A Typical Writing Day – A Guest Post by Sarah Gilman

Wings Banner

Today we are thrilled to have a special guest post by the awesome Sarah Gilman, who is stopping by on her Wings of Redemption Blog Tour hosted by Entangled Publishing. Purrs and tail waves to you Sarah. =^.^=

***

A Typical Writing Day

by Sarah Gilman

First, thanks so much for hosting!

A typical writing day for me? There’s no such thing…

I’m allergic to routines, not only when it comes to writing, but with every little thing in my life. Even when it comes down to getting the day started—brushing my teeth, feeding the cat, checking the wood stove—I can’t stand a routine and go out of my way to make each morning a little different. Something about repetition makes me stir-crazy.

I have tried to schedule writing time (“I will write nonstop from 9-12 in the morning, from 1-4 in the afternoon, and from 7-9 in the evening. Every day.”) in the name of reaching lofty word count goals. I’ve never accomplished keeping such a schedule.

A portion of last week went something like this:

Day One: Spent most of the day reading and making bread. Sat down at 8pm and wrote two pages of plot notes plus two thousand words of the manuscript.

Day Two: Worked on a short story all morning. Read for an hour. Daydreamed about the manuscript plot for a couple hours, made more bread (bread making is a heck of a plotting tool), and wrote all afternoon and evening. My husband could have written on my forehead in marker and I wouldn’t have noticed. Dinner? Crap. Well, at least I made bread.

Day Three: Errands most of the day and gained the resulting headache. Ended up wasting time playing a video game, but got a character idea from the game. Two more pages of plot notes. Made an elaborate roast chicken to make up for the previous night’s dinner fail. Couldn’t get to sleep for hours because the brain continued to roll out plot ideas about a book other than the one I was supposed to be writing.

Day Four: Wrote all day (panicking and focusing on the book that I was supposed to be writing) except for the inevitable facebook-twitter-email-goodreads-tea-coffee-squirrel interruptions.

Day Five: Remembered I was supposed to be doing edits and writings guest posts for my blog tour. Had random scene idea and wrote a short story instead. Kicked self in butt. Wrote guest posts and stayed up late working on edits. Told myself I really should enforce a writing schedule.

This sort of week tends to be followed by a week of almost straight writing. I’ve written a book in a month and I’ve written a book in six months. I’m always writing more than one project at a time. The only thing typical about a writing day for me is that there is no typical day. The moment I do same thing the same way every day, I get bored.

I worry this post may make me sound crazier than I really am. *grin* I work slowly and think long and hard as I write. When I can’t stare at the computer any longer, I’ll bake or cook. When the words aren’t flowing, I’ll read for inspiration. I go with the flow. It works for me.

What’s important is that I love what I do and I get the work done. 🙂

Anyone else out there who can’t stand it when the days start to run together?

***

Wings_RGB_500_750

Title: Wings of Redemption
Author: Sarah Gilman
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Length: 109
Release Date: December 2012
ISBN: 978-1-62266-994-3
Imprint: Ever After

Synopsis:

Humans and archangels don’t mix on the best occasions. When Saffron Morin goes to the gates of the demon colony, Eden, in search of her sister, she meets an archangel who is curious one minute and hostile the next, and she ends up the colony’s “guest” against her will.

Kestrel’s archangel psychic talent tells him the human woman’s life is in danger. Despite her family’s association with poachers who hunt archangels for their valuable feathers, he vows to save her life. Enemies by birth, lovers by choice, they give in to growing attraction as days pass.

Even if he succeeds in saving her life, he must hurt her to protect others of his kind, and he may not be able to live with himself after a betrayal he has no choice but to commit. In order to find redemption, the Collector’s daughter and an archangel must first find each other.

Posted on December 17, 2012, in Authors. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I should have added that most of my writing is done with my cat crammed between me and the keyboard, or sleeping behind my head on the chair. If I lie down and prop the laptop against my knees, he’ll sleep on my chest. 🙂

  2. At first, I thought I was reading a post I must have submitted, then I saw your comment about the cat, and now I’m sure of it! I thought I was a nut case, chasing several stories at the same time. *sighs with relief*

  3. Jan, we shall conquer the world. A dozen stories at a time. 🙂

  4. Totally understand your writing style. All those interludes help the overall writing. It all comes together. Plus, visiting other writer’s blogs!

    Squirrel!