Sara’s Review of Dead Embers by T.G. Ayer

I’d like to thank I.O. Book Tours for letting me participate in this tour today!

Rating: paw4

Publisher: Evolved Publishing

Date Published: August 12, 2012

Series: Valkyrie

Goodreads Description:

Valkyrie-in-training Bryn Halbrook just can’t catch a break. With her boyfriend stuck in Hel and the taunting laughter of Loki still ringing in her ears, she struggles to concentrate on her training and duties in Odin’s realm. The last thing she expects or wants is more adventure—but then treachery, a shocking abduction and a chilling discovery send her forth on another perilous, globe-hopping mission.

As the ultimate battle, Ragnarok, draws closer, it’s a race against time for Bryn, Fenrir and their team to discover who kidnapped her foster brother from the halls of Asgard and what’s causing the mysterious deaths of so many of Odin’s chosen warriors.

In the exciting sequel to DEAD RADIANCE, Bryn encounters dwarfs and dragons, new friends and old foes—but worst enemy of all may be the person she trusts most!

Review:

There is little question that I enjoyed this book much more than I did the first of the series. Taking place directly after the events of Dead Radiance, Dead Embers continues Bryn’s training to become a Valkyrie and forces her to meet a new set of challenges. There’s also more betrayal…as if you didn’t see that coming…only this time the betrayal hits much closer to home. I can definitely say that Ayer’s has managed to write a great book full of Norse Mythology and adventure. Though I will caution you now…if you thought the ending to the first book was a major cliff hanger, just wait until you read this one, murr!

I liked Bryn a lot more in this book. I think some of it had to do with the fact that I already had an idea of who she was as an individual, and so could understand her quirks and personality a lot better than when I was first introduced to her. She seems more mature and I enjoyed watching her grow and change. While she still isn’t my favorite character in the series, my respect for her has increased greatly and I’ve little doubt that by the third book I will love her as much as I do some of the other characters in the series. And speaking of the other characters, I was pleased to see the return of all the characters that I had come to love from book one, along with the addition of some new characters. One such character being none other than Thor! Yes, images of Chris Hemsworth did float through my head when he first showed up in the story. I really hope he comes back for book three, as he is an intriguing individual. =^.^=

One of the things that I have enjoyed about this series from the start is Ayer’s world building skills. Her descriptions of Asgard, the various Norse Gods/Goddesses, and all the other creatures that appear in the story are just so detailed and vivid, they feel real. There were several moments where I felt like I was right there with Bryn as she trained with Fenrir, journeyed into Hel to rescue Aidan, and visited the realm of the Dwarfs. Ayer’s world has a rich complexity that I just love and her use of Norse Mythology is wonderful. Reading this book made me want to go back a revisit some of my favorite Norse related mythology books.

Overall, I was pleased to see that some of the issues that I had trouble with from the first book where non-existent for me in this one. There didn’t seem to be any time consistency issues, the action started right off, and as I mentioned earlier, I liked Bryn a lot more this time around. As a result, this book felt much more solid a read to me and it’s definitely got me wanting to read book three, Dead Chaos, when it comes out next year, murr! If you are a fan of Norse Mythology, then you will definitely have to check this series out.

Author Bio:

I have been a writer from the time I was old enough to recognize that reading was a doorway into my imagination. Poetry was my first foray into the art of the written word. Books were my best friends, my escape, my haven. I am essentially a recluse but this part of my personality is impossible to practice given I have two teenage daughters, who are actually my friends, my tea-makers, my confidantes… I am blessed with a husband who has left me for golf. It’s a fair trade as I have left him for writing. We are both passionate supporters of each other’s loves – it works wonderfully…

My heart is currently broken in two. One half resides in South Africa where my old roots still remain, and my heart still longs for the endless beaches and the smell of moist soil after a summer downpour. My love for Ma Afrika will never fade. The other half of me has been transplanted to the Land of the Long White Cloud. The land of the Taniwha, beautiful Maraes, and volcanoes. The land of green, pure beauty that truly inspires. And because I am so torn between these two lands – I shall forever remain cross-eyed.

Where to find the author: Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, Goodreads, Shelfari

Be sure to check out all the blogs participating in this tour! And also visit them for your chance to be entered into the giveaway associated with this event.

10/29   Mallory Heart Reviews   Review  
10/29   What the Cat Read  Review 
10/31  Head Stuck In A Book  Review  
11/5   Nomi’s Paranormal Palace  Review
11/6     T B R   Review 
11/7   My Cozie Corner   Review
11/8   Andrea Heltsley Books  Promo
11/8   Krystal’s Enchanting Reads  Review   
11/8    Bookish Things & More  Review  
11/9   DanaSquare   Review   
11/9   Kristy Centeno   Review  
11/9   Everyone Loves A SiNner  Review

Posted on October 29, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for hosting T.G. today 🙂

  2. Very nice review.

    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com