Hellsbane Blog Tour: Chapter One (Part Three)

We felines are thrilled and honored to be participating in the Hellsbane Blog Tour today!

For those who don’t already know, part of this tour is composed of a scavenger hunt, and six blogs, including ours, will be posting snippets of Chapter One of Hellsbane throughout the next two weeks. As you visit all the blogs on this tour, be sure to keep an eye out for the hidden word in each part of the chapter snippets as they become available. The hidden word will be in a different color font than the rest of the chapter text. =^.^=

But before we share with you our part of Chapter One, we’d like to first introduce you to the author: The wonderful Paige Cuccaro!

Author Bio

Writing was never a foregone conclusion for me. I once had dreams of being a psychologist, a pediatrician, a school teacher, a photojournalist, a bartender, and/or an EMT. And then I met my husband and my world came into focus. Being wife and mother are my highest priorities and greatest joy. But escaping to the fanciful, sexy worlds twirling through my mind is an absolute necessity. Putting those worlds, and the cornucopia of characters that people them, on paper is just plain fun.

Paige lives in Ohio, with her husband, three daughters, three dogs, three cats, a parakeet and a bearded dragon named Rexy, in an ever shrinking house. When she’s not writing she can be found doing the mom thing with a book in one hand and a notepad and pen in the other. Ideas come without warning and the best way to stimulate your imagination is to enjoy the imagination of someone else.

Where you can find Paige: Website, Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads

CHAPTER ONE (part 3)

He kept it short. The curls used to relax a little when he let it grow, but not much. He was tall, six foot three or four with a sinewy, athletic build. Tommy had the kind of body that at a glance might be considered thin, but he was all muscle.

He’d been our star pitcher in high school, the typical jock who’d made all the girls melt with his perfect smile, smoky DJ voice, and pretty pale blue eyes—a blue made more intense by a dark circle around the irises. Everyone had loved him or wanted to be loved by him, which had made his sudden withdrawal during senior year all the more strange.

“I can’t believe it’s you. How’d you know I was living here?” I was pretty sure he hadn’t even known my name in high school—I wasn’t exactly Miss Popularity. I was a couple of years younger than the other kids in my grade because I tested well, and Mom agreed with the school to let me skip ahead. No one had asked me. I know she’d only wanted what was best for me. But she just hadn’t understood the social ramifications I’d had to deal with because of it. A mom who didn’t understand teenage angst? Go figure.

Tommy shifted his weight, and suddenly, he was the suave jock-star all over again. One hand against the doorjamb, the other curiously hidden behind his back, he smiled. My awkward high school years swamped over me—Tommy had always had a sort of embarrassing effect on me. I’d lost IQ points when he was near and my stomach had rolled and flopped like I’d hatched a flock of butterflies in my belly. Not that he’d ever noticed.

He raised a brow. “I remembered your gram lived here. Can I, uh, come in?”

The house was my gram’s. She’d left it all to me two years ago when she died. Still didn’t feel like any of it was mine. But it was free and fully furnished, so I called it home.

He’d used the hey-there-sexy voice I’d heard him employ a hundred times in high school. Not with me, of course, but the effect was just as potent, eight years later.

“Sure, come in.” I stepped back, opening the door wider, and he slipped through. His hand dropped to his left ribs, clutching himself over a tear in his T-shirt. I hadn’t even noticed his shirt was ripped until then.

I glanced behind him as I went to close the door, my thoughts ping-ponging with questions when something caught my eye. I stopped the door. It looked like a bag of garbage was smoldering in the street. Smoke twined up from the melted black plastic, but there was no flame, just bubbling black goo.

“What is that?” Before I could open the door wider, Tommy reached over my head and shoved it closed.

“Lock it,” he said, then reached past me to throw the lock himself.

“Hey! Rude much?”

Something changed behind his pretty blue eyes. He switched back to charming Tommy, flashed his smile. “Sorry. I just…didn’t want to let out the air-conditioning.”

“Right. I always lock the door to help seal in the cool air.” Sure, he was cute, and he still made my body feel like a bowl of Jell-O in an earthquake, but I wasn’t sixteen anymore. I’d learned a long time ago how to keep my head around cute guys. “What’s going on, Tommy?”

