Guest Interview with Jillian Stone, author of The Moonstone and Miss Jones

Today we are excited to have the wonderful Jillian Stone joining us today. Jillian is the author of both the Paranormal Investigator series and The Gentlemen of Scotland Yard series. Purrs and tail waves to you Jillian. =^.^=

Hi everyone! I’m very excited to be here to answer questions and  to tell you about  my latest release, The Moonstone and Miss Jones from the Phaeton Black, Paranormal Investigator series.

Please share three fun facts about yourself:

1.  I love (dark)chocolate covered cinder toffee. (aka honeycomb/sponge toffee) 2. My favorite TV show is The Walking Dead. 3. I solve most of my writing problems at the gym. More oxygen to the brain. I e-mail the fixes to myself via iPhone!

Describe your writing style for us. Are you a plotter or a pantser?

Both. I outline, then I write about four or five chapters. Then I modify the outline. Then I write the rest of the book. I also modify the ending several times along the way.

Both of your series are set in the 19th-century. What research do you do prior to writing your novels?

There is always quite a bit of location research and then whatever specific research the suspense plot needs. My latest Scotland Yard detective, Agent Gunn suffers from PTSD. He fought in the Anglo-Afghan war in the early 1880’s, so I had to really dig around to find out if there was any kind of name for the disorder, other than shellshock which was coined during WWI. And guess what I found the most wonderful name, that most likely derives from Napoleonic wars: Soldier’s Heart. Isn’t it great? Especially for a historical romantic suspense novel! When I find little known historical tidbits like that it gives me goosebumps!

When you develop your characters, do you model them off of people in your life or do they sort of create themselves?

Besides back story, I develop very specific personalities for my characters, as well as the physical characteristics like speech patterns and expressions, nervous mannerisms. All these things help make a character come alive. I need to be able to hear them speak before I can write dialogue.

Which of your series do you enjoy writing more?

I like them both for different reasons, but The Gentlemen of Scotland Yard is by far the most challenging of the two series to write, and it is also the most satisfying. The Phaeton Black series, however, is a joy to write. I love to visit with the characters, does that sound weird? Such a motley crew, but there is something addictive about them. As a writer I want to explore more about them and get to know what makes them tick. (Actually, Cutter Coppersmith is the character who ticks. His face has been reconstructed and is  partially machine, run by clockworks.)

What can fans expect next from you? Do you have plans on ever writing a crossover book between both series?

Early on, I wanted both series to crossover, like there was Special Branch, Scotland Yard for the romantic suspense series, and Secret Branch, Scotland Yard for the paranormal series. My agent loved the idea, but none of the editors at any of the publishers did. Lol!

How would you describe the Paranormal Investigator series?

What a great spot for a shameless review plug for The Seduction of Phaeton Black!

★★★★1/2 SCORCHER RT REVIEWS TOP PICK This book almost defies categorization, combining elements of steampunk, erotica, paranormal romance, and mystery. The atmospheric Victorian London setting has a dark gothic feel with ancient gods on the loose. The writing is witty, the characters delightful, the descriptions vivid and the sex earthy and erotic.

How did you come up with the idea for the series? Did you know each book would focus on a different character prior to writing?

I knew that I wanted Phaeton Black and America Jones to continue as characters in all the sequels, but not necessarily as the lead protagonists. I also knew that I didn’t want to write typical paranormal creatures like vampires/werewolves nor did I want to write about ghosts. I did want to create two worlds and an epic battle that could continue on for a number of sequels. And I wanted the characters to be sexy, with plots/characters that allowed for some erotic content.

What would you say was the most challenging part of writing The Moonstone and Miss Jones?

I had always thought of The Seduction of Phaeton Black as a  prequel to the actual series, so when it came time to writing book two, I knew the writing would be intense for a number of reasons. First, I had to introduce a number of new characters, and do a good deal of world building. Couple that with an extremely tight deadline and a cliffhanger ending. I had my work cut out for me!

Who is your favorite character and which character has surprised you throughout the series so far?

Phaeton Black continues to be my favorite, because he is wicked sexy and he makes me laugh (and I write him!). The character that has most surprised me, and who I find most intriguing is Mr. Ping (aka Jinn) He/she is a powerful genie and a shapeshifting transsexual.

What inspired you to write your antagonist Lovecraft?

I needed to establish a gadget factory/invention center in 1889 London. A kind of counterpart to Oakley’s Black Box in the parallel London of the Outremer. I also liked the idea of a deranged, brilliant inventor who is deadly dangerous. An antagonist the Nightshades are forced to work with. I also wanted Lovecraft to be motivated by something other than megalomania or greed, that is why he has a son badly disabled by war, who he is desperate to make whole again with his machinery.

If you could have written any famous novel, which would you choose and why?

I think I would most like to write my own famous novel. A cop out, I know, sorry! There are so many wonderful novels I adore and reread on a regular basis, please don’t make me pick just one.

If you could travel back to 19th-century London, would you?

Definitely. I would look up Oscar Wilde and have him take me on a tour of all best and the worst London has to offer!

If the Paranormal Investigator series were made into a movie, who would you cast for each role and why?

I get asked this question a lot with the Phaeton Black series. Phaeton combines the best of Ben Barnes and Johnny Depp. RT Book Reviews cast Joy Bryant (Parenthood) as America Jones. Doctor Exeter is a younger version of Oded Fehr (model Mario Blanco comes close in looks).

If you go to my Pinterest page: http://pinterest.com/gjillianstone/ You can see all my picks for the cast of characters in The Moonstone and Miss Jones and well as The Miss Education of Doctor Exeter, coming this summer.

Is there anything else you’d like to share with us?

If you enjoy the series, The Miss Education of Doctor Exeter will release sometime this summer. This one has a darker tone to it and is very sensuous. Plus, readers meet the powerful techno-wizard Prospero for the first time––and he’s hot!

Thank you again Jillian for joining us!

Thank you for having me! 

***

TOUR WIDE GIVEAWAY DETAILS

Win Phaeton’s most charming charm bracelet. And find clues to the Moonstone’s hiding place in this modern, edgy take on the traditional charm bracelet created by Ana Karolina, a 19-year-old Mexican born designer who made her debut at Nordstrom at the ripe old age of 17. This silver-plated chain bracelet makes skulls and bugs look oh-so cool!

Or

Win one of five copies of The Moonstone & Miss Jones (e-book or print- winner’s choice)

Want to know how to enter? Simply visit Bewitching Book Tours and fill out the Rafflecopter form at the bottom of the tour schedule. And while you are visiting, be sure to check out all the other wonderful blogs participating in the tour for more The Moonstone and Miss Jones greatness! Also, be sure to come back later today as we shall be sharing with you an excerpt from the novel and Willow will be posting her review. You won’t want to miss out! =^.^=

Posted on October 27, 2012, in Authors. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Guest Interview with Jillian Stone, author of The Moonstone and Miss Jones.

Comments are closed.