events. I really liked this duel telling because it is from Lucas that you learn about the past; how Kaitlyn became what she is now, how the entire program began, etc. I believe that had this story only been told exclusively from Kaitlyn’s point of view all of the previous events would have been shared with the reader in one big info dump moment and that would have sucked. So I have to give massive purrs to Crane for deciding to go with the alternating character perspectives because it added a great deal of depth to the story, murr!

Overall, I will definitely be following this series closely as the books become available. If you are a fan of Sci-fi, this is one book you should seriously consider giving a read. =^.^=

***

About the Author:

Julia CraneJulia Crane is the author of the Coexist: Keegan’s Chronicles. She has a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice. Julia has believed in magical creatures since the day her grandmother first told her an Irish tale. Growing up her mother greatly encouraged reading and using your imagination. Although she’s spent most of her life on the US east coast, she currently lives in Dubai with her husband and three children.

Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook

Posted on February 24, 2013, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I really appreciate your time. Thank you for being a part of the blog tour. I’m so happy that you enjoyed Freak of Nature!