Willow’s Review of Revelation by Erica Hayes

Revelation Button 300 x 225

I’d like to thank Bewitching Book Tours, as well as author, Erica Hayes, for letting me participate in this tour! For a full list of all the blogs involved, and for an opportunity to enter into the giveaway associated with this event, please visit HERE! =^.^=

***

9780425258378_Revelation_CV.inddRating: paw4

Publisher: Berkley Sensation

Date Published: October 2nd 2012

Series: The Seven Signs

Paperback: Amazon  Book Depository  BN

Ebook:  Amazon   BN    Sony    iTunes

Goodreads Description:

A fallen angel with a mission and a medical examiner who’s lost her faith are fighting for their souls in a glittering, near-future Manhattan… 

Blind faith is for fools. That’s what Dr. Morgan Sterling believes. And she’s going to prove it by curing the zombie plague ravaging her city’s slums. She’s certain it’s not a sign of the End of Days, but a nasty disease—until an angel appears in her morgue in a flash of glory. 

Luniel is not just a fallen angel. He’s a powerful warrior sworn to fight evil in hopes of a chance at redemption. He’s after the demon princes who are stealing the seven vials of holy wrath which, when perverted, will unleash eternal hell on earth. 

To stop the plague, Luniel needs Morgan’s help, and her faith. But Morgan believes science is their salvation. If the zombie plague is a demonic curse—and if Luniel is true—he’ll have to prove it. Even if he loses his heart to true love or his soul to Hell…

Review:

As the first book in a new series, I must admit that I liked this book a lot. The characters were engaging, the plot was interesting, and the world itself was rather chilling in an “it could happen” sort of way. If you are a fan of Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy, you might want to check this book out. =^.^=

I really loved the all of the characters in this book! At least the good ones anyways. The antagonist, eh, I didn’t care much about them. I wasn’t invested in whether they lived at the end or not, but for the rest of the characters it was a whole different story. It isn’t often that I will be reading a book and suddenly start to worry that the author might kill off a character or two during the telling, but with this book I’ll admit to having a few moments of concern. The reason behind the worry was because I really cared about the well-being of all of Hayes’s characters. From Luniel (Lune) and Morgan, both of whom I shall admit drove me crazy at times, to Jadzia, Japheth, Trillium, Iria, and Dashiel, I was emotionally invested in all of them. Usually I don’t focus much on the secondary characters in a book, but with this story, they all play a big part in the overall plot and they all have clear distinct personalities, quirks, etc. I couldn’t help but become attached to all of them. And I didn’t want any of them to come to harm.

That being said, most of the focus of the story surrounds Lune and Morgan, and while I liked both of them a lot, there were moments where they each managed to get under my skin and caused me to get twitchy. With Morgan it was her continual refusing to accept what was staring her directly in the face. Yes, I get that she is a scientist, but come on, when presented with more than enough proof that the stuff going on around you is real, it seems rather foolish to continually deny that it’s all real and then try to make excuses for what it could actually be. Sometimes one needs to just accept it rather than fight it. There were several moments where I wanted to smack her with a clue-by-four upside her head because of this. Grrr… In the case of Lune, ok I get that he’s got baggage from his past that makes him not want to get close to someone, but seriously his hot/cold behavior towards Morgan during the first half of the book was extremely annoying. I actually found myself agreeing with Dashiel when he said that Lune should sleep with her and be done with it, rather than angsting over whether he should or not. I rarely hold to that idea, but sometimes when characters exhibit this type of behavior I just want to scream.

Now, I will say the scenes where Lune and Morgan do get together are majorly HOT! I do like a bit of romance in my paranormal/urban fantasy reads, but this book goes beyond a bit to full on steamy. There’s definite chemistry between these two. And they aren’t the only two who have some memorable scenes in the book. There’s one scene towards the start that really made my whiskers curl. If you want to know what that scene is, get a copy of the book and find out for yourself!

As for the plot, it’s an interesting spin on the End of the World/Book of Revelations cannon, as well as that of Fallen Angels, and angels in general. The main premiss of the story involves the first two of the seven signs of the end of the world. The first being a plague upon the earth. The second the water turning to blood and everything within it dying. Because of these events happening, Lune, Morgan, and the rest, team up to find out who’s behind it all and put a stop to it. While for most, this may not seem like such an intriguing plot, but for this feline, I was hooked. I’d actually never read the Book of Revelations before, and this story made me want to check it out. Plus, I like it when an author takes an idea based on spiritual belief and spins it into something new, while still maintaining the main idea behind the belief. It’s fun and exciting, and it kept me reading. Add in the internal conflict with Lune, the struggle between science and belief with Morgan, and the other characters various issues, and you’ve got a rather engaging story. Maybe I’m just too easily pleased, but I’m actually looking forward to reading the next book in this series. =^.^=

And may I say that the world that Hayes has created is rather awesome. If I loved anything specific about this book, it was the world itself. The setting is a future New York, in a city called Babylon (I could say a few things about the city name, but I won’t). Within this city there exist mutants, or muties as the characters call them, zombies created by the plague, demons, angels, and more. It’s basically a paranormal smorgasbord, and while such a world has been created time and again in other various paranormal/urban fantasy novels, there’s just something about Hayes’s version that stuck with me long after I put the book down. While I honestly can’t imagine a world with angels and demons being real, I can easily see one with Hayes’s versions of mutants and zombies. You may laugh, but with some of the stuff happening with science nowadays, anything is possible.

So, to make a long review short, I felt that this was a very promising start to Hayes’s newest series. I will readily admit that it’s not for everyone, but for those who are looking for a fun read with a few interesting twists, then this book is well worth trying. I definitely have to give it four paws and a tail wave of approval. =^.^=

***

About the Author:

authorphoto_ericahayesErica Hayes was a law student, an air force officer, an editorial assistant and a musician, before finally landing her dream job: fantasy and romance writer. She writes dark paranormal and urban fantasy romance, and her books feature tough, smart heroines and colourful heroes with dark secrets. She hails from Australia, where she drifts from city to city, leaving a trail of chaos behind her. Currently, she’s terrorizing the wilds of Northumberland.

 Where to find: Website, Blog, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads

Posted on January 25, 2013, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Willow’s Review of Revelation by Erica Hayes.

Comments are closed.