Luminosity by Stephanie Thomas – Excerpt

Today we are bringing you a special excerpt from Stephanie Thomas’s Luminosity as part of the Luminosity Blog Tour hosted by Itching for Books. For a full list of all the blogs participating, and for an opportunity to be entered into the giveaway associated with the tour, please visit HERE!

***

Taken from Chapter Seven

The Institution is eerily quiet. I decide to walk the halls. Swinging my legs over the side of my bunk, my bare feet press flat against the black, laminate floor. Everything about the Institution is cold. My chest tightens, as if something is about to happen. I feel it squeezing around my heart like two hands desperately trying to hold on. Even the smell doesn’t quite seem right. It is stale, not the purified air that is normally blown through the vents. It reminds me of the odor of a freezer–the flat scent of coldness.

My door slides open and the hall is dark. A few fluorescent lights flicker on and off down the long corridor. No one is monitoring the halls like they should be. Everything seems dead.

I continue down the hall, careful not to make any noise as I walk. The lights flicker and dim to an even dingier contrast as I make my way to wherever it is I am being pulled. With each step, my feet slowly press into the ground, then peel off it, heel to toe. I don’t know where I am going but I do know I have to get there, and soon.

Suddenly, I am in the Meeting Room, a vast area created to hold the mass of Seers who live in the Institution. We usually gather here for assemblies and ceremonies. The room is large with black catwalks along the perimeter, hitched onto the walls. At the front, a large stage remains empty, with the podium ominously in the center. It is as if someone should be standing there, as the room feels full, like everyone has already gathered to the meeting, ready to listen to the speaker on deck. When I take a few more steps into the room, I notice that all of the Seers are indeed here.

But they are all dead.

Piles of stacked bodies litter the floor and all of their faces look horrified, frozen in an expression of absolute fear. Their vacant eyes are open, trained on me.
Why are they looking at me? Watching me? I feel guilty and scared all at once, as if I did something to cause this.

It is then I See a dense, looming fog encircling the Meeting Room, as if protecting, or maybe claiming, the hundreds of bodies. A tendril of the blackness stretches out toward me and the tightness in my chest returns. This time, though, the hands that squeeze my heart clutch harder, and I wonder if hearts can pop.

I have no choice but to run, because that’s what my body tells me to do. I scramble for the doors, but they don’t automatically slide open when I get close, as they normally do. I am trapped, and the arm of fog is getting closer. When I close my eyes to try and will myself out of the situation, I See the eyes of the dead, staring at me in contempt. Is this how I will die too? What did I do wrong?

***

Book Blurb:

My name is Beatrice. When I was born, I was blessed with the Sight. I was immediately removed from my parents and enrolled in the Institution. At the age of twelve, I had my first true vision, earning my raven’s wings. And when I turned seventeen, one of my visions came true. Things haven’t been the same since.

The Institution depends on me to keep the City safe from our enemy, the Dreamcatchers, but I’m finding it harder to do while keeping a secret from everyone, including my best friend Gabe. It is a secret that could put us all in danger. A secret that could kill me and everyone close to me.

But the enemy has been coming to me in my dreams, and I think I’m falling in love with him. He says they’re coming. He says they’re angry. And I think I’ve already helped them win.

Release date: November 2012
Publisher: Entangled teen
About the Author:

Stephanie Thomas has been writing ever since she could put letters together to form words. When she was a small child, she would present her mother and father with self-made newspapers filled up with make believe stories and pictures. Her love for writing followed her all throughout her schooling, where she entered and won writing contests of all sorts. Stephanie decided to become an English teacher and completed her B.A. at The Pennsylvania State University. While teaching, she later went on to get her Master’s in writing from The Johns Hopkins University. She completed her very first manuscript during her graduate studies, and by the end of the program, she had completed two more.

Stephanie is quick to tell anyone that she’s a born and raised Philadelphian, and her heart will always belong there. She moved to Baltimore with her husband, and they’ve been living there for the last five years with their doggie, Sailor, and their rabbit, Buns (aka “T Sizzle).

Posted on November 3, 2012, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Awesome excerpt. Thanks for sharing.