Sara’s Review of Wings of Arian by Devri Walls

WingsOfTaveaTourBanner

WingsArianRating: paw5

Publisher: Stonehouse Ink

Date Published: April 24, 2012

Series: The Solus

Goodreads Description:

Kiora thought she had never heard a lie until she was sixteen. But she was wrong. Her entire existence was based on nothing but. She thought that evil did not exist. Lie. That magic was not real. Lie. And that the land of Meros was all there was. One more lie.

With Aleric telling her that evil is knocking on the door and that she is the only one who can stop them she has a choice to make. Refuse, or start the wildest most painful ride of her life.
She reluctantly dips her toe into her new existence of magic and threads, dragons and shapeshifters, and the person who wants to take control of it all: the evil Dralazar.

However, this journey was never meant to be hers alone. She will be accompanied by a Protector. To her disbelief, and utter irritation they name the hotheaded, stubborn, non -magical, (albeit gorgeous) Prince Emane. They will have to trust each other with their lives, but right now Kiora would settle for a non hostile conversation.

And now it comes down to this, If you had never heard a lie, would you know when you heard one? Is knowing good from evil innate? Kiora finds herself having to decide who lives and who dies on those very questions.

Review:

I love it when I come across books from small press authors and discover magnificent gems! This is definitely one of those books. =^.^=

The first thing I loved about this book was how visually rich Walls describes everything. The entire story read like a movie playing in my mind. It was beautiful and stunning. It isn’t often that I can read a book and see the characters and setting clearly, but this took no effort. I must give purrs to Walls for her skills in this, murr!

All of the characters were awesome, both main and secondary. Kiora’s one of those characters that you instantly like. She’s extremely intelligent, loyal, strong, and quick to defend those she cares about. She’s also vulnerable at times too, and has her moments of self-doubt. All of this makes her a very real character in my opinion. Of the other main characters, I loved Emane’s snarky attitude. Yes, there were moments where his behavior got under my fur, but he really is a wonderful character, and it’s pretty obvious right from the start that he cares about Kiora a lot. There’s a scene between Emane and Kiora towards the start of the book which had me smirking and knowing full well that they’d eventually hook up. All I will say about the scene is that it involves mention of a rock to the head. Dralazar is a wonderful villain. There were actually a few moments while reading where I found myself wishing that the story focused on him rather than Kiora. I don’t often care for the bad guys, so this was a bit of a surprise to me. He’s your stereotypical bad guy, always getting others to his dirty work, pulling the strings behind the scenes. Despite that though, you really can’t help but like him. As far as the secondary characters go, I’d say my favorite was the dragon, Morcant. Like Emane, Morcant has a quick temper, and just like with Emane, it’s rather funny when he loses it. Though I will admit that I wouldn’t want to be on the receiving end of it when he does.

As far as the plot goes, it’s your standard good vs. evil storyline. The idea of living in a society that doesn’t know evil is rather appealing, especially given all the violence that goes on nowadays. But as is pointed out in the book, such ignorance comes with a price. I don’t exactly whether Walls intended for the reader to think of Celtic legends while reading, but my mind went there directly from the start (I honestly can’t read the name Epona and not think of the Goddess known for protecting horses). Also the Ancients strike me as being rather Arthurian in feel, at one point Merlin came to mind. Both these concepts instantly drew me into the story, and I found that couldn’t put this book down once I got started.

For those that love YA books that are also considered High Fantasy, this book is definitely for you. There’s no shortage of magic, mythical creatures, action, suspense, and even romance. Once you finish this book, you’ll definitely want to start the next one!

Posted on February 6, 2013, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sara’s Review of Wings of Arian by Devri Walls.

Comments are closed.