Sara’s Review of Luminosity by Stephanie Thomas

Rating: 

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Date Published: October 30, 2012

Series: The Raven Chronicles

Goodreads Description:

My name is Beatrice. When I was born, I was blessed with the Sight. I was immediately removed from my parents and enrolled in the Institution. At the age of twelve, I had my first true vision, earning my raven’s wings. And when I turned seventeen, one of my visions came true. Things haven’t been the same since.

The Institution depends on me to keep the City safe from our enemy, the Dreamcatchers, but I’m finding it harder to do while keeping a secret from everyone, including my best friend Gabe. It is a secret that could put us all in danger. A secret that could kill me and everyone close to me.

But the enemy has been coming to me in my dreams, and I think I’m falling in love with him. He says they’re coming. He says they’re angry. And I think I’ve already helped them win.

Review:

Where to begin with this review. Well, I guess the first thing I should say is that, I loved this book! The characters, plot, and setting pulled me in and wouldn’t let me go. Luminosity is the type of story that will keep you on the edge of your seat and reading long into the night. It’s nonstop action, mystery, and suspense. Purrs and tail waves to Thomas for a wonderful job well done.

Bea is an outstanding lead character. She’s compassionate, snarky, a loyal friend, and a fierce fighter. I instantly connected with her and, as events occurred in the story, I sympathized with her with each turning of the page. Gabe’s a total charmer. Yes, there were moments where his behavior got under my fur, but in the end, he’s the type of guy you want to see end up with the girl. As for Echo…honestly, I can’t tell what my feelings are for him at the moment. He’s definitely a mystery, and one I wouldn’t mind trying to figure out. But I don’t know if he’s fully trustworthy yet. There’s an element to him that makes me feel like I need to be cautious. I guess I’ll find out in book two whether my feels towards him are correct or not. =^.^=

This was an extremely power novel, and one that managed to invoke a wide range of emotions in me while I was reading. I laughed, cried, screamed, and even argued with events that took place within its pages. Be prepared for an emotional roller coaster of epic awesomeness. Murr! There were a couple of scenes where I was full on hissing at the author for doing what she did to Bea. One scene that comes to mind right now involves a series of executions that take a horrible twist at the end. Reading that scene was torture because I knew exactly how things were going to turn out, but I kept holding on to hope that I was mistaken. Sadly, this was not to be and in the end, a favorite character of mine suffers horribly. Curious to know who and how the character suffers? Get the book and discover for yourself, you won’t hear it from these feline lips.

I greatly enjoyed the world that Thomas created in Luminosity. The City, the Seers, and the Dreamcatchers, all feel like they could be real and there’s no question that at one point my loyalties were divided. On the one paw, I wanted to side with the Seers in their fight to protect the people of The City, but on the other paw, various elements that I learned later in the reading made me want to side with the Dreamcatchers. Turns out the villain of the story isn’t always the most obvious person(s). But at the same time, those you think of as friends aren’t always so trustworthy either.

Yes, by the end of this book I was feeling desperate to get my paws on the next in the series. Sadly, I have to wait until Thomas finishes writing it first before it will be released next year. I hate waiting…sigh.

Have you read Luminosity yet? If so, tell me your thoughts about it in the comments below!

Posted on November 3, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sara’s Review of Luminosity by Stephanie Thomas.

Comments are closed.