Sara’s Review of Focus by Alyssa Rose Ivy

Focus Tour Banner

I’d like very much to thank both AToMR Book Tours and Alyssa Rose Ivy for letting me be a part of this tour, murr! For a full list of everyone participating, please visit HERE. =^.^=

***

focus_ARIRating: paw4

Date Published: January 23, 2013

Series: The Crescent Chronicles

Goodreads Description:

Freshman year of college is hard even when you’re not tied to the future king of a supernatural society.

Allie dives into college head first with Hailey as her roommate and the city of New Orleans as her backyard. As things within The Society heat up, Allie realizes that whether she’s with Levi or not, she’s in far too deep to turn back.

Review:

I have come to the conclusion that Alyssa loves to torture her fans of this series with cliffhangers that leave them staring at the last page of the book in total shock. Once again I find myself dying to find out what happens next because the ending just demands immediate book three follow-up. Alyssa, if you are reading this, please don’t leave this feline hanging for long, murr!

Okay, I still love Allie as much as I did the first time I met her. Sure she’s a bit clueless at times, but I enjoy her spunk and no-nonsense personality. It was great to see her standing her ground and not readily giving in when pressured. She’s definitely a favorite character. And can I just say right now that I still love/hate Levi? Though after this book, I’m leaning more towards love rather than hate, but I still find his cockiness to be a bit aggravating. I can’t blame Allie for being frustrated with him at times. Still, I must admit that he’s growing on me more and more as this series progresses. It was rather nice to see him act like a thoughtful, caring guy for once rather than his aggressive, I can get everything I want side. Okay, maybe aggressive isn’t the best word to use with Levi, but his pressuring Allie has never been something that I’ve cared for where he’s concerned.

As for all the secondary characters, I was pleased to see that Hailey was around more in this book, helps that she’s Allie’s roommate, and I enjoyed getting to know more about her and her family. I also loved seeing more of Jared this time around. If I’m to be truly honest, I fear I’m starting to have a bit of a crush on that guy. I so do not need another fictional boyfriend, but there’s something about Jared that is really starting to make my whiskers curl with delight whenever he shows up. ~Sigh~ Really, all of the characters are rich and diverse, and each serve a purpose towards furthering the plot, even if you don’t know entirely what that purpose is upon first introduction. There hasn’t been a character yet that Alyssa’s put into the story that I haven’t liked in some way or another.

At the same time, the world Alyssa has built continues to wow me and I’m really enjoying the beauty of the setting and the blending of all the paranormal creatures.

So, if I loved the characters as much as I did, was totally floored by the ending of the book and now am anxious to read the next book, and can’t think of anything bad to say about the setting of the story, why then am I giving this book only four paws? The answer to this is rather simple. Unlike the first book which held my attention all the way through and kept me reading through the night, I felt this book lacked that special zing to keep me hooked (it really didn’t show up until the very end). This book felt like filler to me. The majority of it was focused on Allie exploring her independence as a freshman in college, coming to terms with her relationship with Levi, and the rebuilding of said relationship. I just didn’t get the sense that there was anything new being looked at in this book. And this was rather disappointing because I was hoping for a lot more glimpses into The Society and more conflict with the Blackwells.

Now, I’m not saying that this book wasn’t still a great read. It was. I just wish that it had more oomph to it.

That being said, I definitely want to read Found, the third book in this series, which will hopefully be coming out Summer of 2013. No way can I walk away from an ending like the one this book had and not want to read what happens next, murr!

Posted on February 18, 2013, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Glad you are on the tour! Every time I read reviews here I chuckle with the ‘murr’s. lol 😉

  2. Thanks for reading and reviewing Focus! I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

  3. Oh those cliffhangers kill me! I secretly kinda love them but oh they make me do that ahhhh noooo!!!! thing quite a bit. I haven’t read Alyssa yet but it sounds like an interesting series 🙂 I do love a hero that’s a bit cocky so I’ll probably love Levi. lol I’m really liking the cover on this one too. Thanks for the review Sara!