Our Favorite Authors – Edgar Allan Poe

Our goal with “Our Favorite Authors” is to help our followers find new authors whom they might never have tried before and also thank those authors whom have touched our lives over the years. And since there is no shortage in authors whom we love, we are positive this monthly post will be a success! 🐱

Born: 1809

Died: 1849

Edgar Allan Poe was one of the most original writers in the history of American letters, a genius who was tragically misunderstood in his lifetime. He was a seminal figure in the development of science fiction and the detective story, and exerted a great influence on Dostoyevsky, Arthur Conan Doyle, Jules Verne, and Charles Baudelaire, who championed him long before Poe was appreciated in his own country. Baudelaire’s enthusiasm brought Poe a wide audience in Europe, and his writing came to have enormous importance for modern French literature.

The first true man of horror as far as I’m concerned! Poe’s poems and stories have always been my number one loves during Halloween. I’ve got so many favorites, it’s hard to know where to start.

I guess it’s best to just get the obvious number one poem out of the way…namely, The Raven! “Qouth the raven, ‘Nevermore!'” Who out there doesn’t know this poem, if not by heart, than by various lines? Believe it or not, my first introduction to The Raven was on a Halloween episode of The Simpsons. Yep, that cartoon started my deep and undying love of all things Poe. I just loved their rendition of the poem, and it made me go out and buy a copy soon there after. I had the entire thing memorized in less than a week.

Other favorite Poe writings for me are The Cask of Amontillado, The Masque of the Red Death, The Tell-Tale Heart, The Fall of the House of Usher, and The Pit and The Pendulum. Each story is dark and full of mystery and suspense. I’ve read them multiple times, and seen the screen versions on more than one occasion (the ones with Vincent Price are by far the best).

Poe’s writing never fails to give me chills. I just love it! It’s just a shame that it took his death for his writing to really take off. Though Poe died on the 7th of October in 1849, I like to celebrate his life and passing all through the month whenever possible. After all, it seems only fitting that the first master of terror have an entire month dedicated to him. And what better month than the one that ends with a night dedicated to chills and thrills.

What’s your favorite Poe story/poem? Share with us in the comments below. And on this day, the felines and I would like to wish you all a safe and wonderful Halloween! =^.^=

Posted on October 31, 2012, in Authors. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Our Favorite Authors – Edgar Allan Poe.

Comments are closed.