He shrugged and took a few steps down the hall. “Nothing. Just stopped by to see what my old friend Emma Jane was up to.”

He couldn’t hide his other hand anymore, or he didn’t bother to—he must’ve figured the sword he held was too big to go unnoticed. He held it at his side, hand fisted around the hilt, the point of the blade almost nicking my hardwood floor.

Blurb

Twenty-three-year-old Emma Jane Hellsbane just found out she’s not human—or, at least, not only human. She’s half angel, too, and now Heaven’s got a job for her: round up all the Fallen angels and their red-skinned, horned devil-demon minions and boot their butts back into the abyss. Only problem? The demons and their Fallen masters fight back…and they don’t fight fair.

Luckily for Emma, she can put a stop to the constant threat of having her head hacked off if she figures out which Fallen angel is her father—and then kill him before he kills her. Of course, in the meantime, she’ll have to avoid accidentally seducing her angelic mentor, help an old friend conquer his own Fallen sperm donor, and basically save the world from a cataclysmic divine smack down.

No one said being Heaven’s bounty hunter would be easy. But with a name like Hellsbane, Emma Jane was born for the job.

Links: Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, The Book Despository

***
Commencement the Free prequel novella

Blurb

Hell hath no fury like a woman’s scorn for frat guys…

Emma Jane Hellsbane knows something evil is worming its way through her college campus—she can feel it. Literally. Her freakish ability to feel other people’s emotions as though they were her own has always been monumentally awkward, and it’s easier for her to just pretend it doesn’t exist. But this time her paranormal ability just might help her save lives.

Emma Jane’s fairly certain that whatever the hateful, egomaniacal, Godlike thing is, it’s set up shop inside her boyfriend, the frat boy/soccer star Justin. And if she doesn’t figure a way to get it out of him soon, Justin’s soul will be the appetizer to the main course—the whole student body. Problem is, the big baddy is granting sinister wishes, and with each one the risks grow higher and the phrase Be careful what you wish for becomes a real-life dire warning. Of course for Emma, what feels like it could be the end is in fact just the beginning…

Kobo- (ePub format) http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/Commencement/book-mVs_izNYm06ZCbDSV7timQ/page1.html?s=J2FIHDGab022foP9LgGhMQ&r=2

Books on Board- (Kindle books) http://www.booksonboard.com/index.php?BODY=viewbook&BOOK=1381858&TITLE=Commencement&AUTHOR=Paige+Cuccaro

***

The Tour

Be sure to check out all the stops participating in the tour to find the remaining words for the Scavenger Hunt, and for more chances to win a copy of the book for yourself!

Nov. 19 – Fiktshun’s Annex – Chapter 1 part 1
Nov. 20 – Shortie Says – Q&A
Nov. 21 – A Diary of A Book Addict – Chapter 1 part 2
Nov. 23 – Winterhaven Books – Guest Post
Nov. 24 – What The Cat Read – Chapter 1 part 3
Nov. 26 – Kindle and Me – Guest Post
Nov. 27 – A Life Bound By Books – Chapter 1 part 4
Nov. 28 – K-Books – Guest Post
Nov. 29 – My Shelf Confessions – Chapter 1 part 5
Dec. 1 – All Things Urban Fantasy – Chapter 1 part 6

***

The Giveaways

Entangled Publishing is hosting an amazing giveaway for this tour!

Please enter the publisher’s giveaway for a chance to win a Nook Color, one of three signed paperback copies of HELLSBANE and one of two $25 Amazon gift cards in the Rafflecopter.

How do you enter you might ask? It’s easy, simply click HERE to be taken to the Rafflecopter form. =^.^=

AND: If you’d like to be entered for a chance to win an eBook copy of HELLSBANE from the publisher, please LEAVE A COMMENT, along with your email address, below! We’ll draw a winner using Random.org on December 1st.

Posted on November 24, 2012, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’ve been anxiously waiting for Hellsbane to be released, thanks for participating in the tour.

    acm05atjuno.com